$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2014 Check-out: Apr 17, 2014

Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

2 stars
1122 South Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
55 reviews
My review of Ramada San Antonio Downtown

Nice clean accomodation, convenient to downtown. Good value for money. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 22, 2008
family friendly

The Ramada Limited was a very nice place to stay at. We were very comfortable there , the room was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 23, 2008
The Howard Johnson SAT San Antonio Downtown is located in the River City of San Antonio just a few minutes -1 mile- away from the romantic San Antonio Riverwalk, historic Alamo, IMAX Theater and San Antonio Convention Center. The hotel has immediate access to all major freeways, including I-10, I-35 and Loop 410. All major attractions, such as Sea World, Fiesta Texas, San Antonio malls and shopping centers are within a 30-minute drive of the Howard Johnson SAT San Antonio Downtown. The Market Square is just 4 blocks away from the hotel, where you can dine on authentic Mexican food at Mi Tierra. For our Howard Johnson SAT San Antonio business travelers, the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center is just a short taxi ride away. The San Marcos Outlet Malls boasting over 300 stores, including Neiman Marcus Last Call, Saks Off Fifth, Old Navy, Bose Factory Store, Geoffrey Bean, Hugo Boss, Movado, Salvatore Ferrigamo, Sony, Tumi, Disney Store, Banana Republic, DKNY Jeans, Pfaltzgraff, Royal Doulton, Nike, Timberland are just 45 minutes away. Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast is served in the lobby at the Howard Johnson SAT San Antonio Downtown from 6:30AM to 10:00AM daily. Local phone calls are complimentary as is toll-free and Wireless High Speed Internet. All of the hotel guest rooms have an iron, ironing board, hair drier and coffee makers, some have microwave and refrigerator. Wireless High Speed Internet access is also available in the lobby, as is a complimentary computer and copier for your use in the Ramada Business Center. The hotel also boasts a Fitness Center, with a treadmill, stationary bike and free weights. Pets allowed for a 10.00 USD per room per day fee. Whether your San Antonio trip is for business or for pleasure, the hotel staff is committed to serving Guests and making each stay as comfortable as possible. Make the Howard Johnson SAT Downtown San Antonio your home away from home when your travels take you to romantic San

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4147 -98.5027
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.4 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.9 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.8 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 1 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 1.2 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1.2 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 1.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 1.3 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.4 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 3.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 3.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 3.9 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 4.1 mi
  • ATT Center: 4.7 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 5.1 mi
  • SBC Center: 6.1 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 7.2 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 10.9 mi
  • Sea World: 12.3 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 15.1 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Overall score

2.4 / 5
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
SLOW ROOLER
RAMADA HOTEL
Jun 25, 2012

a beautiful getaway

room not to bad bought my own linen from home river walk just around the corner got a chance to take alot of pictures places i did not get to see the last time it payed off beuatiful getawawy thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

2
SHood
Lubbock
Mar 21, 2014

Locked in

We were there for our anniversary and got locked IN our hotel room. We couldn't get out for over an hour. The front desk clerk was not friendly and it took us awhile to get ahold of him to tell him we couldn't get out. When he finally came, he tried a couple things and just walked off without telling us what was going on. An hour later, we were out and able to take our dog outside to potty. We didn't get to do anything we wanted to do that night because by the time we got out of the room it was already almost 11pm. He couldn't change our room because they were booked and the company I booked our room through refused to give us our money back and the customer service rep that I was on the phone with for an hour was also not friendly or understanding. I will NEVER book with them again nor stay at this kind of hotel again. I am very disappointed in both the booking company and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from River Walk.

Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Traveler Mireles
PHX Az
Mar 7, 2014

Rooms Was disgusting

The room was dirty no Towels The beds were not changed there was body hair all over it was disgusting and there was little black bugs will never stay there again no matter how cheap the rooms are.. Thank god I had my own linens and blankets but I still feel dirty. I do not recommend this hotel the staff was rude when we told him we did not have any towels tride to say we took them lol now why would I take there nasty towels...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
A graduate student
Flagstaff, AZ
Jan 12, 2014

Aweful

Room was really dirty (the worst room ever!), staffs were not willing to fix problems. Wifi did not work at the room. Don't stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Duck Dad
san antonio,tx
Jan 2, 2014

riverwalk getaway

Would not let us check in til 4pm . Even though check in was at 3pm. Room was smelly ,filthy,floors dirty and the bedding wasn't changed . Hair was all over bedding ,pillows ,sheets and comforter . The room attendants stated they usually don't change the linens just use a lint roller and fabreze. How disgusting. The most dirty awful room we have ever stayed in . Howard Johnson should be ashamed of themselves .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
David johnson
San Antonio e
Nov 27, 2013

Bad

Roaches in room cat hair on comforter bathroom dirty not a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Furd Terguson
Castroville, TX
Oct 25, 2013

Need cable and microwave

Room was spacious but amenities need significant improvement. There were also some questionable stains near the bathroom area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
H.w. Chen
San Diego
Apr 8, 2013

Don't stay here or u don't care about cleanless

1.No refugirate and microwave in the room. 2. towels were dirty even I changed the new one. 3.Bed ,bed sheet and pillows had someone's hair , yellow spots and bugs. This is my first time saw someone's hair on the bed sheep.it was unbelievable. If u wish having a clean room don't stay here. If u can ingore the dirt,u can stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

1
Jay Long Beach
Business
Long Beach, CA
Feb 18, 2013

Not so great

The worst thing was that the tub faucet would not close completely. This caused a stream of water all the time, which was loud and disturbing. The room was not very clean and needed a paint job and many repairs. I don't think the sheets had been changed prior to my arrival. I saw ants in the bathroom one day and think it also had mold in it from the constantly humid atmosphere caused by the leaking faucet. The hair dryer had someone else's hair tangled around it. The hotel sign had not been changed so it said another hotel's brand on the sign. Very confusing upon arrival. Would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is only a short walk to the bus stop to take you downtown for only $1.10.

Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Athlon
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2012

Good enough

I was there for the weekend. Room was a bit dirty. Not a complete set of towels. Bed cover had cigarette burns. What do you expect for the price?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson San Antonio Downtown

Reviewer score

4
SLOW ROOLER
RAMADA HOTEL
Jun 25, 2012

a beautiful getaway

room not to bad bought my own linen from home river walk just around the corner got a chance to take alot of pictures places i did not get to see the last time it payed off beuatiful getawawy thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top