$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 705 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
151 reviews
Great family weekend

The location was Great, bedrooms have enought space and the Staff was great See full review

  • lrello
  • Jul 21, 2015
Great Non Chain Hotel

Excellent experience, friendly staff, great location See full review

  • Jena
  • Apr 10, 2015
Enjoy the blend of historic Southwestern charm and contemporary urban sophistication at The Emily Morgan - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, overlooking the Alamo and in walking distance of the Riverwalk. Feel welcome as you receive the DoubleTree signature chocolate chip cookie upon arrival at our hotel. Dating back to the 1920s, our historic building offers one-of-a-kind accommodations in a superb location for both leisure and business travelers, in the heart of San Antonio, Texas.Experience luxury in a guest room or suite, many of which offer stunning views of the Alamo or downtown San Antonio. Relax as you enjoy the flat-screen LCD HDTV, WiFi internet, and an in-room spa menu. Our non-smoking guest rooms and suites are decorated in Texas colors and with Alamo flare. Enjoy the sunshine with a dip in our outdoor pool or whirlpool, and maintain your exercise regimen in our complimentary 24-hour fitness center.Savor regional Texas cuisine at ORO Restaurant & Bar, named after the Spanish word for gold. Taste the seasonal dishes prepared by our award-winning executive chef and indulge in an energized atmosphere during our Happy Hour each evening from 5:00 to 7:00pm. Take advantage of our 4,000 sq. ft. of event space to host meetings and events for up to 90 guests.Named 'The Official Hotel of the Alamo' by The Alamo, this iconic hotel provides a luxurious stay in downtown San Antonio, TX.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 151
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WoahRCB
Single
San Antonio
Aug 6, 2014

Was a great stay, will come back.

I had a great 4 nights at the hotel, the room I got was a king with garden tub and seating area with sofabed. The view from 6th floor over looking The Alamo was so amazing especially at night. I had some visitors come up to the room and they loved the room as well. This was a nice big room, one of my favorites in town and price decent. I would walk around a few blocks surrounding the hotel to go eat, grab some things at near shopping places, everything was right near this area. I only ate at the hotel once with room service cause it was so late, the food was good, expensive with the delivery charge etc., expected. Only complaints was one of my visitors was charged for valet parking when I told them to tell valet my room and name. Visitor told me the valet didn't seem to know what to do for some reason verbally. If you can't stand loud noises this could be an issue cause at the Alamo you can hear some re enacted firing of canons or something often during the day, didn't bother me but just FYI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Can get some beer at a couple small stores right across from the hotel a couple blocks.

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aprillynn
Single
Ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Ok

The room was dusty. The tub was rusty. It was tight for two people. Staff was responsive while at facility. Housekeeping was not responsive to request for searching for a lost item. Food was average. Not season well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Riverwalk is nice. Choice of shops could improve.

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T's Daddy
Single
Bristow VA.
Nov 21, 2012

Emily Morgan Hotel

The Hotel is quite a spectacle to behold! The suite was beautiful and the view was incredible. Overlooking the Alamo was amazing. However the hotel is under renovation and I experienced plumbing problems to include water temperature and pressure issues, and the jacuzzi tub did not work. Also, I was awakened multiple times every night by construction noise inside the hotel on the floor above me. The staff was friendly and helpful when I had questions regarding directions and places to see. I would love to stay at the Emily Morgan again after the renovations are complete. I think then I could recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

History is rich in and around the Emily Morgan Hotel and much of it is within walking distance. Bring comfortable shoes and a healthy appetite because the dining along the Riverwalk and especially the small local restaurants is fantastic! The weather in late November was perfect. 50's over night 70 during the day!

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Portland, OR
May 23, 2010

Emily Morgan was great

The Emily Morgan is a great hotel for anyone looking to stay close to the Alamo and Riverwalk area. Everything was within walking distance. The staff was very helpful and professional. The room was a little small, but for a single traveler or couple, it was perfect. The bed was comfortable and the room and hotel was very clean. The only real downside was that they did not allow for self parking and I had to use the valet. The parking was another $25 per day but there really is not that many options in that part of town. I would highly recommend staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auntie Fern
Single
Centennial. Co
May 18, 2010

Right Downtown

Bell hops extremely helpful. Easy walking distance to many attractions. Felt very safe even at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Mar 21, 2010

Very nice

Very nice overall. See list for pluses and minuses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Michigan
Oct 13, 2009

Emily Morgan Hotel - by the Alamo

The room at the Emily Morgan was just beautiful, spacious, attractive, modern and comfortable. The staff were unfailingly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The San Antonio Botanical Gardens are amazing!

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura K.
Single
Mansfield, OH
Aug 5, 2009

My Stay in San Antonio

Over all, I liked the hotel. The location was perfect, right beside the Alamo and within walking distance to everything else you'd like to see. The pool was a big disappointment. It was tiny and only gets sun in the early morning...not good for sun worshipers. The restaurant was good...excellent breakfasts : ) The room I stayed in was nice, with a great view...even though some said it was haunted...I didn't feel it! I would stay there again...if I didn't want a tan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bypass the overpriced Haggen das and go to this little shop across the street, just down from the Alamo for super good and cheap ice cream.

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
No. VA
May 26, 2009

Memorial Weekend

For a 4 star hotel, more prompt service should be considered apropos. There was no trashcan and I had to request for over an hour. Then the phone message service did not work. There was no listing of tv channels and their local stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is very pleasant to leisurely eat, drik or people watch.

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Albuquerque, NM
May 18, 2009

Quick Trip

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top