$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeremyw
Business
dallas tx
Jun 2, 2014

you get what you pay for

Changed rooms 3 times! First room had trash all in it.. maids forgot to finish cleaning it. 2nd room had hair all in the shower and bathroom floor Beds were comfortable though. Not a luxury hotel by no means and the location is basically in the hood. It is also at the dead part of the riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
badger bagpiper
Business
milwaukee Wi.
May 29, 2014

could use help

I was given a room no refieg.or microwave My wifi didn`t work and when told about it they said they would fix it.ALL 8 days without wifi. the shower wouldn`t shut off and told them about this I was told they would fix it they didn`t. my room faced a security light that was on every night.When asked about ALL these things the hotel blamed the booking site saying they book the first available room I`ll try another place next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
imanA
Business
houston TX
May 27, 2014

smelly room

it was my worst experience when I enter the room it was smell like mold. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Antonio Movers
Business
San Anonio
May 24, 2014

one year anniversery

this was a great hotel. I just moved to san Antonio and my bf was visiting from MN and we stayed at this hotel for our one year anniversary. On the riverwalk to downtown was a bit of a walk but definitely doable. It wasn't to long at all. WE loved this amazing hotel with a great location and enjoyed our anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The downtown riverwalk is a bit of a walk but it is worth it. Make sure you visit the riverside comedy club in the rivercenter mall which is walking distance or have an amazing dinner at FOGO (also walking distance unless you are wearing heels)

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
antb89
Business
temple tx
Apr 18, 2014

never again

Where do i start, the elevator buttons was very hard to make work , room was very small, the heater did not work in the room, hope you like cold showers, also the sliding glass door did not lock, the breakfast buffet was a joke $9.95 per person and had very few items to choose from next time i will be staying at onr more close to the riverwalk for the difference in price of the room after parking $18 and breakfast $20 it would have been the same as the hyatt who offers free parking and breakfast not to mention it is on the riverwalk not a little over a mile away... i guess next time i will know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solis in Austin
Business
Ausitn, Texas
Apr 14, 2014

Post Visit Service

I left my medication in the hotel bathroom, and I noticed immediately after I got home. They claimed they didn't find it, along with my other items. While that is possible, it's not likely, since I unpacked immediately upon returning home and called them right away. I offered to pay for express shipping using my credit card to no avail. Disappointing for otherwise a stellar stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieBuss
Business
Wylie
Apr 2, 2014

My Birthday was a Blast!

Spent the weeeknd in San Antonio for my 24th Birthday. $ girls all enjoyed San Antonio. Was a Blast. Will use this hotel again. Close to Riverwalk. Easy to get to river. Easy to find. Great parking. Thanks for a great memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Chavez
Business
Houston
Apr 1, 2014

LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told the front desk that I felt the room was too small and they said no problem mam come on down stairs and we will have a new keys for a new room waiting, the room give to us was much more specious and I loved every bit of the trip and the hospitality if I could I would rate the a 12 out of 10... Very satisfied customer!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andermar
Business
Sioux City, Iowa
Mar 19, 2014

Experience at El Tropicano

Upon our arrival we were told we couldn't check in until 4:00, but neglected to tell us that they would keep our bags. We had to ask. The second day, the coffee pot quit working, so we asked for a replacement and it arrived after we left for the day. When we returned to our room that night we had the new coffee pot, but no coffee. When we took showers the next morning there was only one towel. The front desk staff weren't the friendliest and seemed to act as if they were being inconvenienced when asked a question. The restaurant wasn't open in the evening, as stated and there was no menu available. Next time I will pay the extra $200 to be closer to the River Walk and other local attractions. Don't plan to return to the El Tropicano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in a hotel closer.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JImmy11
Business
Austin
Mar 18, 2014

retro

I had to cancel a room at another hotel and found this one at the last minute. I truly enjoy the retro feel and had two balconies and the plants and lobby was great and staff were sharp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top