$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
261 out of 261
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caret
Friends
Denver, CO
Sep 22, 2014

Lot's of excercise walking everywhere

The hotel was decent - but not what we expected from the reviews online. The location was about a mile & a half from the main riverwalk restaurant/nightlife area so we had to walk alot the first day. Only stayed 1 night - moved to a different hotel that was closer after the 1st night. Staff was very friendly - but hotel had an "older" feel and was not what we were looking for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

not close to main riverwalk attraction area...

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandmommie
Couples
South Carolina
Aug 27, 2014

A Little Let Down

The check in was fine, but was more worn around the edges than the photo's showed. Bathroom was very small and couldn't believe the toilet was the low style with no tank and the long handle at the seat. Would have been nice to have a small Frig. as there was room for it. The location was O.K. as the River Boat Taxi's were easy to catch. For the price it was just average but at the most I would rat this a 3 star..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are so many delicious places to eat on the river walk. We didn't have a bad meal from steak to seafood to BBQ Brisket..It was all great..

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewJerseyNacho
Family
New Jersey
Aug 20, 2014

My summer Vacation

The staff was excellence, very friendly and very helpful... the rooms were nice and clean..... would stay in this hotel again... had a great vacation...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zeke956
Couples
Brownsville texas
Aug 15, 2014

1st vaction as bf n gf

We arrived at the hotel checked in. We had booked a single queen bed and were told that they were booked and only had a double twin bed. We asked why? And were told that they only garantee room avaliabilty but not the type of room, disappointed at first the maneger compted our parking and breakfeast for our entire stay which was a value of 180 and told us they would have the type of room we reserved ready for us. The following day we moved to our queen size room which was a lot bigger and nicer and it was on the 6th floor. It is not close to the main plaza of the the river walk its about a 15 or 20 min walk we liked our stay and would definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Ripleys believe it or not u can purches three for one for 30 dollers u get to go to the wax muesum the 4d theather and the ripleys muesum

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel too much too
Business
Texas
Aug 12, 2014

August in San Antonio

The staff was friendly and helpful from check in till check out. The building was old and worn out, it can be retro in style and still be updated to modern comforts. The hotel is about 50 years old and looks every minute of it. It was 4 star price with 2 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S Ivy
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Aug 12, 2014

Last minute get a way

The hotel staff was great. The hotel had a cozy feel to it. I only wish the Tiki Bar had stayed open later. By the time we came from seeing the local attractions and was ready to relax by the pool the bar was closed. All the brouchers stated it would close at 12-midnight but it was closed by 10:00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Park at a location that is in walking distance to all the downtown river walk attractions. It will be worth it!!!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ryan09
Family
Port Lavaca, TX
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

This hotel is an average hotel, nothing fancy and not what I expected. The location is good, walk across the street and you're on the river!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jordyn3021
Friends
Houston, TX
Aug 4, 2014

Decent

It was an okay hotel. Nothing special about it. Location was a little misleading. I would have rather stayed elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NCBeachBum
Family
Jacksonville, NC
Jul 17, 2014

Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the trolley. Parking in downtown is a mess.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JN528
Couples
Texarkana, AR
Jul 17, 2014

Nice enough for young couple.

Great place, great location (only about 10 minute walk from the shops), and fun vibe. Stay for 3 nights and had no problems. The staff was super helpful and polite! Our room could have been nicer but we did pay less then most places along the Riverwalk, so can't complain too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top