$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

4 stars
150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
113 reviews
Great hotel, minor problems

Really enjoyed the the stay at this hotel--very unique and comfortable. Only two problems: The... See full review

  • DGW10Oct
  • Apr 11, 2014
Weekend Getaway..!!

From the time of arrival until we departed was a fantastic experience… The staff were first class... See full review

  • FES WI
  • Mar 27, 2014
Sleek interior and award-winning fine dining at hotel on the River Walk
The Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has a palazzo exterior and 213 elegant and modern rooms and suites. All feature signature designs by Dodd Mitchell, custom-made luxurious beds with Egyptian cotton linens, 18-foot ebony solid wood credenza and plantation shutters. High-speed Internet is free. Award-winning fine dining and an elegant bar are in-house, at Citrus and Vbar, respectively. 7,000 square feet of meeting space is available and the courtyard is often converted private gatherings. This hotel has earned a AAA 4 Diamond rating.
Highlights
  • Located on the River Walk, with patio overlooking the water
  • Restaurant and bar on site
  • Spa services and fitness room on site
  • Leather club chairs, faux-mink throws, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linens and white Italian marble baths
  • AAA Four Diamond rating
Rooms

Balcony and courtyard rooms are available, along with several suites, including a presidential suite. Junior suites are a roomy 750 square feet and include a spacious seating area. All guests can enjoy custom-designed beds and 42-inch flat-panel HDTVs with cable. Lighting is controlled by dimmer switches, and individual climate control is provided. A scale, hair dryer, waffle-weave terry cloth robes and luxurious amenities by the California modern apothecary Lather are in every Italian white virgin marble bathroom. All guest rooms at the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk feature free high-speed Internet access, an ebony credenza, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton bed and bath linens, Tivoli clock radios, leather club chairs with an ottoman and a slinky faux mink throw. A cordless speakerphone with dial-up connectivity is bedside and a two-line speakerphone sits at each desk. Honor bars and 24-hour room service also are available. All accommodations were designed by Dodd Mitchell.

Features

Indulge in luxurious spa services on the hotel's third floor or in-room. The award-winning Citrus restaurant and terrace serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers a paella and pasta bar, all overlooking the River Walk. Indulge in tapas and cocktails and the hip Vbar. A shuttle service by the city is available (fees apply). In a commitment to the environment, the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has removed pre-packaged bottled water from all food and beverage menus and offers still or sparkling water dispensed from its Natura water purification system. The house only serves organic, fair-trade Katz Coffee, roasted in nearby Houston in small batches, with a custom blend just for the hotel.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Theater district (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi./0.4 km)
  • Market Square (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • 7,000 square feet of meeting space available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in
  • Valet parking is $29 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk Rooms

Deluxe Room: One King or Two Double Beds
These handsome rooms have one king or two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of four guests. Rooms are sleek and sophisticated, with leather club chairs, Tivoli clock radios, coffee makers and custom-made beds wrapped in Eqyptian cotton linens. All rooms feature free high-speed Internet access and live palm trees; some rooms also have a private balcony or desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valencia Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4922
Area served
Nestled along the scenic River Walk in San Antonio
Nearby airports
San Antonio Airport
Area description
From the airport, take US-281 and drive for approximatley six miles. Bear left onto I-37, and take the 141A Exit. Turn right onto East Commerce Street, then turn right onto Navarro Street. Turn left onto East Houston Street; the hotel is located at 150 East Houston Street

Nearby points of interest

  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel is equipped for meetings and conferences with wireless Internet access throughout the public areas

Dining

Citrus
This exclusive restaurant specializes in New American cuisine with a distinct Spanish accent, offering fine, full-course dining, as well as individual dishes for lighter fare. Experience the chef's award-winning signature specials such as serrano ham-wrapped mahi mahi and Provencal herb-encrusted striped sea bass. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all served
Vbar
Hip and trendy, the hotel's Vbar is an ideal place to relax after a hard day's work or a leisurely stroll along the Riverwalk. Offering specialty drinks and a selection of Spanish and New American tapas, this upscale haunt is like no other in San Antonio

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Mar 1, 2010

we loved staying at this hotel

We stayed in San Antonio so that we could go to Lackland AFB, it was very easy to get to from this hotel. The staff was great and went out of their way to please you. Valet was quick and effecient. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would def. stay here again. You do get a little traffic noise, but then again you are downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 13, 2011

Beautiful and charming

My friend and I wanted to catch up and visit for few days in San Antonio - we chose the Valencia based on a recommendation in the Globe and Mail and were thrilled with the beautiful room with the best pillows ever, friendly and courteous service and the perfect location in San Antonio right on the nicest part of the RiverWalk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 6, 2008

Must See!!!

Hotel Valencia was a beatiful hotel. Very sexy feel. Hotel staff was great and very helpful. They were very understanding even when I over slept and checked out 2hrs late. Loved it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked through the Mercado...great place to shop/eat and drink. Within a few blocks. Everything is within walking distance...food, Alamo, and the best thing the Riverwalk was right next to the hotel...

Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BHernandez
Houston, Texas
May 21, 2013

Anniversary get-a-way

Our stay at Hotel Valencia was perfect. It was quiet and secluded from all the traffic. It is a little way from the center of the river walk which includes the mall and movie theater but, its about a 10 minute walk away. The hotel and the rooms are beautifully decorated and elegant. Contemporary modern is what I would call it. The service was excellent. The food from the hotel restaurant was also excellent even though it was just breakfast. Next time I go back to San Antonio this is where I will stay no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acenar, a Tex-Mex restaurant is right next door to it and is very good.

Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
little critter
corpus christi, texas
Sep 30, 2012

great place for couples

i thought the dark atmosphere was very good for a romantic getaway. Close to market, restaurants, and river center. Right on riverwalk. Helpful hotel employees. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The mexican restaurant next door was great.

Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 1, 2007

Don't stay ANYWHERE else!!!!

This hotel is amazing. If you are into modern decor, 600 thread count linens, Tivoli radios, leather club chairs, plantation shutters, phenomenal service.... This place has it all. I've already recommended to all my friends. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located on the most happening section of the riverwalk which we happened to be able to view from our room.

Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
May 1, 2010

San Antonio Trip

The room was big, and the hotel was in a great location. Could see the river from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canmanaustin
Austin, Texas
Dec 25, 2012

Feel of luxury

We didn't get to spend enough time at the Valencia, but the room was something special (comfortable bed), the grounds were beautiful, and they took care of us. It is a luxurious hotel that we got at a great rate. The only negative was the very expensive valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Needed Vacationers
Colorado
May 12, 2011

The wife loved it !!!!!

The service was great, the ammenities wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel opened up to everything on the Riverwalk, great.

Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Happy Valley Oregon
Jan 11, 2010

Over and beyond what we expected

The location was with in walking distance from attractions and restaurants. The staff was so frendly and willing to help. My daughter and I felt safe staying there. We really hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many different types of dining to choose from.

Back to menu Return to top