$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
245 reviews
Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. See full review

  • NCBeachBum
  • Jul 17, 2014
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
245 out of 245
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cat
Business
Holiday Inn El Tropicanna
Dec 6, 2009

Absolutely horrible!!!!!

Horribe!!!! A roach was on our breakfast tray and we noticed it after. There was a guest/couple next door fighting all night and me and my children heard everything and couldnt sleep. House keeping didnt do clean room on last day and garbage was piled to the top no tissue or soap and fresh wash clothes. Charged 18 dollars a day for parking without knowledge until checkout. Room tempature was not adjustable. Just a horrific experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrDavid
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Skip El Tropicano unless it's free

Motel 6 with a nice lobby. Dirty bathrooms, no towels, dark/smelly hallways Staff with bad attitudes and slow responses. I should have left the first hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jmanciaz
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Not what I expected at ALL.

Unfortunately, I did not care for the hotel at all. When I first checked in, there was already confusion because the staff spelled my last name wrong. Then the first room they had given us smelled like mold. When we finally got settled in, we attempted to get on the internet. But the wifi signal was nowhere to be found, so I had to go outside to get a signal. The next morning, house keeping came in our room and tended to the restroom but left allll the lights on. With as much as the hotel boasted about its fantastic accommodations , they really sucked. I was so emberassed bringing my friends here who had never been to San Antonio before. And FYI, if you park across the street, be sure to read the sign very carefully. Both our cars got a boot and we had to pay 112 dollars each to get them taken off. It is really sad how the hotel charges 18.00 per day for parking your vehicle. I am not satisfied at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bt48219
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

outdated, disorganized.

Made the reservations 6 weeks in advance and paid in full only to arrive and be told they are over booked and don't have a room for me. They put me up across the street which turned out to be nicer hotel for less money. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurene
Business
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Outdated

There was funky loud music playing by pool at all hours, annoying. We "shared" a balcony with another room- awkward! There is a restaurant, open only for breakfast buffet. The pool was too cold to enjoy- & no hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jess86
Business
Wichita Falls, Texas
Feb 18, 2013

Disappointment!!!

About the same level of a dirty motel. Spend the extra cash and go somewhere nicer! Once we saw our rooms we tried to book somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Five 0
Business
texas
Jun 10, 2013

Weekend Trip

The hotel is tiny at a large cost. My wife and I could not both navigate in the room at the same time. The AC unit made a horrible noise all night long. They charge $18.00 a day to park in the parking lot. The entire building, inside and out, was filthy. To get to the River Walk, you had to either go by bus or walk about a mile and a half. The hotel staff was rude and basically ignorant of local transportation availablity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Durty Nellies, Piano Bar, Irish Pub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tia K.
Business
Arizona
Aug 20, 2013

Very disappointed

This hotel does not demonstrate what the website implies as to cleanliness, amenities, location etc. We had reservations for three nights but checked out after one horrible night. The A/C blew cold air on either my handicapped husband or me and was not adjustable, the elevator button for our floor did not work causing us to load everything into another elevator, kids were yelling and running up and down halls after midnight, the room was so dingy I didn't want to touch anything, very little space in the bathroom to put necessities, unprofessional staff, expensive mediocre breakfast, on the morning we left the toilet quit flushing properly, car horns and motorcycles revving kept us awake. The location made it seem you were in an alley. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! After checking out we enjoyed two grand nights at the Hyatt Grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tia K.
Business
Arizona
Aug 21, 2013

Family gathering

This hotel is very unsatisfactory...........cold air which was not adjustable blowing on each bed, very noisy inside and out after mid-night, poor location, expensive parking fees, expensive mediocre breakfast, non-professional staff, poorly appointed bathroom, dingy and unclean, poorly functioning toilet, non-working elevator buttons, expensive limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MelbaH
Business
Montgomery, Tx.
Nov 19, 2013

Small dirty room.

The room had an odor and the bathroom was tiny. No microwave or mini fridge in the room. The bed linen appeared dirty and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in places. The window was painted shut. It was not worth the nearly $400.00 we paid for two days. Very disappointed in this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top