$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
239 reviews
Marvelous!

Great facilities; great staff; great location. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. See full review

  • NCBeachBum
  • Jul 17, 2014
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingjp11
Business
Seattle wa
Jun 16, 2014

Graduation

We had a great time and all of the staff was friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway'er
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Jun 14, 2014

Good location, very friendly staff

We checked in after a very long drive from Southern California, straight to San Antonio. I looked up hotels by the Riverwalk on Yelp and this came up with good reviews so I booked it on our drive through town. When we arrived, we noticed that the hotel was not directly on the main part of the Riverwalk where all the activities are, but was right next to the walkway to it. In all, we found it it was a five minute walk to get to all the restaurants, bars and shops that the Riverwalk is known for. When we checked in, both the bellhop and the front desk people were very nice and accommodating. We chatted with them about our travels and got our room keys and parking instructions. We were towing a uHaul behind a truck and were really worried about parking, especially staying downtown and by the Riverwalk. The hotel had a side lot that was easily accessible and we had no problems with parking. We went up to our second floor room and didn't see any problems with it. The room was neat and clean and nice and cool. We had a view overlooking the river, which was nice. The room clearly was not new or modern but the hotel also lists this in the add online so I was not expecting much. The places around are room were pretty cool too. They have the pool right in the center with a hot tub but also in the hallways they had little balconies with tables and chairs that were open to anyone who wanted to use them. We saw some groups of family and friends sitting out there with a couple beers, chatting and enjoying the night. After dinner and exploring the Riverwalk, we came back to the hotel bar for a night cap. We had just caught the bartender before closing and got two drinks; a martini and a scotch. Both were good and we sat and talked for a bit while she closed up the bar. After she had everything closed down and was ready to leave, at our surprise, she asked us if we wanted one last round. Seemed to me that she really didn't have to do that and it would mean getting out some things that she just put away. She also could have just left and went home. Instead, she made us one last drink. We only stayed one night and most of our time was spent at the River walk and exploring downtown. As I said before, it is about a 5 minute walk to the River walk. It is also about a 5 minute walk to the Alamo. In all, our stay was very nice, made much nicer by the staff and the great location for a cheaper price than you would pay to be right on the River walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourdo's on the River Walk. It's right on the river, with outdoor seating and they have a blackened prime-rib. Gotta have it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nette84
Business
Houston, Tx
Jun 14, 2014

Birthday getaway

Came to celebrate sons 6th bday. We enjoyed to convince of the riverwalk. Had a blast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.A. Visitor
Business
South TX
Jun 13, 2014

OK Stay at El Tropicano

Our 1st room was right next to the ice machine, that wasn't going to work for us so the staff quickly changed the room for us. The room was really nice & clean. They did forget to clean the refrigerator as there was a drink left from the past quests. The air condition unit was pretty loud and the air hit me directly - which made it too cold! Over all it was "o.k". The location is very far from the actual restaurant area riverwalk (walking distance). But the trolleys pass by every 15-20 minutes, it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Cuda
Business
Dallas,texas
Jun 11, 2014

Good couple getaway

Nice looking hotel close to major intersections in downtown San Antonio. The view to the river walk is awesome at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the parking pass

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mags1819
Business
Brownwood tx
Jun 10, 2014

It was alright

The rooms were fair. We were excited about the tiki bar by the pool but to our disappointment they "just weren't opening it that day". Other than that a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tan J
Business
San Antonio, tx
Jun 9, 2014

Enjoyable

The experience was good. You can tell it was renovated and will need more work, but for the price... Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gladys Ha
Business
Washington
Jun 9, 2014

Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors splashes around the place. The Latin music playing in the elevator inspired impromptu dance parties with our 2 year old. The room was clean and comfy as was the pool. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Time away from home
Business
Corpus Christi, TX
Jun 3, 2014

Great Comfort - Too Noisey

Very small room, beds were comfortable, but could hear all the noise from the street below us. Had to pay $10.00 for breakfast -but for that price it could of have more food selections. Some staff was better then others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeremyw
Business
dallas tx
Jun 2, 2014

you get what you pay for

Changed rooms 3 times! First room had trash all in it.. maids forgot to finish cleaning it. 2nd room had hair all in the shower and bathroom floor Beds were comfortable though. Not a luxury hotel by no means and the location is basically in the hood. It is also at the dead part of the riverwalk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top