$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jstream
Business
San Antonio
Oct 28, 2013

Close to everything!

Loved our stay ! Close to the riverwalk , got on the river taxi to the Pearl Brewry restaurants . No problems getting back to hotel by river taxi ! Everything catered to our enjoyment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All shacked up in SA
Business
Houston TX
Oct 22, 2013

I wasn't wowed

The hotel was just ok. Nothing to get excited about. This is an old building that has been remodeled but not completely. The bar area is wack with torn seat cushions. The room patio door was extremely hard to access. The lamps and bathroom shelf were dusty. Hair in shower. The lobby flowers are soooooo plastic and outdated. The checkin lady wasn't friendly but not mean., just not too helpful to an out of towner. Also, for the distance to where things are really happening, a single queen room shouldn't have been no more than $99. The photographer for the site definitely did this place justice but It's just not what I expected.. especially for 4 star or the price! ijs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a longer than expected walk to the action so I suggest traveling via taxi. Eat, drink and try to party on the Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. T.S.
Business
La Quinta, CA
Oct 2, 2013

Location good. Ageing property. Watch out for parking fee's!

Room was adequate, albiet small! Distance from parking lot to room was a marathon. Better wear your track shoes. Be sure and ask for extra towels,, as they really skimp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nemesis Nate
Business
Tampa, Fl
Sep 23, 2013

Outstanding getaway

Loved almost everything about this hotel. The only downside I would have to mention was the room was a little small and I was not a fan of the parking situation. Other than that, greatly impressed by the professionalism shown by the staff and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Muggie
Business
Dallas, Texas
Sep 23, 2013

comfy, scenic getaway

The hotel had a good location on the river walk with cozy seating areas overlooking it. The rooms were nice and the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The TV reception and picture was great. There was everything you needed and the staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Memphis 1
Business
Memphis, TN
Sep 16, 2013

Good Value

The staff was great here. Even though on Riverwalk it is not in the active part and quite a ways from it. Hotel is quaint but looking outdated in the rooms. Lot of construction going on around it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Memommie
Business
Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Adequate place

We had a great time. The hotel although not swank was adequate. I loved the view from the balcony, and the pool and area around it was very nice. We walked to Riverwalk and although hotel was on Riverwalk, it was a 25 minute walk to shopping/restaurant area. It was a nice walk for the exercize but got a little long in the rain. The small food/snack cafe was pretty overpriced, and the breakfast buffet for $9.95 was kinda like the free breakfast at a mote lchain except they did cook our eggs to order. We valet parked on Saturday and when we went to checkout on Tuesday, the desk clerk said "we dont have valet parking today" and it took about 20 minutes to get our keys and car back. The $18 a day parking was pretty high. All considered, however, we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Dont plan to shop in a hurry as it takes awhile to get to shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StingRayRio
Business
Houston Texas
Sep 3, 2013

First and last visit

Paying a premiun price for average service. Definitely not a 4 star, 2.5 at best. Save your money and check in at the Drury, Westin or Marriot. Yes you are on the Riverwalk but you are a mile and a half from the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest 2013
Business
College Station, Texas
Aug 26, 2013

Great Family weekend in San Antonio

Nice room, friendly staff, very quite and safe place. We enjoyed the river walk on sunday morning from the Hotel to the Alamo. We had the breakfast in the Hotel and it was delicious...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some good restaurants on the river walk near downtown area...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tia K.
Business
Arizona
Aug 21, 2013

Family gathering

This hotel is very unsatisfactory...........cold air which was not adjustable blowing on each bed, very noisy inside and out after mid-night, poor location, expensive parking fees, expensive mediocre breakfast, non-professional staff, poorly appointed bathroom, dingy and unclean, poorly functioning toilet, non-working elevator buttons, expensive limited room service menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top