$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3 stars
View map of 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
280 out of 280
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
javierbeev
Business
Beeville
Dec 16, 2013

Better Then Good !

Clean rooms, helpful staff, Very Good Parking, and located next to all the good sight seeing Hot Spots in Central San Antonio Tx. River Taxi is the way to go. Which can pick up and drop off at the El Tropicano, and can also, Taxi you thru all the local sights located along the River Walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Market square mall is a two block walk from the River walk point, very walkable.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimmyO
Business
Green Baq, WI
Dec 6, 2013

Nice location

This hotel is located on the riverwalk between the "museum" portion of the riverwalk and the "downtown" portion of the riverwalk. A nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have lunch at Blanco's.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparky mom isu
Business
chi-town
Nov 28, 2013

mom and daughter weekend

I really liked the hotel in general, but more attention to details could go a long way. The curtains on the window were torn on both sides and the wallpaper next to the sink was coming loose! a little glue and some new sheers... great room!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the River walk is beautiful

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler123xyz
Business
Midwest
Nov 25, 2013

Dingy!

The hotel was dingy! The carpets smelled. This is a 2-star hotel at best. For a little bit more money, get a better deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycjohn
Business
new york, new york
Nov 24, 2013

OK by Me

The small things that happened were minor but the pool was freezing. Understand the heater was fried but shouldn't take 5 days to fix. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the streets for walking not The Riverwalk for saving time.

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MelbaH
Business
Montgomery, Tx.
Nov 19, 2013

Small dirty room.

The room had an odor and the bathroom was tiny. No microwave or mini fridge in the room. The bed linen appeared dirty and the wallpaper was peeling off the wall in places. The window was painted shut. It was not worth the nearly $400.00 we paid for two days. Very disappointed in this stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SAT AF GRAD
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 3, 2013

Texas Get Away

The staf at El Tropicano were excellent! We were bushed by the time we checked in and they couldn't have made our stay any better. They really go out of their way to make you feel like family! The employees gave us great tips on where to eat, how to get to the Air Force Base for visiting our son, information on the city. I can honestly feel they made us feel at home. Great job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

If you are visiting a son or daughter that is graduating from basic training DO NOT BUY any attraction tickets. Wait to see what is offered from the Air Force family first. VISIT: Air Force Wing Moms for update to date information. Also, there is a River Taxi and trolley stop right at the hotel. Excellent place to stay!!!!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capwell5
Business
Green Bay, WI
Oct 29, 2013

Mother daughter trip

Took my 11 year old daughter to San Antonio and we stayed here. She loved all the color in the lobby. It's very fun and bright looking. We had a room overlooking the pool which was also sweet! Pool was freezing cold but she swam 3 days anyway. We were able to walk to the main Riverwalk area which was perfect but it would be a hike for anyone really young, old or with a handicap. Staff was average to good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Segway tours were awesome and so fun!

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jstream
Business
San Antonio
Oct 28, 2013

Close to everything!

Loved our stay ! Close to the riverwalk , got on the river taxi to the Pearl Brewry restaurants . No problems getting back to hotel by river taxi ! Everything catered to our enjoyment!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
All shacked up in SA
Business
Houston TX
Oct 22, 2013

I wasn't wowed

The hotel was just ok. Nothing to get excited about. This is an old building that has been remodeled but not completely. The bar area is wack with torn seat cushions. The room patio door was extremely hard to access. The lamps and bathroom shelf were dusty. Hair in shower. The lobby flowers are soooooo plastic and outdated. The checkin lady wasn't friendly but not mean., just not too helpful to an out of towner. Also, for the distance to where things are really happening, a single queen room shouldn't have been no more than $99. The photographer for the site definitely did this place justice but It's just not what I expected.. especially for 4 star or the price! ijs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a longer than expected walk to the action so I suggest traveling via taxi. Eat, drink and try to party on the Riverwalk.

Back to menu Return to top