$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
300 reviews
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told... See full review

  • A.Chavez
  • Apr 1, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (300)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
austin texas
Apr 22, 2009

No complaints, clean, quiet

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha G.
León, Guanajuato, Mexico
Aug 18, 2011

Great place, amazing service, perfect for the family!

I reserved this hotel because my husband loves everything from the 60's, he was really surprised, the location was close to everything and easy to get to, the service was great, we ordered food and the price was good and the gentleman that brought the food was a gem. The beds were so comfortable that we felt sorry every morning when we had to get out of bed. We are already planning to go back for Christmas! we highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The down town area has so much history, beautiful buildings, great restaurants close to the riverwalk and a very clean, safe city.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Chavez
Houston
Apr 1, 2014

LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told the front desk that I felt the room was too small and they said no problem mam come on down stairs and we will have a new keys for a new room waiting, the room give to us was much more specious and I loved every bit of the trip and the hospitality if I could I would rate the a 12 out of 10... Very satisfied customer!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bis Hub
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 27, 2009

business/vacation

I was staying there on a business trip and turned into a vacation. Very friendly staff, it was like i was at a resort in Mexico. Everybody was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
May 13, 2007

very family friendly

Our trip turned out to be a disaster including me breaking my foot. the only good thing about the trip was the friendliness of everyone there! If I evere go to San Antonio again I will stay there hopefully under much better circumstances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the riverwalk was wonderful

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayney V
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 24, 2012

My New Favorite Hotel in San Antonio!

I realy enjoyed my stay. The Hotel is decorated so fun and funky retro with even live animals in the lobby. My room was extremely clean and comfy and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was neat to with a flashing color show in the water. I will definately come back here next time I am in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bandicoot46
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Awesome hotel!

my bf and i stayed here for overnight getaway on the riverwalk and were not disappointed. The staff were very nice, the tiki bar was open and had great drinks, the hotel is right on the riverwalk and only a short walk from the main action. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and there was and espresso bar for my morning caffeine fix. Cool place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garry L. Honest
Visalia, CA USA
Feb 1, 2012

The Staff

The staff was outstanding! First time there in San Antonio Texas. The staff made us feel very welcome. Next trip to San Antonio, i will stay at the El Tropicano again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bis Hub
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 27, 2009

business/vacation

I was staying there on a business trip and turned into a vacation. Very friendly staff, it was like i was at a resort in Mexico. Everybody was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martha G.
León, Guanajuato, Mexico
Aug 18, 2011

Great place, amazing service, perfect for the family!

I reserved this hotel because my husband loves everything from the 60's, he was really surprised, the location was close to everything and easy to get to, the service was great, we ordered food and the price was good and the gentleman that brought the food was a gem. The beds were so comfortable that we felt sorry every morning when we had to get out of bed. We are already planning to go back for Christmas! we highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The down town area has so much history, beautiful buildings, great restaurants close to the riverwalk and a very clean, safe city.

Back to menu Return to top