$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BHernandez
Business
Houston, Texas
Feb 24, 2014

romantic getaway

Everything was perfect from the room to the food in the restaurant to the entire hotel staff. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woodinville Will
Business
Woodinville, WA
Nov 11, 2013

Citrus is broken but otherwise good.

The Citrus restaurant is undergoing a management change. We tried one dinner and two breakfasts and then gave up. At Sunday breakfast people were walking out after waiting for an hour and getting no food. Monday breakfast was better but still broken. Saturday night dinner was slow and items were out. But there are many good restaurants within a block or two. I didn't know what to expect of the Riverwalk. It was nice but amazingly small. The "river" is a canal about 4 feet deep and 10 feet wide. The walkway on either side is about 3 people wide with no railing between you and the water. The main area of the Riverwalk is a horseshoe about 4 blocks, by 2 blocks, by 4 blocks. The quintessential picture with the restaurant and shops is representative of about 2 blocks of that (on the North side 4 block stretch). The Hotel Valencia is well situated for a two block walk to the Riverwalk, at one end of the better part of the Riverwalk. The Hotel itself is very underlit - a bit dim in the public areas, and downright hard to see in the room. Find every light and turn it on and it is still dim. During the day throw open the shutters and things are OK. But everything worked (well I've never used Dish TV before - it sucks - many seconds to change a channel - but I'm not there for the TV). The beds were comfortable - the doormen very attentive and helpful. The WiFi was fine for a Hotel (3 Meg each way) - not like home but as long as my phone works its OK. The neighborhood is a bit sketchy - but so are most downtown areas. San Antonio has more police than I've ever seen anywhere else, and the homeless are very polite. Much nicer than Seattle where I live, and a ton better than Vancouver BC where I visit downtown from time to time. It never felt unsafe, and at 60 years old I'm not someone pan handlers are afraid of. For breakfast try the deli at the Sheraton Guenter hotel that is kitty corner, or the Osta at Hotel Mokara on the Riverwalk. For dinner definitely do Luke a block to the North, and Texas Land and Cattle on the Riverwalk two blocks to the West. A simple Mexican dinner can be had at the Iron Cactus on the Riverwalk by the barge tours two blocks away. The Mexican restaurant below Hotel Valencia made both me and my Sweetie sick - but maybe it was something else than the restaurant. It tasted fine when we were there - it was just later I had severe heartburn and she tossed it up during the night. If you have more money the Le Mansion Hotel and Hotel Mokara on the Riverwalk had balcony rooms that overlook the Riverwalk - I might buy up if I ever went to San Antionio again. But then again, there isn't a lot in San Antonio so I probably won't go again. But it is a nice town with nice people - and in November the weather is good compared to most places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The barge tour of the Riverwalk is a must do and you can catch the boat two blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ramontross
Business
san jose, california
Nov 9, 2013

fun trip

We found the staff, appearance and food great. The chairs however, in the room and in the lobby was not comfortable at all, they were low to the ground and to soft not much support for seniors. All in all the hotel was beautiful and such a great staff, very helpful. I would recommend it as a place to stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

riverwalk, Alamo within walking distance. Beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SA couple
Business
san antonio, tx
Oct 28, 2013

great

The bed was super comfortable and decor throughout whole hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Business Traveler.
Business
New Orleans, LA.
Sep 5, 2013

Perfect location

Really great place to spend a relaxing night and is within walking distance to finest eating in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palm and Bohannans

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baumg
Business
Riverwalk,San Antonio
Jul 23, 2013

Fantastic Zen quality to the hotel.

The whole hotel is beautiful. The quiet and restfulness of it made the whole weekend. Just what we needed.Everything is within walking distance. It was great to valet park and not have to worry about the traffic or some where to park. Hope to go back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

KLM recommended by hotel and loved the music and atmospher.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anoop Agrawal
Business
Chicago
May 28, 2013

Reasonable choice

Well, the hotel is dark but thats not an issue. It charges 29 dollars for parking, but we parked at Houston St Garage which is 1 block away and is 10 dollars daily: no brainer (particularly when valet retrieval can take up to 30 min). No on site pool or sauna which is disappointing. We asked for 2 queen beds, which the clerk couldn't accommodate because the hotel was too busy: understandable but it almost guaranteed a sub-optimal experience. Citrus is their main restaurant, which is CLOSED on sunday (bummer). We picked this hotel also with the fact that it is on riverwalk. Well, its at the very corner of the riverwalk, secluded area. If you imagine your stay as one where you walk down to find yourself amidst the hustle of riverwalk, this is not the place you are looking for. Rooms with river view is essentially a silent river with dead houses around. Rooms are good, clean, with nice decor. Fridge is packed with drinks (of course you have to pay for what you consume), but there is no extra room for that piece of left over pie you brought with you. Lobby looks nice, and there's place for you to sit and relax. Overall, a little more pricey for what you get. I will probably book a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BHernandez
Business
Houston, Texas
May 21, 2013

Anniversary get-a-way

Our stay at Hotel Valencia was perfect. It was quiet and secluded from all the traffic. It is a little way from the center of the river walk which includes the mall and movie theater but, its about a 10 minute walk away. The hotel and the rooms are beautifully decorated and elegant. Contemporary modern is what I would call it. The service was excellent. The food from the hotel restaurant was also excellent even though it was just breakfast. Next time I go back to San Antonio this is where I will stay no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Acenar, a Tex-Mex restaurant is right next door to it and is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Business Traveler.
Business
New Orleans, LA.
May 17, 2013

Great San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel

Staff was very helpful and great restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palm Restaurant for Steak or Lobster

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TexanBatman
Business
Beaumont, Texas
May 6, 2013

Very very pleased

This is a very elegant hotel with a first class staff. We will be staying again on our next trip to San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top