$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Crockett Hotel

3 stars
320 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
126 reviews
Great for BMT graduation

Best location for BMT graduation week-end. Directly across the street from.the Alamo and Riverwalk.... See full review

  • Da Bo
  • Dec 6, 2014
weekend getaway

The staff is so friendly and never fail to acknowledge you. They are always eager to help and go... See full review

  • partygirl 30
  • Oct 13, 2014
Built more than 100 years ago, renovated hotel is just steps from Alamo
The Crockett Hotel provides the best of both worlds: classic old-school charm with brand-new furniture and amenities. The hotel was built on the site where Davy Crockett and his settlers defended the southeast palisade of the Alamo during a 13-day siege in 1836. The Alamo is just steps away and guests walk to the nearby Alamodome or Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The outdoor pool is surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. Guests indulge in a daily complimentary breakfast bar. High-speed wireless Internet is free.
Highlights
  • More than 100 years of history and newly renovated in 2007
  • A mere 18 steps to the Alamo
  • Within walking distance of many San Antonio attractions
  • Complimentary deluxe breakfast bar served daily
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

The Crockett Hotel was first built in 1909, and then added onto in 1927, there are varying floor plans, room styles and suites among the 138 guest rooms. All have been renovated in 2007 and decorated in shades of sage green and cool cream. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, in-room movies and video games, and room service from 11 a.m to 2 a.m.

Features

Ernie's Bar, on the ground floor of the Crockett Hotel, is a close place to unwind. Guests cross the street and use the spa at the sister property, the historic Menger Hotel. The Alamo Plaza spa offers massages, herbal scrubs, wraps, facials, salt glow and other body treatments. A sauna and pool are available as well. The River Walk location connects guests to a myriad of upscale dining and shopping choices, inside the Rivercenter Mall. Being 18 steps from the Alamo and on the site of Davey Crockett's stand will thrill history buffs.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Open-Air San Antonio Trolley (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamo (18 steps away)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Market Square (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Computer workstation available in the lobby
  • The seventh floor is a penthouse set up like a corporate board room, with a large conference table, comfortable leather chairs, gathering area, wet bar, and restroom, flanked by bedrooms
  • "The Alamo Room," is a large meeting/reception room on the ground floor, with seating for up to 150 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crockett Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Crockett Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Spacious newly renovated room with two Double Beds practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available on request, room service available for lunch/dinner/late night dining. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage.
Standard Double
Spacious double bedded room,ideal for families of 4 or business travel for 2, the two Double Bedded room is comfortable and relaxing. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage. Views may include the Alamo and tropical atrium. Practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available upon request. Enjoy a complimentary upgraded continental breakfast. Room service available for lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Alamo Room offers meeting space for groups up to 50 people,full catering menu available. Executive Board Room with Alamo view on hotel's top floor can accomodate meetings for 20.

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Serves enhanced continental breakfast daily 6:30-10 am
Ernies Bar
Serves cocktail, wine, beer by both bottle and draft 7 days a week Opens at 5 pm
Room Service
Serves wide ranging menu for lunch, dinner and late night from 11 am - 2 am daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Crockett Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3 Sailor Family
Business
Grand Island, NE, USA
Jan 9, 2012

Best Kept "Secret" in San Antionio

Rooms and facilities were very clean and well kept. Staff was excellent. We will book the Crockett next time we are in San Antonio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado World Travelers
Business
Denver, Colorado
Dec 18, 2012

Cozy, Clean & Convenient

The Crockett Hotel met all our expectations! We knew up front that this is a "3 star" rated hotel and we also knew the room size would be smaller than newer establishments since it is a Historical Site. So to us, it was everything we expected BUT BETTER! The room we had was freshly refinished in warm, soothing colors and the bed lines were fresh and immaculate, which is very important! The bathroom was spotless and had lucious bathing toilitries that one would expect when staying at a "5 star" hotel. The key word here is "LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION....we were right next door to THE ALAMO and it's spectaculor gardens....WOW! Then we were just minutes away of walking distance to THE RIVERWALK so we feel we were totally satisfied with our selection of THE CROCKETT HOTEL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Il Sogno Restaurant at North end of Riverwalk, near Pearl Brewery. We walked there but you may want to take the River Taxi. Delicious food at one of the new, best restaurants in San Antonio!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Siri Bang Bang
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 20, 2012

