$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

3 stars
217 NORTH ST. MARY'S STREET, SAN ANTONIO, TX 78205-2303
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
55 reviews
Couples getaway

Great hotel and area! Would definitely come back. Only downside is parking daily fees and vie of... See full review

  • Anonymous640
  • Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful Stay!

The room was bright, clean, and well taken care of the by the staff. Enjoyed the restaurant and had... See full review

  • Engracia
  • Apr 20, 2014
Welcome to the newly remodeled Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel. Fresh from our $13 million renovation, experience the thoroughly modern Holiday Inn San Antonio River Walk boasting all new guest accommodations and public areas. Enjoy a quiet stay that's just a short stroll to all the River Walk has to offer. Within walking distance you'll discover great attractions with unmatched hospitality. Our full service accommodations are ideal for those traveling for work or play, while our striking River Walk locale is the perfect marriage of lively entertainment, rich history and scenic views. We invite you to come discover what makes this flagship Holiday Inn the premier choice for your stay on the Riverwalk. Enjoy contemporary dining at the all new Windows on the River Restaurant & Lounge or take advantage of complimentary high-speed Internet access and on-site business center and fitness center. Mugg's Cafe, our new concept boasts the all new gourmet "Coffee Experience" along with sandwiches, salads, beverages and sundries available 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Guests will appreciate our peaceful riverside locale, ideal for those looking to stay just steps from all of the excitement of the River Walk. Countless dining, nightlife and entertainment venues line this stretch of the San Antonio River. Nearby attractions include the historic Alamo, Henry B Gonzales Convention Center, Rivercenter Mall and El Marcado, The Market Place.

Hotel Map

29.4258 -98.4918
Nearby airports
San Antonio International, (SAT), 8.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • San Antonio River Walk: 0 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.2 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.4 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.4 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.7 mi
  • Alamodome: 1 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 3 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 3 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 3.1 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.9 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 4.2 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.5 mi
  • SBC Center: 5.2 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.9 mi
  • Sea World: 12.8 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.6 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.1 mi

Dining

Windows On The River Restaurant / Lounge
All seats overlooking the Riverwalk. Restaurant is open Monday thru Friday from 6:30AM to 11:00AM and Saturday Sunday from 6:30AM to12:00PM. Restaurant is open for dinner from 5:00PM to10:00PM Daily. Be sure and try our famous Fire Cracker Shrimp and S
Grab And Go
Features the one of a kind "Coffee Experience." Cafe also serves muffins, pastries, sandwiches, salads, fruits, cold beverages, snacks, ice cream and sundries. Hours of operation: 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Windows On The River Lounge
Windows on the River Lounge is the perfect place to unwind after a long day of business or sightseeing on the Riverwalk. Come in for your favorite cocktail or order a snack while enjoying the view of the romantic San Antonio Riverwalk from our hotel's lou

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Airforce Family visitors
Port Orange, FL
Feb 7, 2013

CONSTRUCTION NIGHTMARE!!

We were very disappointed in the hotel because we had no idea it was under construction. We were charged $20 per day just to park which was not a fact that was disclosed to us when we booked this trip. We could not use the elevator from the parking garage, we had to climb 2 flights of stairs and enter the hotel dinning room just to get to our hotel room. It was very uncomfortable to get to our room and had to argue with the construction workers just to get off the elevator. The room was newly refurbished and clean. This is the only reason we stayed the full 6 days and did not switch hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It was nice to stay at the San Antonio Riverwalk

Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brena Fab Mom
Calgary, AB
Aug 28, 2013

Not the Place to Go

My experience with the Holiday Inn was not a great one. The first thing was the front desk personnel was impolite and then you are told if you have a car, it is going to be an additional $19.50 per day if you park yourself or $26.50 if you use valet. The Hotel room was not cleaned very well if at all. Be care if you leave anything on the floor, as the cleaning personnel are not careful with the water, as I had items damaged. If you make a complaint, be sure to write down the time and person you talk to because if you bring it up again, they have no record. I would recommend San Antonio as it is a beautiful city, but any other hotel if you want a fun and hassle free stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

San Antonio Riverwalk - Dick's Restaurant. Fabulous food, drinks and the waiters and waitresses are wonderful and it is a MUST GO. You will be glad you did.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Altoona, PA
Jun 1, 2009

Keep Looking!

