$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Crockett Hotel

3 stars
320 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
104 reviews
Quaint Room for the Alamo Bowl

The room was small and simple. Very clean. Location is awesome! Good value. See full review

  • StylinTraveler
  • Jan 9, 2014
Best location.

This hotel is historic and close to everything. Across from The Alamo, close to the Riverwalk, and... See full review

  • Heorge
  • Jan 5, 2014
Built more than 100 years ago, renovated hotel is just steps from Alamo
The Crockett Hotel provides the best of both worlds: classic old-school charm with brand-new furniture and amenities. The hotel was built on the site where Davy Crockett and his settlers defended the southeast palisade of the Alamo during a 13-day siege in 1836. The Alamo is just steps away and guests walk to the nearby Alamodome or Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The outdoor pool is surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. Guests indulge in a daily complimentary breakfast bar. High-speed wireless Internet is free.
Highlights
  • More than 100 years of history and newly renovated in 2007
  • A mere 18 steps to the Alamo
  • Within walking distance of many San Antonio attractions
  • Complimentary deluxe breakfast bar served daily
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

The Crockett Hotel was first built in 1909, and then added onto in 1927, there are varying floor plans, room styles and suites among the 138 guest rooms. All have been renovated in 2007 and decorated in shades of sage green and cool cream. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, in-room movies and video games, and room service from 11 a.m to 2 a.m.

Features

Ernie's Bar, on the ground floor of the Crockett Hotel, is a close place to unwind. Guests cross the street and use the spa at the sister property, the historic Menger Hotel. The Alamo Plaza spa offers massages, herbal scrubs, wraps, facials, salt glow and other body treatments. A sauna and pool are available as well. The River Walk location connects guests to a myriad of upscale dining and shopping choices, inside the Rivercenter Mall. Being 18 steps from the Alamo and on the site of Davey Crockett's stand will thrill history buffs.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Open-Air San Antonio Trolley (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamo (18 steps away)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Market Square (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Computer workstation available in the lobby
  • The seventh floor is a penthouse set up like a corporate board room, with a large conference table, comfortable leather chairs, gathering area, wet bar, and restroom, flanked by bedrooms
  • "The Alamo Room," is a large meeting/reception room on the ground floor, with seating for up to 150 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Crockett Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Spacious newly renovated room with two Double Beds practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available on request, room service available for lunch/dinner/late night dining. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage.
Standard Double
Spacious double bedded room,ideal for families of 4 or business travel for 2, the two Double Bedded room is comfortable and relaxing. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage. Views may include the Alamo and tropical atrium. Practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available upon request. Enjoy a complimentary upgraded continental breakfast. Room service available for lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crockett Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.4252 -98.4851
Area served
Prime downtown location in the heart of San Antonio. Next door to the historic Alamo, and also next to Rivercenter Mall, Imax theatre, 1 block to San Antonio River and Riverwalk.
Nearby airports
International Airport: San Antonio International (SAT)9 Miles North. Austin-Berstrom (AUS) 70 Miles NE
Area description
Located in the heart of the historic city of San Antonio. Closest Major City: San Antonio

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Serves enhanced continental breakfast daily 6:30-10 am
Ernies Bar
Serves cocktail, wine, beer by both bottle and draft 7 days a week Opens at 5 pm
Room Service
Serves wide ranging menu for lunch, dinner and late night from 11 am - 2 am daily

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Alamo Room offers meeting space for groups up to 50 people,full catering menu available. Executive Board Room with Alamo view on hotel's top floor can accomodate meetings for 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Crockett Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
maryland
Jun 1, 2010

san antonio

very helpful staff, free breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street!

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Momma Wifey
TX
Jun 1, 2010

Worse than the reviews....

