The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

3 stars
705 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
273 reviews
fun weekend trip

we love the emily morgan!! staff is always friendly and helpful, and the rooms are always clean and... See full review

  • mizress
  • Feb 8, 2014
Surprise trip for daughter

Our 7 year old learned about the Alamo in school this year. No better way to follow up the lesson... See full review

  • Frosty Frog
  • Jun 29, 2013
A luxurious Hilton hotel steps away from the Alamo
The Emily Morgan Hotel is a 1920s-era gothic marvel within walking distance of every major attraction in downtown San Antonio and offers plenty of luxury to soothe both the tuckered tourist and busy business traveler. With the AAA Four Diamond rating to maintain, Emily ensures her guests feel at home with 400-thread count sheets and premium bathrobes. In-house restaurant Oro dazzles diners, and the Library is a quiet lounge good for surfing the web or reading.
Highlights
  • Within walking distance of the Alamo and San Antonio Riverwalk
  • Award-winning restaurant and bar featuring daily happy hour
  • Cozy library provides comfortable seating, flat-screen TV and wireless Internet access
  • A sunny deck holds a stainless steel pool and matching hot tub
Rooms

All of the 177 sleek, modern rooms of the Emily Morgan Hotel offer comfy feather-top beds and views of the Alamo and downtown San Antonio. Sink into 400-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets and wrap up in premium waffle cotton bathrobes. Larger and even more deluxe accommodations are available in a fleet of suites, including The Duke Suite, which clocks in at 830 square feet and features a granite-topped dining table that seats eight.

Features

Architecture fans will marvel at this 1924 standout building, which is a stunning example of Gothic Revival style. Guests can nestle in for some dedicated lounging at the Library, where books and data ports abound, or enjoy Oro, the Emily Morgan Hotel's restaurant and bar. The pool and Jacuzzis on the deck are stainless steel. The fitness center offers a view of the pool, dry sauna and TRUE cardio machines.

Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12 km)            
Attractions
  • The Alamo (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • River Center Mall (0.2 m./0.3 km)
  • La Villita (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Open Air San Antonio Trolley (4.3 mi./6.9 km)
  • The Mission Trail (11.3 mi./18.2 km)        
Business
  • 4,000 square feet of event space can accommodate groups up to 90 seated people.
Policies and fees
  • Pet fee is $50 per guest room (non-refundable).
  • 24-hour valet parking with unlimited in-out service is $28 per day plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Hotel Map

29.4266 -98.4858
Nearby airports
San Antonio Intl Airport, (SAT), 8.00, MI, N; Stinson Municipal Airport, (SSF), 6.00, MI, S;

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Apr 12, 2010

Great Stay

Excellent location for riverwalk and downtown attractions; across the street from the Alamo. Front desk service very good. Restaurant service just ok. We had a complimentary upgrade since they were overbooked on our room, so very good value. Room was very nicely done all very clean and comfortable. Parking yes was $26 extra a day and probably could find something more reasonable a block or two away if we wanted to look but didn't make the effort. Hotel was nicely redone; quite charming hotel as it is in the old style; beats the standard other major chains if you want something unique.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elvis1717
Orem, Utah
Jan 1, 2013

Daddy Daughter Vacation

I loved the location, very nice hotel, more upgrading was taking place while staying with absolutely no hinderence to our stay. It was actually good to see they care about even making it better!! We were close to the Alamo, the river walk, city walks, and river center mall. Restaurants everywhere. The only complaint I have is pretty picky, and that is that the base of our tub could have been caulked a little better for looks, and the bathroom fan was inoperative, Should of let them know, I'm sure they would have repaired it, but it really wasn't a bother , as for the rest room #509 it was wonderful !! Thanks Emily Morgan Crew!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fire Meyers
Lubbock, TX
Jan 3, 2010

Great Time

We went to watch the Alamo Bowl, and had a great time partying afterward. Everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valdosta Ga
Jul 25, 2010

Emily Morgan

This hotel is 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Apr 27, 2010

Wondeful Stay

Overall the stay was wonderful I would stay again. The location was nice just a short walk to somethings. I would however, complain about having to be charged extra fees if I wanted to use the internet, you would think for the price we payed for room that would have been added in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 28, 2008

Great location!

The Emily Morgan Hotel was VERY comfortable, and spacious! The room was quite clean and luxurious. Looking out our window onto the Alamo was a plus, and we were only a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk, where we had many choices of restaurants. We chose not to park in the hotel's parking lot, as there was on-street parking after 6:00, and plenty of parking lots close to the hotel. Check-in went very smoothly and was quick! I definitely would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riverwalk area has many restaurants with seating right along the water. It's beautiful at night!

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
Apr 27, 2010

Wondeful Stay

Overall the stay was wonderful I would stay again. The location was nice just a short walk to somethings. I would however, complain about having to be charged extra fees if I wanted to use the internet, you would think for the price we payed for room that would have been added in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valdosta Ga
Jul 25, 2010

Emily Morgan

This hotel is 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matt & Laurie
United Arab Emirates
Sep 12, 2009

Alamo- Emily Morgan Hotel

What a super location- across the street from the Alamo and a block from the river walk, dining, bars & entertainment. The beds were dreamy and the rooms were an adequate size. Complimentary welcome bottled water and tea making facilities were a nice touch. The bath-toilettries were a good quality, but the bathroom, itself, needed some refurbishment. The staff was preoccupied with talking on the phone and each other. The same thing happened the next day with the valet service. Check-in at late evening, with no other guests in line, still took almost 30 minutes. The concierge was unavailable the next morning, so we went to the Concierge at the Hyatt on the River walk who gave us a great suggestion for breakfast. We left HER a tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The River walk has a mutitude of dining and drinking options, as well as sightseeing attractions. Go to the Alamo early to avoid long lines with the tourists and tour buses.

Review of The Emily Morgan San Antonio - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
May 18, 2009

Quick Trip

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top