$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
153 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 153
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Stay Away

The Carefree Inn stay was not comfortable, the room was not prepare for anyone to sleep in. There were mold on the ceiling and on the walls. The smell of mold filled the room. The microwave and the bathroom was dirty. There were ant's crawling on the floor in the bathroom and vanity area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisified traveler
Olivehurst, CA
Jun 13, 2011

DISQUSTING HOTEL!!!!!!

I have never stayed in a more disqusting hotel than this. The only reason I stayed after I checked in was because I prepaid [...] The desk clerk was also very friendly and polite...the only other reason I didn't run away screaming. I actually witnessed someone pouring bleach from a bottle, yes, like Clorox, into the pool. That is not proper pool maintenance. Needless to say, I didn't swim. I was also told that the owner uses Fabuloso to spray bugs. Fabuloso is a cleaner for goodness sake. As for the rooms being recently renovated, mine sure didn't look like it. It has old lime green paint and the whole ceiling was littered with nasty brown stains. The only thing that might be a plus to someone is that this hotel is located right outside the main gate at Lackland AFB. I still wouldn't recommend staying here, though. YUCK! I know I will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nonnee
Fresno Ca
Mar 11, 2013

I was not able to get the whole info in the space alotted

I connected the Motel the night before leaving I advised them I would be arriving late and ask if they would hold the room for me. They said yes and that was the last good experience I had with them I arrived around 12;30 a. m. On the 7TH and was assigned to room 115,I unpacked my suit case around 1;30 a.m. and went to sleep. AT around 2:30 A.M. a water supply hose broke to the toliet Please contact me for more details. The whole stay was a nightmare I should have not been charged for the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Hated it

The hotel was under construction and there was trash under the stairs, grocery bags floating in the jacuzzi. To use the light and refrigerator in the room you had to use an extension cord. A used napkin was on at the coffee machine. The fire alarm had the wrong size battery and beeped all night. After complaining to the desk I had to disarm the alarm myself. This is just a portion of my problems. I would NEVER go back or recommend this dump to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMT mom
Corpus Christi, Tx
Jul 19, 2012

u get what u pay for

Great location, rude staff, room is clean but needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JackAttak101
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 9, 2013

BMT Graduation

I am currently staying in this "hotel" motel and the first thing i would have to say is the moment i walked in the door i felt a little unsteady. There are random colored stains on the chairs and sheet (whites and browns, YUCK), the convenient lock box in my room is not so convenient considering the fact that when I put the key into the hole the entire metal piece came out?! ya not so happy about that. The door to the bathroom doesn't close securely and the light only turns on if you jiggle the switch a few times. The main door to the room has a gap at the bottom which is big enough to see the shadows of people walking outside, im not 100% sure the dead bolt works however there is a chain lock, and there is a dusty old smell in the room that is potent and has given me quite the headache. The fridge is a great size and there is a CLEAN working microwave, as well as a coffee maker and iron and blow dryer. The rooms are a little outdated and need a LOT of TLC and maid service. I can guarantee i'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
PETERSBURG, VA
May 11, 2011

carefree inn

The hotel was not what i expected. The bathroom was very dirty. The shower curtain was mildrew and the tub looked as if it had not been cleaned for days. I found a dirty rag on top of the shower curtain that had mildrewed as well. I pulle the curtain open so the housekeeper can change it when she did room services but she pushed it back. I reported it to the front desk. She changed the curtain but did not clean the tub. I will not be staying there EVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy AF mom
Tampa FL
Apr 30, 2013

Bug infested

The room was bug infested. I ended up stayng someplace else. Paid in full upfront and now refusing to refund my money when I cancelled my reservation shortly after checking in. It's been a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
out smokin
Hamilton Ohio
Jul 26, 2013

my stay at the care free inn was bad

this place is run down in bad need of repair, I had problems with the clerk checking in and then I got my room key and when I open my door to the room beer bottle's and trash inside on the dresser and the room had a bad odor I went to the store and bought some air freshener. the first night I found bed bugs crawling over my sheets I told the office about that and they gave me some bug spray and was told to spray my room around the bed. they were people that walking around the parking lot that were not guess there had to worry about someone breaking into my car. two times I had to go get towels from the office the maid took my use towels and did not replace them with clean towels. I will never stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

if in San Antonio check out sea world and the riverwalk

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
anchorage, ak
Apr 19, 2011

Don't Stay Here

I planned to stay at the Carefree in for 4 nights while attending my daughters graduation from BMT. After checking in I went up to my room and couldn't believe what I was seeing. The place was filthy. I had read a few bad reviews claiming this but I thought those people were being picky. This is not the case, this place is a health hazard and I encourage you to find another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search