$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Crockett Hotel

3 stars
320 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
great

Although I stayed for one night only, the location is very convenient. Right next to the Alamo, The... See full review

  • jvela
  • May 18, 2014
A great place to stay at a great price.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located behind the Alamo and across from a large mall... See full review

  • ED Doc 123
  • May 1, 2014
Built more than 100 years ago, renovated hotel is just steps from Alamo
The Crockett Hotel provides the best of both worlds: classic old-school charm with brand-new furniture and amenities. The hotel was built on the site where Davy Crockett and his settlers defended the southeast palisade of the Alamo during a 13-day siege in 1836. The Alamo is just steps away and guests walk to the nearby Alamodome or Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The outdoor pool is surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. Guests indulge in a daily complimentary breakfast bar. High-speed wireless Internet is free.
Highlights
  • More than 100 years of history and newly renovated in 2007
  • A mere 18 steps to the Alamo
  • Within walking distance of many San Antonio attractions
  • Complimentary deluxe breakfast bar served daily
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

The Crockett Hotel was first built in 1909, and then added onto in 1927, there are varying floor plans, room styles and suites among the 138 guest rooms. All have been renovated in 2007 and decorated in shades of sage green and cool cream. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, in-room movies and video games, and room service from 11 a.m to 2 a.m.

Features

Ernie's Bar, on the ground floor of the Crockett Hotel, is a close place to unwind. Guests cross the street and use the spa at the sister property, the historic Menger Hotel. The Alamo Plaza spa offers massages, herbal scrubs, wraps, facials, salt glow and other body treatments. A sauna and pool are available as well. The River Walk location connects guests to a myriad of upscale dining and shopping choices, inside the Rivercenter Mall. Being 18 steps from the Alamo and on the site of Davey Crockett's stand will thrill history buffs.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Open-Air San Antonio Trolley (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamo (18 steps away)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Market Square (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Computer workstation available in the lobby
  • The seventh floor is a penthouse set up like a corporate board room, with a large conference table, comfortable leather chairs, gathering area, wet bar, and restroom, flanked by bedrooms
  • "The Alamo Room," is a large meeting/reception room on the ground floor, with seating for up to 150 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.4252 -98.4851
Area served
Prime downtown location in the heart of San Antonio. Next door to the historic Alamo, and also next to Rivercenter Mall, Imax theatre, 1 block to San Antonio River and Riverwalk.
Nearby airports
International Airport: San Antonio International (SAT)9 Miles North. Austin-Berstrom (AUS) 70 Miles NE
Area description
Located in the heart of the historic city of San Antonio. Closest Major City: San Antonio

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crockett Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Crockett Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Spacious newly renovated room with two Double Beds practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available on request, room service available for lunch/dinner/late night dining. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage.
Standard Double
Spacious double bedded room,ideal for families of 4 or business travel for 2, the two Double Bedded room is comfortable and relaxing. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage. Views may include the Alamo and tropical atrium. Practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available upon request. Enjoy a complimentary upgraded continental breakfast. Room service available for lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Alamo Room offers meeting space for groups up to 50 people,full catering menu available. Executive Board Room with Alamo view on hotel's top floor can accomodate meetings for 20.

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Serves enhanced continental breakfast daily 6:30-10 am
Ernies Bar
Serves cocktail, wine, beer by both bottle and draft 7 days a week Opens at 5 pm
Room Service
Serves wide ranging menu for lunch, dinner and late night from 11 am - 2 am daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Crockett Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 172
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pleased Ana
Channelview, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Satisfied Houstonian

I really was pleased with my choice of hotel. The room was nice and clean, and the service was outstanding. Waffles for breakfast...mmm! We enjoyed having the riverwalk/alamo footsteps away! When we came out of the pool, we asked the front desk for extra towels, and in a matter of minutes, they were brought up to our room. I will definately consider this hotel when I plan another San Antonio trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pleased Ana
Channelview, TX
Aug 10, 2009

Satisfied Houstonian

I really was pleased with my choice of hotel. The room was nice and clean, and the service was outstanding. Waffles for breakfast...mmm! We enjoyed having the riverwalk/alamo footsteps away! When we came out of the pool, we asked the front desk for extra towels, and in a matter of minutes, they were brought up to our room. I will definately consider this hotel when I plan another San Antonio trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 3, 2010

the Crockett in San Antonio

It exceeded all my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 3, 2010

the Crockett in San Antonio

It exceeded all my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cas777
Hoboken, NJ, USA
Feb 26, 2013

Perfect location but historic hotel needs a makeover!

