$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy82
Couples
Houston
Jan 20, 2014

Not worth the price

Initially I reserved a room with a view of the Riverwalk including a queen size bed. Well when I arrived I instead was told that they only had 2 double beds available none of which had a riverwalk view. After I insisted and even gave the name of one of the employees I spoke with to confirm, she finally decided to give me a room with a partial view of the riverwalk but it faced a bunch of buildings. Also, this hotel is quite a ways from the main area of the Riverwalk. Definitely not an ideal location if you want to be close to the various restaurants and activities of the Riverwalk. The condition of the room was decent/fair. However, I do not think it is anywhere worth the price. I would have rather spent an additional $30-50 bucks for a luxury hotel room with a name I am more familiar with. Lastly the walls are soooo thin. I had the unfortunate experience of having noisy neighbors in which they stayed up and had a good ole time until about 3:47a. We could hear everything crystal clear...The sad thing is it wasn't even like they had music or the television blaring. It was just them up talking and enjoyng themselves. You can't call and tell the front desk to tell people in the room next to you to shut up right? So that just tells you how thin the walls are. Overall I would NOT go back there UNLESS they slashed their prices in half at minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria Navy Mom
Family
Tallahassee, Florida
Jan 14, 2014

My stay at El Tropicano Hotel

I loved the hotel, the staff was wonderful as well as the location. My only Complain is the following: The first night of my stay I ask a staff member if I could burn incense and I was told I could. At about midnight I was woken up by security asking me if I was burning g incense, To which I said yes. He told me it was a smoke free hotel and that included incense. I informed him that I had asked the front desk and they had said yes. He told me that if the hotel said yes, then I could. I assumed the issue was resolved even though I was a little upset about being woken up at that time. I went back to sleep only to be woken up again, this time it was the front desk. This time they said I couldn't burn incense and that the employee I had spoken to was new and had misinformed me. The last night I was they the room was freezing, I called the front twice and each time they told me they would take care of it immediately. They did nothing to solve the issue! At 11:30pm, I ended up turning off the a/c unit and I went to bed with my coat on. When I checked out I informed the front desk about my disappointment. They were very accommodating and gave me a free night. I would have preferred having a goodnight sleep, however I appreciated what they did. All in all I would still recommend this hotel and I will definitely be back:-) .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

.7mls

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southutahguy
Houston, TX
Jan 1, 2014

The not so special weekend getaway

Went to San Antonio for the first time. Saw this hotel on the river walk. Thought it would be a great get away in a classic hotel. The staff was very nice and we were able to bring our dog for a small fee. Although we are on the Riverwalk we were about ½ mile from the main area of the Riverwalk. The room was average and the walls were thin. thus we listened to the neighbors TV until 2 am! Although Security did take care of the issue when we finally complained. The staff was all friendly and helpful. The hotel was just slightly underwhelming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
unionboss
Couples
Houston,Texas
Dec 31, 2013

Pleasure and Business

Excellent place to stay and great service. I will visit again and tell all my friends about this great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
javierbeev
Couples
Beeville
Dec 16, 2013

Better Then Good !

Clean rooms, helpful staff, Very Good Parking, and located next to all the good sight seeing Hot Spots in Central San Antonio Tx. River Taxi is the way to go. Which can pick up and drop off at the El Tropicano, and can also, Taxi you thru all the local sights located along the River Walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Market square mall is a two block walk from the River walk point, very walkable.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimmyO
Family
Green Baq, WI
Dec 6, 2013

Nice location

This hotel is located on the riverwalk between the "museum" portion of the riverwalk and the "downtown" portion of the riverwalk. A nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have lunch at Blanco's.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparky mom isu
Family
chi-town
Nov 28, 2013

mom and daughter weekend

I really liked the hotel in general, but more attention to details could go a long way. The curtains on the window were torn on both sides and the wallpaper next to the sink was coming loose! a little glue and some new sheers... great room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the River walk is beautiful

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler123xyz
Business
Midwest
Nov 25, 2013

Dingy!

The hotel was dingy! The carpets smelled. This is a 2-star hotel at best. For a little bit more money, get a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MelbaH
Couples
Montgomery, Tx.
Nov 19, 2013

Small dirty room.

The room had an odor and the bathroom was tiny. No microwave or mini fridge in the room. The bed linen appeared dirty and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in places. The window was painted shut. It was not worth the nearly $400.00 we paid for two days. Very disappointed in this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAT AF GRAD
Family
Wisconsin
Nov 3, 2013

Texas Get Away

The staf at El Tropicano were excellent! We were bushed by the time we checked in and they couldn't have made our stay any better. They really go out of their way to make you feel like family! The employees gave us great tips on where to eat, how to get to the Air Force Base for visiting our son, information on the city. I can honestly feel they made us feel at home. Great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are visiting a son or daughter that is graduating from basic training DO NOT BUY any attraction tickets. Wait to see what is offered from the Air Force family first. VISIT: Air Force Wing Moms for update to date information. Also, there is a River Taxi and trolley stop right at the hotel. Excellent place to stay!!!!

Back to menu Return to top