$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
235 reviews
Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. See full review

  • NCBeachBum
  • Jul 17, 2014
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (235)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
235 out of 235
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieBuss
Wylie
Apr 2, 2014

My Birthday was a Blast!

Spent the weeeknd in San Antonio for my 24th Birthday. $ girls all enjoyed San Antonio. Was a Blast. Will use this hotel again. Close to Riverwalk. Easy to get to river. Easy to find. Great parking. Thanks for a great memory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Chavez
Houston
Apr 1, 2014

LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told the front desk that I felt the room was too small and they said no problem mam come on down stairs and we will have a new keys for a new room waiting, the room give to us was much more specious and I loved every bit of the trip and the hospitality if I could I would rate the a 12 out of 10... Very satisfied customer!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
awils
Maryland
Mar 24, 2014

Great place!

Really nice place. I liked the tropical/ethnic flare it had. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very nice. Close enough to the river that we never had to drive our car the whole time we were visiting River Walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andermar
Sioux City, Iowa
Mar 19, 2014

Experience at El Tropicano

Upon our arrival we were told we couldn't check in until 4:00, but neglected to tell us that they would keep our bags. We had to ask. The second day, the coffee pot quit working, so we asked for a replacement and it arrived after we left for the day. When we returned to our room that night we had the new coffee pot, but no coffee. When we took showers the next morning there was only one towel. The front desk staff weren't the friendliest and seemed to act as if they were being inconvenienced when asked a question. The restaurant wasn't open in the evening, as stated and there was no menu available. Next time I will pay the extra $200 to be closer to the River Walk and other local attractions. Don't plan to return to the El Tropicano.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay in a hotel closer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JImmy11
Business
Austin
Mar 18, 2014

retro

I had to cancel a room at another hotel and found this one at the last minute. I truly enjoy the retro feel and had two balconies and the plants and lobby was great and staff were sharp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
V Doub
Houston
Mar 17, 2014

OK - Vacation Stay

Small rooms, Tight walkways and a long long way from family action around River Walk. Rooms were clean, but Hallways need some work. Washrooms are tiny. Overall - OK. If you can't find anything in San An, I say you can get this for an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
opkp
Hot Springs, AR
Mar 17, 2014

over priced riverwalk

As this was our third visit to the riverwalk hotels we were expecting more for the price and location. While it was on the river walk, the hotel was very far from the main festivities requiring a long walk there and seemingly longer walk back. The walk back late at night was somewhat frightening as there were a couple a homeless who were quite visible giving us a feeling of insecurity. The hotel itself while it was clean, had a "used" look and feeling especially the carpet in the halls. We will not go back to same hotel. We will come back to the walk, but stay closer to the main walk area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shannonCJ
San Marcos Texas
Mar 13, 2014

Great value

I travel to San Antonio often and always saty at the El Tropicano. The price is right and the staff are super helpful. If you are an LGBT person the El Trop is super close to the bars and some really great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shannon y.
Santa Fe, TX
Mar 10, 2014

Great Price and Friendly!

Great hotel with a view! Comfortable rooms and great breakfast! Love the retro look! Would stay here again! Need to fix pool heater though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take trolley if you need to instead of walking. It comes right up to hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tika C
Edmond, Oklahoma
Mar 5, 2014

Old hotel and expensive

Please stay at the Elsewhere. This hotel is very old. Carpet is dusty and worn out. And they don't have CENTRAL HVAC!! D-OH!!! What is this? 1985?! The room is small and the split AC is located above my bed so it was too hot but when I turned it off, it became too cold because of the weather. Never coming bck! Expensive! But it is located near the riverwalk that is the only good thing about it. Don't think about saving money just go to a decent hotel near the riverwalk. I bought the package from orb*tz thinking i would save money but it's not worth it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search