$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

4 stars
150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
87 reviews
Awesome

This hotel is located in the middle of downtown and very close to Riverwalk. See full review

  • Hotel montes
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great hotel, minor problems

Really enjoyed the the stay at this hotel--very unique and comfortable. Only two problems: The... See full review

  • DGW10Oct
  • Apr 11, 2014
Sleek interior and award-winning fine dining at hotel on the River Walk
The Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has a palazzo exterior and 213 elegant and modern rooms and suites. All feature signature designs by Dodd Mitchell, custom-made luxurious beds with Egyptian cotton linens, 18-foot ebony solid wood credenza and plantation shutters. High-speed Internet is free. Award-winning fine dining and an elegant bar are in-house, at Citrus and Vbar, respectively. 7,000 square feet of meeting space is available and the courtyard is often converted private gatherings. This hotel has earned a AAA 4 Diamond rating.
Highlights
  • Located on the River Walk, with patio overlooking the water
  • Restaurant and bar on site
  • Spa services and fitness room on site
  • Leather club chairs, faux-mink throws, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linens and white Italian marble baths
  • AAA Four Diamond rating
Rooms

Balcony and courtyard rooms are available, along with several suites, including a presidential suite. Junior suites are a roomy 750 square feet and include a spacious seating area. All guests can enjoy custom-designed beds and 42-inch flat-panel HDTVs with cable. Lighting is controlled by dimmer switches, and individual climate control is provided. A scale, hair dryer, waffle-weave terry cloth robes and luxurious amenities by the California modern apothecary Lather are in every Italian white virgin marble bathroom. All guest rooms at the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk feature free high-speed Internet access, an ebony credenza, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton bed and bath linens, Tivoli clock radios, leather club chairs with an ottoman and a slinky faux mink throw. A cordless speakerphone with dial-up connectivity is bedside and a two-line speakerphone sits at each desk. Honor bars and 24-hour room service also are available. All accommodations were designed by Dodd Mitchell.

Features

Indulge in luxurious spa services on the hotel's third floor or in-room. The award-winning Citrus restaurant and terrace serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers a paella and pasta bar, all overlooking the River Walk. Indulge in tapas and cocktails and the hip Vbar. A shuttle service by the city is available (fees apply). In a commitment to the environment, the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has removed pre-packaged bottled water from all food and beverage menus and offers still or sparkling water dispensed from its Natura water purification system. The house only serves organic, fair-trade Katz Coffee, roasted in nearby Houston in small batches, with a custom blend just for the hotel.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Theater district (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi./0.4 km)
  • Market Square (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • 7,000 square feet of meeting space available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in
  • Valet parking is $29 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4922
Area served
Nestled along the scenic River Walk in San Antonio
Nearby airports
San Antonio Airport
Area description
From the airport, take US-281 and drive for approximatley six miles. Bear left onto I-37, and take the 141A Exit. Turn right onto East Commerce Street, then turn right onto Navarro Street. Turn left onto East Houston Street; the hotel is located at 150 East Houston Street

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valencia Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk Rooms

Deluxe Room: One King or Two Double Beds
These handsome rooms have one king or two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of four guests. Rooms are sleek and sophisticated, with leather club chairs, Tivoli clock radios, coffee makers and custom-made beds wrapped in Eqyptian cotton linens. All rooms feature free high-speed Internet access and live palm trees; some rooms also have a private balcony or desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel is equipped for meetings and conferences with wireless Internet access throughout the public areas

Dining

Citrus
This exclusive restaurant specializes in New American cuisine with a distinct Spanish accent, offering fine, full-course dining, as well as individual dishes for lighter fare. Experience the chef's award-winning signature specials such as serrano ham-wrapped mahi mahi and Provencal herb-encrusted striped sea bass. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all served
Vbar
Hip and trendy, the hotel's Vbar is an ideal place to relax after a hard day's work or a leisurely stroll along the Riverwalk. Offering specialty drinks and a selection of Spanish and New American tapas, this upscale haunt is like no other in San Antonio