Weekend Getaway

I wasn't impressed with the Hotel at all. I thought it would have more character within but the room was small, the beds were hard, it was a bit warm even though I would turn down the temperture, the room remained warm. Room wasn't cleaned until very late in the day on Sunday and we had to get our own towels. I kept my toothbrush head wrapped in paper towel and house keeping threw it away. I don't like people touching my clothes so I left in one place and somehow housekeeping went through my clothes because I found them folded a different way than I had them when I left. A huge arguement went on about 2 o'clock in the morning outside and we heard it all and we were on the 5th floor. Followed by some loud people that were on the same floor as we were on. It seemed that the voices were in our own room so needless to say. we were sleep deprived. Valet was very helpful and front desk was also helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Riverwalk is very close and you are also not too far from The Market. Location was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Levi's
Business
South Bend, IN
Nov 11, 2012

Quite good

Came here for an academic event nearby. It is very near of the nice riverside walk, just in front of the Alamo site, and has a relatively small mall just crossing the street. The staff attention was also very good. I would liked to have a little refrigerator in the room, because they have ice machines on the corridors but turn them off after 10 pm. Anyway apart from that little detail, my overall experience was very pleasant (including a good number of margaritas).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The riverside walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walls
Business
Dallas
Nov 7, 2012

Cardboard Sheets

The location is fantastic...that's about it. The sheets are a 200 thread count, at the most. The room needs attention to detail; paint, carpet, wood work, grout. I hope someone takes this seriously someday...the hotel deserves it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan Lane
Business
Yoakum, TX 77995, USA
Aug 4, 2012

Perfect Location

This hotel really served its purpose. We were wanting to stay in a hotel that offered us a good walking distance to all that downtown San Antonio had to offer and this was the best. Everything was only minutes away including the Rivercenter mall, Alamo, and all the downtown entertainment. The rooms were a little small, but very nice. The hotel had a fun bar downstairs. The valet parking was a little pricey, but no worse than having to park downtown and pay per day. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right outside the hotel at the Alamo Plaza they have ghost tours every night that gives an interesting histories of many of the hotels in the area. It was a fun adventure and something that was good for the whole family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
D F ENGINEER
Business
WACO TX
Jul 30, 2012

GIRL FRIEND BIRTHDAY

LOCATION WAS GREAT HOTEL NOT SO MUCH WANT STAY THERE AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FEW BLOCKS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Ruplers
Business
Dallas
May 21, 2012

Nice place, nice staff

We enjoyed our stay at the Crockett. It's super-conveniently located to the Alamo (across the street) and riverwalk (1-block). Rooms are clean, staff is nice. The room's a little small, but it's a historic hotel, so this makes sense... it's big enough. All told, a great value and a really nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HanauPete
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 28, 2012

San Antonio Weekend

This was my second stay here. The first was two and a half years ago. The Hotel is still clean, staff is still friendly and the location remains great! It's right behind the Alamo! It is next to the glorious Menger Hotel and down the street from the tour bus offices. The much-improved Riverfront Mall, with Morton's Steakhouse, Macy's and an AMC movie theater is literally 100 feet away! There is no restaurant, but the RiverWalk is two blocks away! I LOVE this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit The Menger Hotel, the Mall, the RiverWalk and the Alamo, all within two blocks of the Crockett Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morgan Lane
Business
Yoakum, TX 77995, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Greatest Location

If you are planning a trip to San Antonio and intend to spend most of your time in the downtown riverwalk area this is one of the greatest hotels you can ask for. It is literally steps away from the Alamo and right across the street from the Rivercenter Mall and Riverwalk itself. Definitely a great idea if you want to avoid having to drive around town. The front desk was very friendly and even let us check in early. They also allowed us to keep our car in the valet parking the next day until we were ready to leave free of charge. The hotel is nice. It's somewhat old timey but everything is nice and it has a free breakfast which is convenient. The hotel also has a bar inside. I would definitely recomend staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We took a Ghost Hunting tour which took place literally steps away from the hotel right in front of the Alamo. It wasn't scary or anything but it was interesting and a fun way to get to know San Antonio. There were also horse and carriage rides that took place almost right out our hotel. It was definitely a great place to stay for entertainment purposes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JBvaca
Business
Montgomery, TX, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Good location accessible to Riverwalk

The inside of the hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly. The breakfast included was not exceptionally good, but we were really not staying at the hotel to eat the breakfast. Easy access to the Riverwalk and right across the street from the Alamo. I would consider staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top