$52 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

2 stars
6511 West Military Drive, 6511 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
82 reviews
Thank you

We had a wonderful time. So enjoyed being close to the action. The. Staff was so helpful! See full review

  • Gamma and Papa
  • Feb 5, 2014
bmt graduation with a family of 8

very satisfied...everyone was very polite n helpful. the desk clerk checked me in and printed my... See full review

  • redblur
  • Dec 3, 2012
So close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear “Taps” played each night
The tangerine-colored La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel is so close to Lackland Air Force Base, guests can hear "Taps" played on a nightly basis. The location is convenient to many local attractions, including the Alamo, Market Square and Institute of Texan Cultures. Parking is free, as is the Bright Side Breakfast. Also free are as many local calls as guests wish to make. Two outdoor pools are open year round. A fitness center with workout machines, picnic site and guest laundry facilities are on-site.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet and local calls
  • Free breakfast buffet with hot and cold items
  • Close to Lackland and Kelly Air Force Bases
  • Two outdoor pools
  • Picnic site
Rooms

The two-story La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel has 175 guest rooms and one suite. Guest rooms feature either a single king bed or a pair of full beds. Free wireless high-speed Internet is in all rooms, along with a TV with an expanded cable lineup. Guests enjoy a mini-coffee maker, alarm clock, hair dryer, iron with ironing board and in-room safe. Telephones have data ports and voice mail.

Features

Guests of the La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland hotel enjoy a complimentary Bright Side Breakfast with waffles, cereal, eggs, fresh fruit and unlimited coffee, tea and juices. Guest laundry facilities are available. High-speed wireless Internet, local calls and parking are all free. Pets are welcome to stay with their owners. Two outdoor swimming pools are open year round. A picnic area is on-site.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Attractions
  • Lackland Air Force Base (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Alamodome (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • The Alamo (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • River Walk (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • Market Square (10 mi/16.1 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
Policies and fees
  • Pets are welcome to stay with their owners

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1 mi
  • Sea World: 5.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 7.9 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 8.2 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 8.4 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 8.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 8.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 8.7 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 8.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 8.7 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 8.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 9 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 9.1 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 10 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 10 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 10.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 11 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 11.3 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 11.4 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 11.5 mi
  • ATT Center: 12.2 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 12.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 13.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.6 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 17.1 mi

Dining

Dairy Queen
ice cream and food

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
01:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gaurdians of the Night
Business
Triad area, North Carolina
Sep 13, 2013

Not bad for military stay

Everyone was very nice and helpful as in previous stays at this hotel. For the second time in a row had to have maintenance clear the tub/shower drain because of extremely slow drainage. They came immediately and unclogged the drain. For the price and convenience to Lackland AFB would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Magic Time Machine, good food and a lot of fun. Staff dress and role play characters from different movies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AFB MOM
Business
Michigan
Apr 1, 2013

Needs an update!!!!!!!! Now especially the Bathroom

I knew that I wasnt going to a 3 star Hotel, so I expected a lower class motel. For the rate it was okay. We picked this motel because it is only less than 5 minutes down the road. If I had another choice I would of picked something else. It was convenient for seeing our son quicker and not stay in San Antonino which we were going to stay. The bed was a full size and the pillow were not the greatest. But, my complaint was the bathroom. The floor was old and dirty looking, and needs to be replaced just like the tub. The tub was very worn out it was a multiple of colors to yellow and brown. the floor molding was extremely dirty. I dont think it was painted in many years. The towel where 1x2 not big enough and they were worn old. the shower head was VERY LOW I am 5ft and I had to duck under it. The internet hardly worked and when it did it would kick you off as soon as you got on. The only thing I did like was that they allowed my puppy stay. Which I am very thankful for that. Oh, the breakfast was okay. The coffee was treble. And when I told them I want to have a later check out which was after 4pm. I was charged half price I was okay with that but, when I returned back to the room. i was locked out. So they issued us a new key. I was very very very upset. Would I recommend this place would be only for convenience for people who are coming in to see them graduate from the AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing good in the area. Have to go Downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
redblur
Business
chambersburg pa
Dec 3, 2012

bmt graduation with a family of 8

very satisfied...everyone was very polite n helpful. the desk clerk checked me in and printed my airline tickets, what an awesome woman

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

chilis the best meal on the trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Proud Air Force Dad Big D
Business
Utah
Nov 11, 2012

BMT Week End

Location is the best for Lackland access. Breakfast was very nice. Night staff was outstanding. Maid service was outstanding. Day staff did not like to be bothered. The building is older and reflects that. Overall was a good value for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marlene 1 Airforce Mom
Business
Anchorage, AK
Jun 12, 2012

Awesome location and staff!!

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, keep up the great work staff!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To Lackland AFB!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WHAS
Business
Colorado, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Excellent Front Desk Staff

Front desk staff were knowledgeable about the area, gave us excellent directions, got our boarding passes printed and were friendly in the process. The property needs some serious face lifting work but the rooms were clean. We stayed four nights and the room was completely cleaned and resupplied every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is less than one mile from the entrance to Lackland Air Force Base. If you're going to see a loved one graduate from Basic Military Training (boot camp) this is the closest and most convenient place to stay. They know their stuff when it comes to the base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cat Dog
Business
Anderson, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Military Graduation

We had a very good stay at the hotel. The location for what we were looking for was excellent..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liliu
Business
Puerto Rico
Jan 18, 2012

Comfy and good breakfast

For the price I paid, I wasn't expecting such a nice, comfy room with a flat screen tv! Very nice. And continental breakfast offered had a pretty good variety of choices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When in Texas, make sure you have a GPS or a good map...it is pretty easy to get lost on a first visit! Most malls and hotels have maps, so grab a few!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RitaT
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Amazing BMT stay

La Quinta is your suite if your destination is San Antonio, TX. It's fairly close to downtown San Antonio and extremely close to Lackland AFB. Actually, it's walking distance from the base. The hotel has an amiable staff, free complimentary breakfast, and convenient room accomidations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea world in San Antonio is about 25-30 minutes from the hotel and it's a very fun experience for families.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Father of an Airman
Business
South Carolina, USA
Oct 11, 2011

BMT Graduation

At end of base fence...very close, very nice. R. turn out of hotel takes you to base gates. Stayed in 2nd bldg. As quite as any hotel room near major hyway. Small pool but didn't go to swim. Nice breakfast. Friendly Helpful staff, with good language skills. Room clean, Shower small but plenty of room for its purpose. Room plenty large, King bed, comfortable for a hotel bed. Air unit, plenty cold. Good Hotel for convience and price for Lackland AFB activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top