$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

4 stars
150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
87 reviews
Awesome

This hotel is located in the middle of downtown and very close to Riverwalk. See full review

  • Hotel montes
  • Aug 17, 2014
Great hotel, minor problems

Really enjoyed the the stay at this hotel--very unique and comfortable. Only two problems: The... See full review

  • DGW10Oct
  • Apr 11, 2014
Sleek interior and award-winning fine dining at hotel on the River Walk
The Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has a palazzo exterior and 213 elegant and modern rooms and suites. All feature signature designs by Dodd Mitchell, custom-made luxurious beds with Egyptian cotton linens, 18-foot ebony solid wood credenza and plantation shutters. High-speed Internet is free. Award-winning fine dining and an elegant bar are in-house, at Citrus and Vbar, respectively. 7,000 square feet of meeting space is available and the courtyard is often converted private gatherings. This hotel has earned a AAA 4 Diamond rating.
Highlights
  • Located on the River Walk, with patio overlooking the water
  • Restaurant and bar on site
  • Spa services and fitness room on site
  • Leather club chairs, faux-mink throws, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linens and white Italian marble baths
  • AAA Four Diamond rating
Rooms

Balcony and courtyard rooms are available, along with several suites, including a presidential suite. Junior suites are a roomy 750 square feet and include a spacious seating area. All guests can enjoy custom-designed beds and 42-inch flat-panel HDTVs with cable. Lighting is controlled by dimmer switches, and individual climate control is provided. A scale, hair dryer, waffle-weave terry cloth robes and luxurious amenities by the California modern apothecary Lather are in every Italian white virgin marble bathroom. All guest rooms at the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk feature free high-speed Internet access, an ebony credenza, 300-thread count Egyptian cotton bed and bath linens, Tivoli clock radios, leather club chairs with an ottoman and a slinky faux mink throw. A cordless speakerphone with dial-up connectivity is bedside and a two-line speakerphone sits at each desk. Honor bars and 24-hour room service also are available. All accommodations were designed by Dodd Mitchell.

Features

Indulge in luxurious spa services on the hotel's third floor or in-room. The award-winning Citrus restaurant and terrace serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers a paella and pasta bar, all overlooking the River Walk. Indulge in tapas and cocktails and the hip Vbar. A shuttle service by the city is available (fees apply). In a commitment to the environment, the Hotel Valencia Riverwalk has removed pre-packaged bottled water from all food and beverage menus and offers still or sparkling water dispensed from its Natura water purification system. The house only serves organic, fair-trade Katz Coffee, roasted in nearby Houston in small batches, with a custom blend just for the hotel.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (1 mi./1.6 km)
Attractions
  • Theater district (0.1 mi./0.1 km)
  • River Walk (0.3 mi./0.4 km)
  • Market Square (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • The Alamo (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.4 mi./0.7 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms
  • 7,000 square feet of meeting space available
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in
  • Valet parking is $29 per night

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4265 -98.4922
Area served
Nestled along the scenic River Walk in San Antonio
Nearby airports
San Antonio Airport
Area description
From the airport, take US-281 and drive for approximatley six miles. Bear left onto I-37, and take the 141A Exit. Turn right onto East Commerce Street, then turn right onto Navarro Street. Turn left onto East Houston Street; the hotel is located at 150 East Houston Street

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Valencia Riverwalk also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk Rooms

Deluxe Room: One King or Two Double Beds
These handsome rooms have one king or two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of four guests. Rooms are sleek and sophisticated, with leather club chairs, Tivoli clock radios, coffee makers and custom-made beds wrapped in Eqyptian cotton linens. All rooms feature free high-speed Internet access and live palm trees; some rooms also have a private balcony or desk

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.8 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15 mi

Dining

Citrus
This exclusive restaurant specializes in New American cuisine with a distinct Spanish accent, offering fine, full-course dining, as well as individual dishes for lighter fare. Experience the chef's award-winning signature specials such as serrano ham-wrapped mahi mahi and Provencal herb-encrusted striped sea bass. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are all served
Vbar
Hip and trendy, the hotel's Vbar is an ideal place to relax after a hard day's work or a leisurely stroll along the Riverwalk. Offering specialty drinks and a selection of Spanish and New American tapas, this upscale haunt is like no other in San Antonio

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel is equipped for meetings and conferences with wireless Internet access throughout the public areas

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trudie n Ty
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Aug 1, 2012

Great Stay

Sexy hotel. Loved the mood with the lighting, and water features, etc. etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James the Romantic
Business
Damascus,MD
Jul 28, 2012

Very Romantic

Wasnt sure to expect, but the room wasjust awesome. Very up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dezlie
Business
Allen, TX
Jul 17, 2012

Long Weekend

The hotel staff was wonderful. Our room was comfortable and quiet. We are picky people that hold a lot of regard for customer service. We weren't disappointed. If we had any complaint it would be that the hotel was dark and parking was expensive. But it was romantic and it was great to have the valet guys have our car at the front door when we were ready to go anywhere. They even offered directions. We will come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Popeye1940something
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Jul 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Everything was clean, comfortable, and convenient, except for the lack of on site parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mean10Green
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 10, 2012

July 4th Getaway

When I arrived they told me I would be staying in a double bed room for one out of the three nights only, even though I booked all three nights. The manager fixed that the next day. The front desk personnel were very clueless about many things concerning the hotel. The rooms were clean, and spacious. There was no pool or jacuzzi in the hotel. Great location near the RiverWalk. Overall it was an OK experience, nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessNColby
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 9, 2012

Luxury on the Riverwalk

It was a great hotel. Beautiful room and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tammy B
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 19, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

The hotel was right there at the riverwalk, easy access to all the shops and restaurants and The alamo. The room was very clean, not much of a view but not bad either. Valet parking was a bit pricey but worth it to not have to worry about our vehicle. We would definitely (and soon) go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Tour the Spanish Missions, easy to get to, no cost and very beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gloaming
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 2, 2012

Darkness was every where.

I loved the location, and appreciated the room temperature and openess. The bed and linings were very nice. I am sorry to say, someone had stolen the hair dryer, but the hotel sent one up. The doormen waiting to help us unload were very nice. Mike was the name of one of them, others provided helpful information. However, I have to say that it was the darkest place I have ever stayed... day or night. The lighting appears to be completely inadequate for the many walls and ceilings of black or slate gray. It was so dark, I couldn't really 'name' the exact color. The halls, lobby, well everywhere but the bathroom, was DARK~ It was very strange to be in a situation where it appeared that 'night lights' were all that was guiding us along through passages. You would probably love this if you are a vampire or into Goth! :) I probably would not stay here again for this reason alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iron Cactus on River Walk had great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronsstar
Business
Azle, Texas
May 9, 2012

great location

Except for loosing electricity during a storm the hotel was very nice and clean. The location on the Riverwalk is a big plus so the extra expense is worth it. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the river boat tour and find where all the best action is, it's better than walking around all night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chipper 2
Business
Nebraska, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Average

The room was clean and we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to check in at 1:00 p.m. when we arrived. The staff was friendly. My only complaints are that it was very dark (not just the room but the entire hotel) and they stock the refrigerator with liquor, pop and water so full that you can't use it for anything you would like to purchase and take back to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The most enjoyable thing we did was the river tour. We did this the night before we were leaving to fly home. I wish we would have did this sooner as it gave you a better perspective off what there is to do while there on vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top