$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 705 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
158 reviews
Great Non Chain Hotel

Excellent experience, friendly staff, great location See full review

  • Jena
  • Apr 10, 2015
Emily Morgan Hotel

This hotel is fabulous! A perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic weekend getaway. See full review

  • More Jo Dee
  • Sep 25, 2014
A luxurious Hilton hotel steps away from the Alamo
The Emily Morgan Hotel is a 1920s-era gothic marvel within walking distance of every major attraction in downtown San Antonio and offers plenty of luxury to soothe both the tuckered tourist and busy business traveler. With the AAA Four Diamond rating to maintain, Emily ensures her guests feel at home with 400-thread count sheets and premium bathrobes. In-house restaurant Oro dazzles diners, and the Library is a quiet lounge good for surfing the web or reading.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Alamo and San Antonio Riverwalk
  • Award-winning restaurant and bar featuring daily happy hour
  • Cozy library provides comfortable seating, flat-screen TV 
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • A sunny deck holds a stainless steel pool and matching hot tub
Rooms

All of the 177 sleek, modern rooms of the Emily Morgan Hotel offer comfy feather-top beds and views of the Alamo and downtown San Antonio. Sink into 400-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets and wrap up in premium waffle cotton bathrobes. Larger and even more deluxe accommodations are available in a fleet of suites, including The Duke Suite, which clocks in at 830 square feet and features a granite-topped dining table that seats eight.

Features

Architecture fans will marvel at this 1924 standout building, which is a stunning example of Gothic Revival style. Guests can nestle in for some dedicated lounging at the Library, where books and data ports abound, or enjoy Oro, the Emily Morgan Hotel's restaurant and bar. The pool and Jacuzzis on the deck are stainless steel. The fitness center offers a view of the pool, dry sauna and TRUE cardio machines.

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12 km)            
Attractions
  • The Alamo (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • River Center Mall (0.2 m./0.3 km)
  • La Villita (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Open Air San Antonio Trolley (4.3 mi./6.9 km)
  • The Mission Trail (11.3 mi./18.2 km)        
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of event space can accommodate groups up to 90 seated people.
Policies and fees
  • Pet fee is $50 per guest room (non-refundable).
  • 24-hour valet parking with unlimited in-out service is $28 per day plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 158
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jena
Business
Elk Grove Village
Apr 10, 2015

Great Non Chain Hotel

Excellent experience, friendly staff, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LF
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

Great hotel

Convenient location, nice and clean hotel. Right across the street from the Alamo. You can find free street parking within a block or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
More Jo Dee
Business
Texas
Sep 25, 2014

Emily Morgan Hotel

This hotel is fabulous! A perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WVU Fan in Dallas
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 7, 2014

Great hotel for overnight stay

Loved the chocolate chip cookies upon arrival, staff was friendly, pool was great. Nice location which was walking distance to everything downtown San Antonio has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savannah59
Business
Abingdon, Md
Jul 7, 2014

First trip to San Antonio

Room was great and the employees were as well. We decided to stay longer and they worked on getting us a better rate. Location is fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Alamo and River walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley0788
Business
central texas
Jun 16, 2014

Nice Getaway

Had a great time at this hotel. Started off great with the amazing cookies! My girlfriend and I had the King Suite and couldn't have been more satisfied with the room. My one and ONLY complaint is that it didnt ever seem to cool down in the room, as I prefer to breathe icicles while I'm sleeping. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mizress
Business
Devine, Tx
Feb 8, 2014

fun weekend trip

we love the emily morgan!! staff is always friendly and helpful, and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. it is also close to the riverwalk and alamo. Definitely one of my favorite riverwalk hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mizress
Business
Pleasanton, Tx
Jun 11, 2013

over night get away

we had an excellent stay at the emily morgan! The room was comfortable, the staff was friendly. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WeddingCoupleOH
Business
Ohio
Oct 29, 2012

Close to the Alamo, but has very little amenities

While staying at the Emily Morgan, we noticed that all we got was a room. That is it. No special amenities and when it rained (and we were stuck inside) the dish went out and we were left without tv. Then on Saturday morning someone in the room above us started hammering, at 7 am. Not ok for a hotel stay. From day one we had conflict with the staff. When we arrived to check-in no one was at the desk or valet stand. We had to wait over 20 min to get help. Then when we would call for our car, it was never pulled up for us. The claim when you call the front desk for your car, in 10 min your car will be ready. Every time we called, they seemed "to not have gotten" our request. So we had to wait an additional 10 min for our car. We paid over $30 a day for valet and parking, and we never got our car when we called. The location is ideal, but the hotel and staff are lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghost hunter Jack
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Jul 20, 2012

Trip from TN

The only issue we had was that my husband had a cup of coffee the first morning using the condiments. The used cup was not taken for cleaning, no new cup was left nor new refill of condiments. 2nd morning, he used the other coffee cup, and again no clean cups were left for the remaining trip. We expected clean coffee cups and more condiments. Water kept leaking in bath tub, kept the water running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A must to see, has it all. With our hotel close by, we should not have gotten a rental car. We could have walked all around. Great informative captain on the river cruise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top