Crockett Hotel

3 stars
320 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
172 reviews
great

Although I stayed for one night only, the location is very convenient. Right next to the Alamo, The... See full review

  • jvela
  • May 18, 2014
A great place to stay at a great price.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Located behind the Alamo and across from a large mall... See full review

  • ED Doc 123
  • May 1, 2014
Built more than 100 years ago, renovated hotel is just steps from Alamo
The Crockett Hotel provides the best of both worlds: classic old-school charm with brand-new furniture and amenities. The hotel was built on the site where Davy Crockett and his settlers defended the southeast palisade of the Alamo during a 13-day siege in 1836. The Alamo is just steps away and guests walk to the nearby Alamodome or Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. The outdoor pool is surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. Guests indulge in a daily complimentary breakfast bar. High-speed wireless Internet is free.
Highlights
  • More than 100 years of history and newly renovated in 2007
  • A mere 18 steps to the Alamo
  • Within walking distance of many San Antonio attractions
  • Complimentary deluxe breakfast bar served daily
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet
Rooms

The Crockett Hotel was first built in 1909, and then added onto in 1927, there are varying floor plans, room styles and suites among the 138 guest rooms. All have been renovated in 2007 and decorated in shades of sage green and cool cream. Regardless of room type, all guests enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, in-room movies and video games, and room service from 11 a.m to 2 a.m.

Features

Ernie's Bar, on the ground floor of the Crockett Hotel, is a close place to unwind. Guests cross the street and use the spa at the sister property, the historic Menger Hotel. The Alamo Plaza spa offers massages, herbal scrubs, wraps, facials, salt glow and other body treatments. A sauna and pool are available as well. The River Walk location connects guests to a myriad of upscale dining and shopping choices, inside the Rivercenter Mall. Being 18 steps from the Alamo and on the site of Davey Crockett's stand will thrill history buffs.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (7.5 mi./12.1 km)
  • Amtrak Station (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
  • Open-Air San Antonio Trolley (1.5 mi./2.5 km)
Attractions
  • The Alamo (18 steps away)
  • River Walk (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center (0.2 mi./0.3 km)
  • Alamodome (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • Market Square (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Computer workstation available in the lobby
  • The seventh floor is a penthouse set up like a corporate board room, with a large conference table, comfortable leather chairs, gathering area, wet bar, and restroom, flanked by bedrooms
  • "The Alamo Room," is a large meeting/reception room on the ground floor, with seating for up to 150 guests
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof of their age at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Crockett Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
Spacious newly renovated room with two Double Beds practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available on request, room service available for lunch/dinner/late night dining. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage.
Standard Double
Spacious double bedded room,ideal for families of 4 or business travel for 2, the two Double Bedded room is comfortable and relaxing. All non-smoking rooms are newly renovated with custom plantation shutters and colors ranging from cream to sage. Views may include the Alamo and tropical atrium. Practical workdesk, HSIA, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, bathrobes available upon request. Enjoy a complimentary upgraded continental breakfast. Room service available for lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Free breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

29.4252 -98.4851
Area served
Prime downtown location in the heart of San Antonio. Next door to the historic Alamo, and also next to Rivercenter Mall, Imax theatre, 1 block to San Antonio River and Riverwalk.
Nearby airports
International Airport: San Antonio International (SAT)9 Miles North. Austin-Berstrom (AUS) 70 Miles NE
Area description
Located in the heart of the historic city of San Antonio. Closest Major City: San Antonio

Nearby points of interest

  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • The Alamo: 0 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 0.6 mi
  • Alamodome: 0.7 mi
  • El Mercado: 0.8 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 2.2 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 2.5 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 2.7 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 2.7 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 2.9 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • ATT Center: 3.5 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 3.9 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 4.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 4.9 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 8.4 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 9.7 mi
  • Sea World: 13.2 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 14.8 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 15.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Alamo Room offers meeting space for groups up to 50 people,full catering menu available. Executive Board Room with Alamo view on hotel's top floor can accomodate meetings for 20.

Dining

Landmark Restaurant
Serves enhanced continental breakfast daily 6:30-10 am
Ernies Bar
Serves cocktail, wine, beer by both bottle and draft 7 days a week Opens at 5 pm
Room Service
Serves wide ranging menu for lunch, dinner and late night from 11 am - 2 am daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Crockett Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Babci 2
Naples, FL USA
Dec 7, 2011

Great Weekend

Clean, comfortable, great value with breakfast included. Within walking distance of major attractions. Would have been helpful to have a "daily events" calendar of local happenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check tourist brochures for coupons to save $ on local attractions.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McFarland Girl
McFarland, WI, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Outstanding holiday getaway!

The Crockett Hotel is outstanding - perfect location. Located directly behind the Alamo, easy walking access to the Riverwalk, Market Square and Hemisphere Park. Trolley service is on every corner and all destinations are marked for ease. Very safe and clean area for walking day/night. The Crockett Hotel is a must for everyone - huge continental breakfast options, staff was helpful, bar was entertaining and the rooms were very clean, as well as the rest of the hotel. After a great deal of research on the various hotels - we are very pleased with our choice of The Crockett Hotel. You rock!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolley service is available is you don't want to walk. Everyone at the hotel and the information center (across the street from the Alamo) was very helpful in giving us answers of "where and how do we find it".

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmack
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 1, 2011

River walk convenience

Love the location right behind the Alamo. Easy walking distances to SA attractions. Welcoming hotel staff and excellent car valet. Inclusive breakfast could be better. Quiet most of the time except for the intermitant noisy ice machine on the 6th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MI traveler
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 26, 2011

quiet and convenient

Everything within walking distance. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michgirl
Michigan
Oct 23, 2011

Loved the Crockett

We went to San Antonio for the weekend and chose the Crockett. We could not have been more pleased. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was very accommodating, even gave us a room overlooking the Alamo gardens. There were only two pillows in the room upon on our arrival. They brought up two more after making a request. The free breakfast was nice. Some of the items ran out quickly but were eventually replaced. The Internet was very slow, that's my only beef. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Boudros on the Riverwalk was a delight. Loved their chicken tortilla soup. We think we spotted one of the San Antonio Spur players behind us. We also enjoyed the Mexican food at Mi Tierra, which was quite a site to see. Great decorations and bake shop. The food was also very good.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Illini2011
Business
Urbana, IL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Pleased, but nothing great.

Hotel has excellent location near Riverwalk, conference center, and the Alamo. However, there is no pool or workout room at the hotel. The breakfast is free and above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent Mexican food close by on the Riverwalk. Get a cheap pounder of Lone Star beer.

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Altaf
Queens, New York, USA
Oct 10, 2011

I was on a CME course and comfortable like home

nice pleasant atmosphere with clean areas i was able to relax after all day activity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindy2
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Great location, clean room

Stayed here for a four day conference. I didn't spend much time in the hotel, so can't comment on the hotel ammenities, but it was clean and in a great location. I am so glad I didn't spend double the money to stay where the conference was held!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindy2
Business
Savannah, GA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Great location, clean room

Stayed here for a four day conference. I didn't spend much time in the hotel, so can't comment on the hotel ammenities, but it was clean and in a great location. I am so glad I didn't spend double the money to stay where the conference was held!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crockett Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ducky
Wellsville,Ohio
Aug 30, 2011

Centrally located in SanAntonio

This hotel was across the street from the Alamo on one side and across the street from the River Center and the River Walk on the other.I was quite pleased with the hotel and its location except for the fact that there was no place to park.It cost $20 each day to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top