$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

4 stars
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
300 reviews
Fun atmosphere

Walking into the lobby was like being transported to Miami. The lobby was bright with fun colors... See full review

  • Gladys Ha
  • Jun 9, 2014
LAST MIN ROAD TRIP

Loved the way the hotel was ready for us to come in at 4pm and we actually had a room reserved told... See full review

  • A.Chavez
  • Apr 1, 2014
1960s flair with tiki bar and modern conveniences on the River Walk
The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel opened in 1962 and remains the same as the first day it opened; sparkly chic and surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. A recent multi-million dollar renovation updated furniture and amenities. There are 306 guest rooms and 11 suites. Several dining and libation options are in-house and kids under 12 eat free. Wireless Internet is free throughout the hotel and a business center offers several services. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the fitness center.
Highlights
  • Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5-7:30pm
  • Latin and American cuisine is served at Mango's, kids under 12 eat free
  • Go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods, or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar
  • Heated, outdoor pool, and 3,000-square-foot fitness center
  • 15 meeting rooms offer a combined 37,000 sq. ft. of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Rooms

The 306 guest rooms and 11 suites have been recently redecorated in a contemporary style with bright accents of chili and tasteful dark wood. Views may be overlooking the San Antonio River, swimming pool or glittering downtown skyline. Free high-speed wireless Internet is available in all rooms throughout the El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel. All rooms are equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, telephones with two lines and data ports, and full-size desks. A flat-screen color television with an expanded cable lineup is also in each room. Guests choose a king or two full beds. Suites have raised platform beds.

Features

The presidential suite was often occupied by President Lyndon B. Johnson and was dubbed "The Texas White House" during that era. Guests go for coffee drinks, rich baked goods or smoothies and fresh fruit at Expresso Coffee Bar. Kids under 12 eat free with their parents at the in-house Latin-inspired restaurant, Mango's. The Tiki Bar serves top-shelf tequilas and rums on its riverside patio; happy hour runs from 5 to 7:30 p.m. Toucans are seen at the aviary. Guests swim in the heated, outdoor pool or work out at the 3,000-square-foot STRIVE Fitness Studio. A business center offers faxing, copying and printing services. The El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel has 15 meeting rooms that offer a combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.1 mi./11.5 km)
Attractions
  • Alamo (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center (0.6 mi./1 km)
  • Market Square (0.7 mi./1.2 km)
  • Tower of the Americas (0.9 mi./1.5 km)
  • Alamodome (1.1 mi./1.8 km)
  • San Antonio Zoo (2.4 mi./3.8 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in rooms and throughout hotel
  • Business center offers faxing, copying and printing services.
  • 15 meeting rooms offer combined 37,000 square feet of meeting space. Groups of 10 to 1,000 can be accommodated.
Policies and fees
  • Parking fees are $18 per night
  • Photo ID and credit card are required on check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room offers 1 king bed with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.
Standard Room
Standard Room offers 2 double beds with Desk, 37-inch flat screen television, Cable television service, Premium television channel(s), Voice mail, Clock radio, Coffee/tea maker, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board, Complimentary weekday newspaper, Air conditioning, Climate control, Window opens, Non-smoking only and Daily housekeeping.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4323 -98.4883
Area served
San Antonio.
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport - 13 miles.
Area description
Located downtown just off the Riverwalk and close to all San Antonio Attractions.

Nearby points of interest

  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Alamo: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.5 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 1 mi
  • Alamodome: 1.2 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.1 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.5 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.6 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.9 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 3 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.6 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.9 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.4 mi
  • Sea World: 12.9 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.3 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 14.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting space available for groups up to 1,0000.

Dining

Mango's Restaurant
Guests can enjoy latin and american-infused dishes in mangos hotel's full service restaurant. Children 12 years and younger eat free from the childrens menu with a paying adult.maximum of 2 children per couple.
Expresso Cafe
In the mood for a latte smoothie the Expresso Cafe is the place to visit.Also enjoy breakfast lunch and desserts from Cafe located off the main lobby area.Expresso opens out onto a scenic terrace overlooking the beautiful Riverwalk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (300)

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
legend
ocala, fl
Apr 16, 2012

overnight riverwalk hotel

The hotel room was very nice. Meals could have been better. Saturday evening there were no meals being served in the main dining room. We had to order some sandwiches from the snack bar, which was very average at best. Do not understand why the Mango dining room was not open at 6:00 p.m., when it was supposed to be. The room was very nice. however the bathroom was quite small and had very little counter space. It did not have any exhaust fan or other ventilation system, which also made it feel sort of "claustrophobic".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

meals were pretty good....could be better

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NL12
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Could be a little better

Nice hotel, not too inviting from the outside. Clean rooms, small bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthony E.
McAllen, Texas
Mar 27, 2012

Great Weekend

Went to celebrate my girlfriend birthday for the weekend. As soon as we got there to check in, we were greeted and customer service were very friendly. They had friendly staff helping us with our luggages. Rooms were very clean, great view from our room towards downtown. The only bad thing was, no refrigerator in the room and the price for parking. Good thing we had our ice chest, and plus, we valet parking. But overall, it is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minia
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

It was ok

It was too far from the restaurants on the river walk and the mall...I don't believe it's a 4-star hotel because the paint on the walls and bathroom door were chipping....not 4-star quality....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minia
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Not great

Not the best.......the only gd thing was it was very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laurene
Fort Collins, CO, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Outdated

There was funky loud music playing by pool at all hours, annoying. We "shared" a balcony with another room- awkward! There is a restaurant, open only for breakfast buffet. The pool was too cold to enjoy- & no hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mendreka
Corpus Christi, TX, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Nice Hotel!

Our stay was pleasant, the staff was very friendly, room was clean. Some say hotel is outdated but I didn't think so. Reminded me of a hotel from the 70's but in a modern setting. I would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the downtown area, they are easily accessible and the cost is less than $10.00 !

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linette
New York, NY, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Disappointed!

The hotel is very pretty and clean but unfortunately it is too far from the center of the river walk, where all the shops and restaurants are. Another issue that we had was the elevator. We were not closed to it but we keep hear it coming up and down. Also when some one flush the toilet you can hear it, so it was very annoying trying to get some sleep. There was not refrigerator or microwave. I travel with my 20 months old so I needed a fridge for his milk. Over all I am not impress and I won't think I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The restaurant Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery. Delicious food, great service and decent price. Right in the Market place.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bt48219
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

outdated, disorganized.

Made the reservations 6 weeks in advance and paid in full only to arrive and be told they are over booked and don't have a room for me. They put me up across the street which turned out to be nicer hotel for less money. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lexidillysmom
Beeville, TX 78102, USA
Feb 14, 2012

couples getaway

check in was at 4, but we were not able to get the room we chose because it would not be done until much much later. they did give us a room with a king size bed though. rooms were not big at all. we were in town to see stuff not sit in our rooms though so it was fine. very very good price. i am not sure if i would recommend it to a friend. its further down the river walk than id liked to walk being pregnant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you have a good sense of humor then you should definetly go eat at Dicks Last Resort. Great food and me and my husband had a blast.

Back to menu Return to top