By reading the reviews on the [...] site, I had gladly book w/the Crockett thinking it would be a charming, friendly and historic hotel for my family and I to spend a relaxing vacation in San Antonio. When I first arrived, the valet parker was friendly. When I went to check in, the attendant could not find my reservation. She had the hotel manager and supervisor look at her computer and nobody said anything to me. They just kept quiet like they knew that something was wrong, but nobody wanted to tell me anything. I think that is completely unprofessional. They should have just been honest and said they could not find the reservation (which they did only after I asked)and apologized for the mistake. I just don't like places when they are being shady instead of being upfront about it. The hotel room was VERY small for two adults and a toddler. The room was fine and the bathroom was okay. The view to the Alamo was nice, but it was noisy outside until at least 1 am and the air conditioner is extremely loud. Disapointed in my stay and price of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
your typical girl
St Louis
May 24, 2010

Loved San Antonio

First time in San Antonio since basic training 23 years ago. Picked The Crockett hotel because of location and price. It's not much on the outside, but it a nice, small and quiet hotel. I had a King Size bed on the second floor. The Alamo is directly across the street. The Riverwalk is very close also. Everything is in walking distance from The Crockett, so you don't need a car. We park at the $10 daily lot during our stay. They let us leave the car there overnight during our 4 day stay. So it came out to $40 dollars compared to the $18.50 per day at the Crockett. It doesn't matter where you stay near The Riverwalk. You will pay for parking. The King size bed and room where huge with a walk in closet. The bathroom is small, but it served its purpose. The hotel offers a free breakfast each morning and its pretty good. Eggs, waffles, fruit, bagels, coffee, etc. If I ever go back to San Antonio, I will stay at the Crockett.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New Jersey
May 17, 2010

Great Location

This was a comfortable hotel for the two of us. Our room was not large but certainly adequate since we were sightseeing most of the time. We were just steps from the Alamo. This enabled us to plan to visit the Alamo after the school children on class trips were gone. I especially liked that the air conditioning was just right - not freezing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was more than bagels and cereal. You could make your own waffle (in the shape of the map of Texas), or have scrambled eggs, bread, fruit, yogurt, a selection of beverages: juices, milk, coffee, tea, breakfast cake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
York SC
May 7, 2010

Great Hotel!!!

Came for Graduation at Lackland AF base. We wanted a nice hotel. We got the hotel,car, and plane ticket for the same price as one of those 1 or 2 star hotels. For the staff and service, it was worth the drive to the base from the hotel. Very convenient to downtown, since we were also there during the fiesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Wilkes-Barre, PA
May 3, 2010

the Crockett in San Antonio

It exceeded all my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Phila, Pa
May 1, 2010

And Free Breakfast

Visited a number of local attractions and most are in walking distance of the hotel. Hotel is clean and staff very hepful. Will go back and recommend it to our friends. Note: hotel provides breakfast that includes waffles, scrambled eggs, fruit, cearal, baggles, toast, juice and coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous places to eat along the river walk. For mexican Casa Reo and for steak Saw Grass.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Betty Jane
Indiana
Apr 30, 2010

perfect location

I can't believe that I chose this hotel over the internet! It was wonderful! It was the perfect location--literally across the street from the Alamo. The rooms were small, but nice. Everything was spotless---the cleanest hotel that I have ever seen. Had a nice continental breakfast with variety. I was so lucky to have chosen this hotel, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
GREAT TELLER
OHIO
Apr 28, 2010

GOOD LOCATION FOR WHAT WE WANTED TO SEE

HOTEL WAS CLEAN, THE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY. GREAT LOCATION. THE BREAKFAST BAR DID NOT SUIT MY HUSBAND. HE LIKES A BIG BREAKFAST WHEN WE ARE TRAVELING. IT WAS FINE FOR ME AS I DON'T EAT THAT MUCH.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE HARDROCK CAFE IS RIGHT ON THE RIVERWALK.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Aging walker
Berkeley, CA
Apr 27, 2010

Escape from Fiesta

We enjoyed this hotel. We arrived in the middle of the Fiesta which was not part of our plan. We were able to leave the car in the parking lot and walk around the city and try to avoid the crowds. Not everyone's taste, probably, but if you did want to be part of Fiesta, the Crockett would be a wonderful location. We got an internal room but it was light and airy and very pleasant. We got next to the elevator with its bell chiming every ten seconds for most of the night and with the fan of the air conditioner on, we slept through it all. The staff was cordial and helpful and the complimentary hot breakfast was excellent. I'd stay here again,especially if it wasn't Fiesta time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top