$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

4 stars
View map of 105 South Saint Marys Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
369 out of 369
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hpy Trvlr
Business
Maumee, OH
Mar 28, 2014

2 night family vaca in San Antonio

Overall, I was very pleased with this Drury. All the reviews I had read were great and I have to agree for the most part they were accurate. I will start with the pros of my stay here: Pros: 1. Location: right on the riverwalk. We could walk anywhere from here. Right on the beautiful riverwalk. Short 4 block street walk (or could've taken riverwalk but it was longer route) to the Rivercenter Mall. Easy walk to Alamo. 2. Perks: 3 free drinks, breakfast and nightly kickback (more like a supper ) were great free perks! 3. Pool. We only made it in to the rooftop hot tub once but it was a great view. Indoor pool and hot tub avail also. 4. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Gave us umbrellas when we wanted to walk to the mall and it was raining/windy. Helped us order Spurs tickets. Cons: 1 Housekeeping. We had out do not disturb sign on till around 1pm one day. We told the front desk we were going to be out and that we had removed our do not disturb sign. They cheerfully said they would request our room to be cleaned. I in fact even heard the front desk girl, as we were walking away, telephone saying our room number that we needed housekeeping. When we got back around 5pm no one had been there. Our unmade beds and piles of our used towels was not an inviting sight upon returning. However, it is vacation so I didn't want to be grumpy or upset. No big deal I thought. I will just request more towels. They brought us bath sized towels up quickly. However. later that evening, we realized we were out of tissues, face towels and handtowels. Called the front desk around 9pm and asked, they said sure. We waited a good hour, became tired and wanted to go to bed. I figured they forgot so I put the do not disturb sign up. My thoughts were if they remembered too late, I did not want to be disturbed while were sleeping. Had an early flight out the next morning. Well sure enough, around 11 pm our phone rings!! (as we are asleep!!) A disgruntled man states "Did you request towels? " I stated "Yes I did a long time ago. We waited a long time and no one came so we gave up and went to bed". The disgruntled man then stated "well I have someone out there with your towels but he can't knock on your door with your do not disturb sign on the door". SERIOUSLY??!!! But this guy can CALL me and wake my family up. I was upset. This incident was poorly handled but other than this, I did like the hotel in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dallas homebody
Business
Dallas
Mar 13, 2014

perfect for the riverwalk

Our entire experience was wonderful. A short distance to the riverwalk, and by short, I mean our four year old could handle the walk. The hotel is hard to miss when you're first coming in. It's very tall with a huge sign above it so you can always find your way back. I loved that the hotel manager helped serve breakfast. I see that as a sign of great leadership. And the rest of the staff was very accommodating. The hotel itself has beautiful architecture. I was in awe in the lobby. Our room was perfect and I can't think of a bad thing to say about any of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The liberty bar is one mile from the hotel and I highly recommend it. Everything we ordered was amazing, including the basic cheeseburger. Also a great piece of history.

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aunnyq
Business
Austin, TX
Feb 23, 2014

Great location! Decent room, drinks and food.

This was a short stay for us, but we had a great time! We had a king standard room. The room overlooked other hotel tops, not a riverwalk view- but that was fine for our purposes. It was right on the riverwalk- literally take the elevator down and you are there! Easy walking to the Alamo. The hotel draws an older crowd, and some with families with children. Not so much for the young scene. The kick back offers 3 free alcoholic drinks from 5:30-7, along with hot/ heavy appetizers. We had baked penne with marinara, meat balls, chips, nacho cheese sauce cut veggies with ranch dip, and a baked potato bar the night we visited. The drinks are not top shelf, but are a very nice addition for pre- gaming! The breakfast was just ok. Scrambled eggs that you could add cheese or ham bits to, sausage patties, freshly made pancakes, bagels, toast, yogurt, oatmeal and cold cereals. Plus coffee tea juice and soda. It's not extravagant, but again a nice touch. The room itself was clean. The bed was softer than I am used to, but provided a decent nights sleep. The bathroom had granite counter tops and great shower pressure and plenty of hot water. (We were on the 10th floor) . No great little mini bottles of shampoo or nice soap but functional pumps of shampoo and body wash. This place isn't super fancy, but it does everything it needs to do, and the customer service is very nice in every department! For the price if stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kh2014
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 18, 2014

Wonderful

Great location, great deal - nice clean hotel. The happy hour is definitely popular and the breakfast was great. Step right out to riverwalk and short walk to Alamo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Indiana Hossiers
Business
Texas
Jan 28, 2014

great place to stay

THIS IS A VERY NICE PLACE TO STAY,EVERTHING WAS JUST GREAT, WE WILL STAY THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leslie in Texas
Business
Coppell, TX
Jan 1, 2014

Nice property

Nice, efficient front desk staff, clean rooms, pleasant valet staff, close to everything: Riverwalk, restaurants, even walking distance to the Alamodome. No issues. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Riverwalk, and to the Alamo.

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Mexico Frenchie
Business
New Mexico
Dec 1, 2013

Our Stay

This was a great experience staying at your hotel . The staff was so very kind and efficient with all services to us . The room was clean and well stocked , but the best perk of all was the free delicious breakfast and the awesome kick-back offered each evening ! The location also couldnt have been better . We will use the Drury Hotels when ever we travel now . gratefully , Anne

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steak lover
Business
Sterling il.
Oct 25, 2013

Fantastic

We had a great time in San Antonio, and the hotel visit really added to the experience. The building is beautiful and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The free breakfast and complementary drinks and evening finger food was excellent. Thanks for adding to our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MandiSue222
Business
Illinois
Sep 30, 2013

Great hotel, excellent location

We stayed at the Drury Plaza and had the best experience! Its a wonderful location, and worth it to stay there for the free breakfast and reception hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kinnion
Business
Waco, Texas
Jun 24, 2013

Quick weekend in San Antonio

Great location for a quick trip to a Broadway show at the Majestic Theatre. A little off the beaten tourist path if you want to avoid the mainstream Riverwalk. Hotel room had been refurb'd and had great fit and finish - but it was NY-sized small. Main lobby had the makings of a grand old hotel before they decided that 3-1/2 star finish was good enough. Rooftop pool has a great view but pool aesthetics were minimal, no ability to order drinks. And ripping hot on a hot day. So overall, I'd give it a 3-1/2 to 4 star rating but I'm a hotel snob.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to Acenar, a great Mexican restaurant and the Majestic Theatre from the hotel, all within 2 blocks of one another. Went down to the Riverwalk for post-theatre glass of wine, very easy logistics.

Back to menu Return to top