$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 237
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danny915
San Antonio
Jun 12, 2014

horrible stench

The room was very out dated. The toilet didn't flush and the actual smelled like urine. The brkfst was extremely limited and messy. $37.00 is great but $29.00 would b much better for the horrible hotel. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco cabana

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hannahjane
Utah
Sep 10, 2013

It was an alright stay

I paid for five nights, but only stayed there two. I was visiting Lackland Airforce Base to see my Fiancé graduate from basic training. I stayed with some friends the first night, and when I called the hotel they checked me in early so that I would not lose my reservation for the rest of the weekend. The staff was very nice, and during my stay housekeeping came to bring fresh towels and such. The room had an odd smell though, and when I woke up in the mornings my hair would smell like whatever the weird smell was. The shower would randomly turn to burning hot, and not go back for a few minutes even if I turned it to the cold side. In the bathroom the light would turn on until you jiggled the switch a few times, and when I went to use one of the plugs it the cover plate was burned black, which scared me. The first night I woke up with weird bug bites on my legs, and the second night there was a weird rash that showed up on my stomach. I generally did not feel clean there. All day every day there were ads being stuck through my door for surrounding businesses. The reason I used this hotel was because it is so close to the base. You literally walk out of the parking lot and you're at the gates. For what I needed it for - cheap, close to base - it was. It was only around $40 a night, and that's what I got, a $40 dollar hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
florida wing mom
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Hotel Nightmare

The place was dirty. No clean towels when the room was so called cleaned. Left the dirty towels behind. Did not change the sheets. Carpet was disgusting. We had bugs and the tile floors were cracked everywhere. Wi-Fi is very spotty. It has to be rebutted often. Staff did not want to do it. Decor is very very bad. We were told the owner did not want to invest any money in it. They are making there money of the family of the airforce grads and not wanting to improve the looks or comfort. Only in it for the profit. If it was not for the location I would have left the minute I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to be close to the base but not on the base, this is it. Right outside the base gates. Saves time waiting in line for ceremonies

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFWifeTx
Texas, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Air Force Graduation

Stayed here 5 nights.Nothing fancy.My room had LIME green walls. The maid brought clean towels and made the bed while we were out exploring San Antonio every morning. The best part of this place would be that it is right outside Lackland AFB. So if you want to be close to the gate this is the perfect place to stay! It is also close to several fast food restaurants in case you want to grab a quick bite to eat.The worse thing about this hotel was that some nights it was impossible to get the hot water to work so I could take a comfortable shower....maybe had something to do with the high volume of people taking showers at that time of night.Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had another Air Force graduation to attend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AF mom
Florida, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Pretty dirty overall

the only positive was that I was across the street from my sons AF squad and there was a great Mexican fast food out front. There were bugs in that bathroom and also used soap and stuff in the bathroom , toilet didn't flush and we used the plunger most every time ! But if you don't want to fight the lines and traffic it's worth it. Just pretty dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJaxon1
Ctown, MD
Mar 7, 2011

poor housekeeping

House keeper didn't clean room. Soap left in shower from previous guest. Crumbs in bed. Pillow cases stained. WiFi works in some places in room(like bad cell phone service). Management was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good point is closness to Lackland AFB. Motel right at entrance

Back to menu Return to top