THe trip was for our son's Airforce Graduation along with sight seeing in the area. Prior to the trip I called the hotel to confirm if we should rent a car or if there were any shuttles, taxi discounts ( for the amount of trips we would be taking back and forth to the Airforce base). I was assured that arrangements would be more affordable for us to use a taxi as the cost of parking a rentlcar would be in excess of what the taxi would cost, We were also assured that a "deal" would be made wih one of their "regular "taxi friends. As it turned out a rental woudl have save us over $300 , as the taxi rides that should have ran us $20 to $25 a trip were closer to $40 each way. THe staff gave us wrong directions to the USO and directed us on foot to an end of town that no one should be walking into. The balcony over looked the HVAC units on the lower roof which were so noisy not to mention a nasty sight. We had to call down to the front desk nightly to let them know the tv would either not turn on or off, and their anser was to un plug it. I would think it should have been replaced after the second call. The couple tables they had in the loby to eat off of were never clean, nor were the bathrooms in the lobby. THe staff at the front desk were inept to say the least. Our keys to the room quit working and we were put through such a drill to get another one. Bottom line I would not recommend this hotel whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
momtothree
memphis, tn
Jul 11, 2010

If you only want to sleep there...

I was thrilled with the location, and even more thrilled when we arrived at 7 a.m. and we were checked in right away. Those are the highlights. The rest is not so good. WIFI in room is terrible, and even the wired computers in the business center offer SLOW internet. The front desk didn't really care about that... The manager on duty didn't respond to direct comments, didn't make eye contact and was just rude. When I got back from the airport at 1 am after picking up another family member, the garage said "full." I parked in front assuming they would valet, the manager told me it wasn't really full and to go park. I did that and the garage was 100% full. Came back down and he told me they'd just valet it. Gee thanks. The kicker was at 1 am on our final night when the AC died in our room. There are probably better facilities in the area...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JasonNebraska
Nebraska, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Riverwalk

Looked for a decently priced hotel on San Antonio Riverwalk. Hotel is in a great location, about 2 mins from the central Riverwalk, with easy access to Riverwalk. Problem with hotel is that its old. Rooms were musty smelling, with old looking tile in the bathrooms. Its a noisy hotel, one side faces the city of San Antonio and its loud. This is a good hotel if you're looking for something fairly cheap, fairly clean, and close to the Riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jayhawk Out of Towner
Dallas
Dec 15, 2013

Ok for location

Bar staff was great- the front desk and valet staff were awful. Be sure to review your bill before you leave. They tried to charge us for both self parking and valet parking on the same day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would look for Mexican food off the river walk tourist beaten path.

Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montgomery, Alabama
May 27, 2009

Worst stay ever

Hotel acces to main portion of riverwalk was blocked due to construction. No hot water on third day of stay. Major leak in hallway on fourth day. Guest parking garage was full on the weekend-- still charged 16 dollar parking fee. Six of ten reserved handicapped parking occupied by non-handicapped vehicles. Vehicles illegally parked in front of elevators. Had to take wheelchair bound wife down parking ramp to get to vehicle. There is no control in parking garage. Had to call maintenance to reprogram TV twice. Room service staff was excellent. Recieved best service at check-in. When I checked out and voiced my complaints, the only response I got was "sorry, can I help the next person in line?"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Feb 26, 2010

Could be better

The Hotel wasn't terrible, but I found garbage left from the previous guest in the room. Also, the bathroom wasn't very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yellow08
Houston, TX
Apr 20, 2010

Not all that for the price!

The parking fee was expensive you pay alot of money for a nice hotel and then not to offer free parking its crazy. The hotel is old and not that up to date. It was not that nice for the price we paid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn SAN ANTONIO-RIVERWALK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moms first
san Antonio tx
Jul 15, 2011

Not so much

I didn't

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search