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just a couple on vacation
okc
Sep 28, 2010

just on the cusp of greatness

We went to SA for a long weekend, the Valencia has several reviews that it is dark, etc. It is part of the contemporary feel. The "service" at the V bar was lacking, we basically had to go get the drinks from the bar ourself even with three waitstaff present. The room was wonderful,(go take a look at the website for the hotel) the concierge was more than willing to get anything for us. As far is spa services are concerned, they have a closet in off to the side of the workout room, so spa/massage may be better somewhere else. The resturaunt along the river was pretty consistantly busy but the other two never seemed to have anyone at them. Good overall, it is a great hotel if you want a room on the river but about 5 minutes from the river chaos

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if your trip is only riverwalk focused, dont bother with renting a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA.
Aug 16, 2010

Pretty Hotel

This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The only things I can say about the hotel are if you want to be close to the main portion of the river walk, then I would recommend a different hotel. If you don't mind walking, then this would be a great choice in hotels. If a pool is a must, then this isn't your hotel. There is no pool. Overall, the trip was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a very nice and romantic hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make it a point to stop in the Riverview Mall prior to making any plans for activities and dining. They have a guest services kiosk that has a book of ideas, activities, and coupons that will help you maximize your funds throughout the area. Do not purchase things from the hotels, the prices are crazy! Take the time to get this magazine; it's worth it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
May 1, 2010

San Antonio Trip

The room was big, and the hotel was in a great location. Could see the river from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Mass.
Apr 12, 2010

Nice visit

Besides being awakened 3 out of 4 nights by the trash trucks below our window at 5:30 am, and revelers at 3am the hotel was nice, clean and well located. We walked to everything in San Antonio from the hotel. The valet staff actually were most helpful to us, giving us great suggestions and directions for day trips outside the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The town of Gruen and the McNay museum were definitely worth seeing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Mar 1, 2010

we loved staying at this hotel

We stayed in San Antonio so that we could go to Lackland AFB, it was very easy to get to from this hotel. The staff was great and went out of their way to please you. Valet was quick and effecient. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would def. stay here again. You do get a little traffic noise, but then again you are downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clinton, CT
Feb 21, 2010

Upscale, trendy and on the riverwalk!

We really enjoyed our experiences at this hotel. The Citrus restaurant was perfect for breakfast and offered a wonderful variety for dinner too. The V bar was an ideal spot for a drink. This hotel is very conveniently located on the riverwalk. We didn't rent a car and were able to walk just about everywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

San Antonio is a fabulous and friendly city, rich in history and beauty! We didn't rent a car and were able to walk just about everywhere! The visitor's center across the street from the Alamo provided all the information we needed to plan our activities. Don't miss the missions, the Alamo or The Guenther House. The shopping at the Market Square and La Villita can't be beat! The trolley system is inexpensive and dependable! You can get anywhere on a trolley or on the riverboats. We recommend taking a riverboat tour and using the riverboat taxies to get around. Don't miss the San Antonio Museum of Art in the old Lone Star Beer factory located right on the river. Try to have dinner or at least a lunch at Casa Rio, the oldest restaurant on the river for delicious Mexican food right on the riverwalk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Feb 5, 2010

Awesome Experience!!!

Our flight was late and when we made it to the hotel after 11PM, I asked the Valet for a retaurant recommendation before we checked in. Offered a great solution and was very courteous. The only bad experience...I asked for an umbrella to take a walk and was treated as if I was crazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Happy Valley Oregon
Jan 11, 2010

Over and beyond what we expected

The location was with in walking distance from attractions and restaurants. The staff was so frendly and willing to help. My daughter and I felt safe staying there. We really hated to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Many different types of dining to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2010

Very Luxurious!

Great location - within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. Staff very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Jersey guest
Wayne, NJ
Dec 7, 2009

Great staff

Staff was great. Had a full blown party in the room next door just before midnight. Guests were obviously bombed and not really caring if other guests were being woken up. Moved to the quiet 12th floor at midnight room for the evening was comped. Stayed one more night which was nice and quiet. Concierge, great guy, turned us on to a great and fun place for dinner Ramiros. Valet parking cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

taxi to ramiros... not a place for kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top