$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 21, 2015

Crockett Hotel

3 stars
View map of 320 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
141 reviews
family trip

Loved it here! Perfect location, great staff! Great continental breakfast! The valet staff were... See full review

  • Stranded in san antonio
  • Apr 6, 2015
Location, Location, Location

Wonderful hotel right in the middle of everything. Keurig coffee machine in the room with K cups... See full review

  • Za
  • Mar 26, 2015
Built more than 100 years ago, renovated hotel is just steps from Alamo
The Crockett Hotel provides the best of both worlds: classic old-school charm with brand-new furniture and amenities. The hotel was built on the site where Davy Crockett and his settlers defended the southeast palisade of the Alamo during a 13-day siege in 1836. The Alamo is just steps away and guests walk to the nearby Alamodome or Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The outdoor pool is surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. Guests indulge in a daily complimentary breakfast bar. High-speed wireless Internet is free.
Highlights
  • More than 100 years of history and newly renovated in 2007
  • A mere 18 steps to the Alamo
  • Within walking distance of many San Antonio attractions
  • Complimentary deluxe breakfast bar served daily
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

The Crockett Hotel was first built in 1909, and then added onto in 1927, there are varying floor plans, room styles and suites among the 138 guest rooms. All have been renovated in 2007 and decorated in shades of sage green and cool cream. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, in-room movies and video games, and room service from 11 a.m to 2 a.m.

Features

Ernie's Bar, on the ground floor of the Crockett Hotel, is a close place to unwind. Guests cross the street and use the spa at the sister property, the historic Menger Hotel. The Alamo Plaza spa offers massages, herbal scrubs, wraps, facials, salt glow and other body treatments. A sauna and pool are available as well. The River Walk location connects guests to a myriad of upscale dining and shopping choices, inside the Rivercenter Mall. Being 18 steps from the Alamo and on the site of Davey Crockett's stand will thrill history buffs.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Open-Air San Antonio Trolley (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamo (18 steps away)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Market Square (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Computer workstation available in the lobby
  • The seventh floor is a penthouse set up like a corporate board room, with a large conference table, comfortable leather chairs, gathering area, wet bar, and restroom, flanked by bedrooms
  • "The Alamo Room," is a large meeting/reception room on the ground floor, with seating for up to 150 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Crockett Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Spacious newly renovated room with two Double Beds practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available on request, room service available for lunch/dinner/late night dining. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage.
Standard Double
Spacious double bedded room,ideal for families of 4 or business travel for 2, the two Double Bedded room is comfortable and relaxing. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage. Views may include the Alamo and tropical atrium. Practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available upon request. Enjoy a complimentary upgraded continental breakfast. Room service available for lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Alamo Room offers meeting space for groups up to 50 people,full catering menu available. Executive Board Room with Alamo view on hotel's top floor can accomodate meetings for 20.

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Serves enhanced continental breakfast daily 6:30-10 am
Ernies Bar
Serves cocktail, wine, beer by both bottle and draft 7 days a week Opens at 5 pm
Room Service
Serves wide ranging menu for lunch, dinner and late night from 11 am - 2 am daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crockett Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D F ENGINEER
Business
WACO TX
Jul 30, 2012

GIRL FRIEND BIRTHDAY

LOCATION WAS GREAT HOTEL NOT SO MUCH WANT STAY THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FEW BLOCKS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
does not like $20 parking, urine smells
Business
Austin Texas
Jun 13, 2010

add $20/day for parking

Location is great, literally across the street from The Alamo... but the rooms were mediocre, and considering the price and my experiences with business travel, I strongly feel that I did not get a good deal. [...] find out that it'll cost us an extra $20 each day to park. This is stealing. It's not a lot of money relative to the room rates, but it's the principle of taking my money once I'm locked in and have no choice. Will never stay here again for this one reason. I don't care how great the location is, I don't tolerate hidden fees, especially for a mediocre room. Oh and the breakfast was lousy: powdered eggs, cheap bagels, and some fruit.Best part? Strong smell of aged urine in the halls on the forth floor outside the elevator. Classy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Barney4u
Business
Traverse City, Mi
Sep 18, 2009