Overall we had a good experience. The staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was not that great (but free!) Rooms and infrastructures are pretty old - especially the showers!! - but you don't need much more when the first reason for your trip is tourism (as long as everything is clean, which it was). We enjoyed the location more than anything else. Our room was overlooking the park behind the Alamo. It does not get any better than this! We would recommend the hotel based on its location and the fact that nothing unpleasant happened. We just wanted a convenient and clean place to stay at. (If you have a car, parking is $18.50 a day!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty Jane
Indiana
Apr 30, 2010

perfect location

I can't believe that I chose this hotel over the internet! It was wonderful! It was the perfect location--literally across the street from the Alamo. The rooms were small, but nice. Everything was spotless---the cleanest hotel that I have ever seen. Had a nice continental breakfast with variety. I was so lucky to have chosen this hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
College Station, Texas
Jul 19, 2009

Great place to stay

We had a great experience while staying at the Crockett Hotel. The staff was very friendly, professional, and quick. We requested more pillows and towels and within 10 minutes it had been taken care of. The building is full of character but the way it is built requires some rooms to have a view of the lobby downstairs; however we were lucky enough to have a room with a view of the Alamo and even at the 3rd floor it was nice. The hotel does have valet parking, which is quite convenient since it is nearly impossible to find parking downtown, but at $25 per night and tipping, you should know about the added cost. They say to allow 30 minutes for your car to be brought up but every time we requested our car it was there within 10 minutes. The breakfast that was served was pretty good. It got crowded especially on Saturday mornings so arrive early. But there were eggs, waffles (which were great), fruit, cereal, bagels, and other breads. It was okay, and nothing ran out while we were there and we got down there at 9:00 and they stop serving at 9:30. Truly the only complaint was the shower which was horrible. The pressure was so low and the temperature so inconsistent that I have to mention it. Really the worst we had ever had. However, even with that being said, we would still stay there again because everything else was so great. Overall this is an excellent place to stay while in San Antonio. It is close to many attractions. The Rivercenter Mall is next door with many shops, eateries, and the Rivercenter Comedy Club. The Alamo is also next door, the carriage rides begin right outside the hotel, The Riverwalk is also very close as well as so many other shops and restaurants. El Mercado was a few blocks away and we went to Six Flags Fiesta Texas while there and we were able to easily get to I-45 and get on our way to the park. Definitely worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Howl at the Moon for some fun at night. It's street level on Presa Street. Get there early or reserve a table because it gets crowded but it is a lot of fun. Also check out the Rivercenter Comedy Club in the mall. Being a comedy club you always run the risk of seeing someone who is not funny but we have been twice so far and have been pleased both times. Both of these are just a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Charles, MO
Oct 12, 2009

WE LOVED THE CROCKETT HOTEL!

Three girlfriends on a 5 night getaway to San Antonio...booked the Crockett for the location and the fact that it included breakfast. Called to confirm two beds since we had 3 people and asked for a room overlooking the Alamo courtyard and they were very accommodating. Room was large, with a sitting area and pullout couch. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful, even gave us a 4:00 checkout when we asked to store our luggage the day we were leaving. Breakfast included a nice variety of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yogurt, and fresh waffles as well as scrambled eggs. We would definitely stay at the Crockett again. Highlights of the trip besides the Alamo (pay for the audio tour@ $7 pp!!!), and the Sea World shows (took the Via 64 express bus for $2.50 each way) included strolling along the Riverwalk, taking the River taxi up to the Art museum (free admission on Tuesdays after 4:30), lunch at the Guenther House and the self guided walking tour of the King William District. Skip the ghost tours and talk to the historian at the Menger Hotel. Did not need to rent a car as everything was conveniently located and easily reached on foot or by trolley. River taxi service was sporadic though. Ended the trip with a 40 minute "Friendly Feet" foot massage at the Relaxation Station off the street entrance to the River Center mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skeletor1
San Antonio Tx.
Jun 29, 2009

Great overnight stay...

A great location with clean rooms and a nice ambience on a Saturday afternoon check-in. Friendly staff always asking if there was anything else they could do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The door keycard also operates the elevator. My first time experiencing this.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty Jane
Indiana
Apr 30, 2010

perfect location

I can't believe that I chose this hotel over the internet! It was wonderful! It was the perfect location--literally across the street from the Alamo. The rooms were small, but nice. Everything was spotless---the cleanest hotel that I have ever seen. Had a nice continental breakfast with variety. I was so lucky to have chosen this hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top