$37 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
157 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M.Arie
Business
Syracuse
Feb 11, 2013

ok

The staf was good. The room had a leak in the sink. The dead bolt would not lock. They did end up fixing the sink the day I checked out. The view from my room was a MASSIVE power plant. You could hear it humming all night. The best part was hearing the basic trainees in the morning doing excercises. (however if you want to sleep in you should request a room on the other side of the hotel. Over all for the price it was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hannahjane
Business
Utah
Sep 10, 2013

It was an alright stay

I paid for five nights, but only stayed there two. I was visiting Lackland Airforce Base to see my Fiancé graduate from basic training. I stayed with some friends the first night, and when I called the hotel they checked me in early so that I would not lose my reservation for the rest of the weekend. The staff was very nice, and during my stay housekeeping came to bring fresh towels and such. The room had an odd smell though, and when I woke up in the mornings my hair would smell like whatever the weird smell was. The shower would randomly turn to burning hot, and not go back for a few minutes even if I turned it to the cold side. In the bathroom the light would turn on until you jiggled the switch a few times, and when I went to use one of the plugs it the cover plate was burned black, which scared me. The first night I woke up with weird bug bites on my legs, and the second night there was a weird rash that showed up on my stomach. I generally did not feel clean there. All day every day there were ads being stuck through my door for surrounding businesses. The reason I used this hotel was because it is so close to the base. You literally walk out of the parking lot and you're at the gates. For what I needed it for - cheap, close to base - it was. It was only around $40 a night, and that's what I got, a $40 dollar hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
airman wife
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

no so bad

Was ok. If you like camping you can handle this hotel. Its good for airman graduation. Its literally next to the base. But if you re vacacioning and be a nice place this is not recommended. But if you plan just sleep may be is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jan 6, 2008

Staff friendly.

The Carefree Inn is next to Lackland AFB which was convenient. But, Our shower had no hot water & some of our family were staying in the next room which had no hot water either. We complained with no results. The rooms are okay but the shower/tub needs to be stripped of molded caulking, cleaned & recaulked and need hot water. We had family trying to call our rooms from out of town and the calls wouldn't go through, so they reached us on our cell phones. The continental breakfast is okay & the staff are very friendly. We were at the Air Force Base most of the time so we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The neighborhood isn't nice at all but we felt safe. Hopefully, they are working on improving the maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the Interstate & 50 yards from Lackland Air Force Base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Air Base Parent
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Stay Here

The motel was OK. The location is great for people visiting basic graduation at Lackland AFB. Mexican restaurant next door that looks like a dive is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Joe Bob
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jun 7, 2011

Questionable

I don't need anything special for a hotel room, so this worked alright with me. However, my in-laws decided to stay at the same hotel and they were not at all pleased. I killed a cockroach and they had one already dead in their room, along with a used Q-tip that remained there throughout their stay, despite the attempts at cleaning by the cleaners. Some lights didn't work and the bathroom was poorly put together. Also, every room is painted florescent green so be prepared for some weird dreams. If you're staying there for proximity to Lackland Base, you can't do any better! Overall it was a cheap hotel and it felt like one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Riverwalk in the downtown area of San Antonio is absolutely worth seeing. It is now one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for.

We were there for BMT Graduation. The proximity was great, only 50 yards from gate and dorms. We could hear them training, and they start early. Don't get your hopes up for this motel. Lime green walls, dirty showers, stained linen. There is a pool and jacuzzi but we wouldn't swim in it (couldn't see the bottom) you get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and friendly, a/c worked great, has a microwave and small refrigerator, they have wi-fi available and serve a continental breakfast (we never used so no rating). We just slept there no hanging out, our day was pretty planned due to airmans schedule. We didn't mind so it didn't matter. It was a one time thing anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Strawberry Shortcake
Business
Gainesville, TX
Aug 14, 2011

OK for a short stay

Everything was average. This is an older motel, but things have been painted and fixed up as best possible. And the walls are lime green!! The room stayed cool in 100+ weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lackland Air Force Base

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 13, 2009

wasnt worth what orbitz charged us

ORBITZ CHARGED US TOO MUCH FOR THE ROOM!!!!!!! WE WERE CHRGED 90.00 FOR THE NIGHT. THE LADY BEFORE US, WITH NO RESERVATION PAID ONLY 50.00 FOR THE SAME ROOM WE HAD. THE ROOMS ARE WORTH 50.00 NOT 90.00 WE CANCELED OUR SECOND NITE STAY AND ORBITZ----U BETTER REFUND OUR 2NITE STAY LIKE YALL SAID YOU WOULD!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raginrick
Business
Sun Valley, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

good, and some bad

We went to see my youngest son graduate air force boot camp.we did have a problem with our shower ceiling we was sitting watching tv and one peice of the ceiling fell down into the bath tub so the rest of our stay we had hot water dripping on us as we took our shower.I had gotten out of th pool was walking back to my room and they had 2 ice buckets under an air conditioner was trying to keep the water from running all over the walk way I guess. there was water all over the walk way and i slipped and fell got a big lump on my knee. It has been a long time since me and my family had gone on a vaction. I did take 2 pictures of the bath room so if you would like to see them you could e-mail me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top