The Best of the Best

We used the staff for resturant and other suggestions and got the best there was and would trust anything to these folks due to their dilligence--This is the only place in the world we have stayed to be able to say this! You may find a nicer and cheaper Hotel---but you will never find people like this-----

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the river walk---but not all---

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2008

Very disappointing

The location of the hotel was great. The hotel staff was not very informative at check-in. The room and bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Alamo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walls
Business
Dallas
Nov 7, 2012

Cardboard Sheets

The location is fantastic...that's about it. The sheets are a 200 thread count, at the most. The room needs attention to detail; paint, carpet, wood work, grout. I hope someone takes this seriously someday...the hotel deserves it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Siri Bang Bang
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 20, 2012

Weekend Getaway

I wasn't impressed with the Hotel at all. I thought it would have more character within but the room was small, the beds were hard, it was a bit warm even though I would turn down the temperture, the room remained warm. Room wasn't cleaned until very late in the day on Sunday and we had to get our own towels. I kept my toothbrush head wrapped in paper towel and house keeping threw it away. I don't like people touching my clothes so I left in one place and somehow housekeeping went through my clothes because I found them folded a different way than I had them when I left. A huge arguement went on about 2 o'clock in the morning outside and we heard it all and we were on the 5th floor. Followed by some loud people that were on the same floor as we were on. It seemed that the voices were in our own room so needless to say. we were sleep deprived. Valet was very helpful and front desk was also helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is very close and you are also not too far from The Market. Location was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, tx
Jul 17, 2011

tourist trap

I was not made aware of the $20/day parking fee charged by the hotel until I arrived. There was no small fridge in the room. The hotel didn't offer complimentary internet usage either. Having a view of the lobby wasn't worth the noise I would hear in my room while trying to sleep. The hotel was at the least clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get off the river walk if you want good and reasonably priced food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Apr 22, 2009

Make sure you have paperwork

I had been guaranteed a room with two double beds. When I checked in they only wanted to give me a room with one bed. I had to argue, deman to speak to the manger and show the orbitz booking before they woudl find me an appropraite room. They did try to argue that Orbitz was the problem but I pointed out that they woudl need to take it up with Orbitz. If I had not been persistent over at least 30 minutes I owudl have had to share a bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Davie Crockett
Business
Houston
Aug 10, 2009

Crockett Hotel

Good location and clean rooms, very unfriendly staff who did not want to help and treated the guests like idiots. Was very disappointed to find out cost of parking upon arrival $28 for the day was a lot when told parking available other hotels have free parking for guests. Breakfast was disgusting the eggs were like plastic and the selection was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mi Tierra cafe and bakery in market square. Good cheap mexican fare with brilliant atmosphere and friendly waiters. The margaritas are excellent and it is busy so get there early.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momma Wifey
Business
TX
Jun 1, 2010

Worse than the reviews....

By reading the reviews on the [...] site, I had gladly book w/the Crockett thinking it would be a charming, friendly and historic hotel for my family and I to spend a relaxing vacation in San Antonio. When I first arrived, the valet parker was friendly. When I went to check in, the attendant could not find my reservation. She had the hotel manager and supervisor look at her computer and nobody said anything to me. They just kept quiet like they knew that something was wrong, but nobody wanted to tell me anything. I think that is completely unprofessional. They should have just been honest and said they could not find the reservation (which they did only after I asked)and apologized for the mistake. I just don't like places when they are being shady instead of being upfront about it. The hotel room was VERY small for two adults and a toddler. The room was fine and the bathroom was okay. The view to the Alamo was nice, but it was noisy outside until at least 1 am and the air conditioner is extremely loud. Disapointed in my stay and price of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top