$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
242 reviews
Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. See full review

  • NCBeachBum
  • Jul 17, 2014
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (242)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
242 out of 242
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Hernandez
Business
Mexico
Feb 17, 2014

Worst experience ever!

Dirty, tacky, horrible bathrooms, filthy rugs on the hall and in the bedroom. DON'T GO THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sushi zushi, very good restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pprrpete
Business
Troy Michigan
Jan 30, 2014

El Tropicano Stay

This was a great experience. The hotel was spacious and comfortable. It was a bit of a walk to downtown in the very cold weather. But the cold was unusual. The staff were plentiful and very courteous. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AGUILA
Business
DALLAS
Jan 28, 2014

Over charged

Not recommended due to excessive fees to be paid at the time of checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you get it in writing that breakfast is included and make sure they know it, otherwise, you will be paying $9.99 for each person eating breakfast at its dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul Wicke
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Jan 27, 2014

Poor

We called the hotel and ask about things in the room , we were told they have them in the room (lighted mirror hair dryer and etc. when we got there only 1item was in the room. There was mold in the bathroom , I called and ask to have it clean, it was no to my standards, because there was still mold in the bathroom. Also not enough bath towels were in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Guy B.
Business
Houston Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Disappointed in hotel room and location

Hotel was off the beaten path. Location was a little sketchy. Hotel room needed a lot of attention! Tile in bathroom was severely chipped, bathtub was stained, wallpaper was coming off wall, heavy dust was all over baseboards and the bath tub was very slow to drain. I would not recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy82
Business
Houston
Jan 20, 2014

Not worth the price

Initially I reserved a room with a view of the Riverwalk including a queen size bed. Well when I arrived I instead was told that they only had 2 double beds available none of which had a riverwalk view. After I insisted and even gave the name of one of the employees I spoke with to confirm, she finally decided to give me a room with a partial view of the riverwalk but it faced a bunch of buildings. Also, this hotel is quite a ways from the main area of the Riverwalk. Definitely not an ideal location if you want to be close to the various restaurants and activities of the Riverwalk. The condition of the room was decent/fair. However, I do not think it is anywhere worth the price. I would have rather spent an additional $30-50 bucks for a luxury hotel room with a name I am more familiar with. Lastly the walls are soooo thin. I had the unfortunate experience of having noisy neighbors in which they stayed up and had a good ole time until about 3:47a. We could hear everything crystal clear...The sad thing is it wasn't even like they had music or the television blaring. It was just them up talking and enjoyng themselves. You can't call and tell the front desk to tell people in the room next to you to shut up right? So that just tells you how thin the walls are. Overall I would NOT go back there UNLESS they slashed their prices in half at minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria Navy Mom
Business
Tallahassee, Florida
Jan 14, 2014

My stay at El Tropicano Hotel

I loved the hotel, the staff was wonderful as well as the location. My only Complain is the following: The first night of my stay I ask a staff member if I could burn incense and I was told I could. At about midnight I was woken up by security asking me if I was burning g incense, To which I said yes. He told me it was a smoke free hotel and that included incense. I informed him that I had asked the front desk and they had said yes. He told me that if the hotel said yes, then I could. I assumed the issue was resolved even though I was a little upset about being woken up at that time. I went back to sleep only to be woken up again, this time it was the front desk. This time they said I couldn't burn incense and that the employee I had spoken to was new and had misinformed me. The last night I was they the room was freezing, I called the front twice and each time they told me they would take care of it immediately. They did nothing to solve the issue! At 11:30pm, I ended up turning off the a/c unit and I went to bed with my coat on. When I checked out I informed the front desk about my disappointment. They were very accommodating and gave me a free night. I would have preferred having a goodnight sleep, however I appreciated what they did. All in all I would still recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back:-) .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.7mls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southutahguy
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 1, 2014

The not so special weekend getaway

Went to San Antonio for the first time. Saw this hotel on the river walk. Thought it would be a great get away in a classic hotel. The staff was very nice and we were able to bring our dog for a small fee. Although we are on the Riverwalk we were about ½ mile from the main area of the Riverwalk. The room was average and the walls were thin. thus we listened to the neighbors TV until 2 am! Although Security did take care of the issue when we finally complained. The staff was all friendly and helpful. The hotel was just slightly underwhelming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unionboss
Business
Houston,Texas
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasure and Business

Excellent place to stay and great service. I will visit again and tell all my friends about this great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
javierbeev
Business
Beeville
Dec 16, 2013

Better Then Good !

Clean rooms, helpful staff, Very Good Parking, and located next to all the good sight seeing Hot Spots in Central San Antonio Tx. River Taxi is the way to go. Which can pick up and drop off at the El Tropicano, and can also, Taxi you thru all the local sights located along the River Walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Market square mall is a two block walk from the River walk point, very walkable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top