$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
153 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
winniethepope
Ringling, OK
Apr 8, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!

The only thing this place has going for it is that it is close to the base. It is dirty, has cockroaches, stinks, the beds are uneven, hair on the floor in the bathroom, mold in the shower, stains on the sheets, gum on the pillows. Do not believe the reviews, this place was a nightmare. If you are going for the base stay some where else and drive, it is worth the time and the money, I promise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parent of USAF Airman
Colorado
Apr 17, 2011

Do NOT stay in this hotel

I made a reservation after reading generally positive reviews. These reviews must be written by a friend of the owner. This place is falling apart and filthy. I left after a few minutes,[...]. It was worth it for the piece of mind. I drove around and found a Motel 6 for $40 per night. It was the Taj Mahal compared to the Comfort Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Airforce Family
Florida
Aug 12, 2014

the only positive was proximity to lackland

Building is in severe disrepair. Evident exterior hazards from falling down/loose molding and trim to rusted through support pole on stairwell. Rooms were moderatly clean. Mold on walls obvious ceiling/roof leaks galore, blood stain on carpet, broken, cracked and loose tiles galore. Toilet wobbled. If the county were to inspect this facility it would be shut down or condemned due to evident code violations. Pool was clean, hot tub was lukewarm ar best. Service staff was pleasant but there are serious language barriers. The only plus was that we could see our airmans dorms from this location and base acess was a snap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria The Dissapointed Traveler
Tampa, Florida
Jan 25, 2011

Do Not Stay Here!

I came here for my daughters graduation from BMT and I thought that it would have been a great experience staying at Carefree, being that its a 3 star (NOT). The supposedly continental breakfast was only a pot of coffee, 3 canisters with sugared cereal and a couple of Eggo waffles. Thats what they call continental! And by the time we got there to get breakfast, there had nothing there (before 7:00 a.m) I know we were there for a Grad and we wouldn't have much time to be at the hotel, but come on! Old Furniture, broken down dressers, leaky faucets, the beds were old and lumpy and when you sat down it squeeked with a capital S! Not me again!!! And my cousin is traveling there in 2 months for her sons Grad and believe me I will make sure to tell her not to stay there! The Only good thing is that it's right outside of the Airforce. They need to demolish it and build a new one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JackAttak101
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 9, 2013

BMT Graduation

I am currently staying in this "hotel" motel and the first thing i would have to say is the moment i walked in the door i felt a little unsteady. There are random colored stains on the chairs and sheet (whites and browns, YUCK), the convenient lock box in my room is not so convenient considering the fact that when I put the key into the hole the entire metal piece came out?! ya not so happy about that. The door to the bathroom doesn't close securely and the light only turns on if you jiggle the switch a few times. The main door to the room has a gap at the bottom which is big enough to see the shadows of people walking outside, im not 100% sure the dead bolt works however there is a chain lock, and there is a dusty old smell in the room that is potent and has given me quite the headache. The fridge is a great size and there is a CLEAN working microwave, as well as a coffee maker and iron and blow dryer. The rooms are a little outdated and need a LOT of TLC and maid service. I can guarantee i'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon Angry birds
Corpus Christi
Apr 7, 2014

Do not stay here unless your broke

Dirty rooms. Old. Ugly. Baby roaches. Trash around the facility. Old furniture outside in the halls. Stay away. So gross. Nasty old place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Skeet shooter
Colorado
Oct 12, 2009

Bad Experience......old and musty..

Old, nasty conditions. Would not return the prepayment. Stayed at another location but had to pay for this nasty room for 10 days. Don't not stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
florida wing mom
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Hotel Nightmare

The place was dirty. No clean towels when the room was so called cleaned. Left the dirty towels behind. Did not change the sheets. Carpet was disgusting. We had bugs and the tile floors were cracked everywhere. Wi-Fi is very spotty. It has to be rebutted often. Staff did not want to do it. Decor is very very bad. We were told the owner did not want to invest any money in it. They are making there money of the family of the airforce grads and not wanting to improve the looks or comfort. Only in it for the profit. If it was not for the location I would have left the minute I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to be close to the base but not on the base, this is it. Right outside the base gates. Saves time waiting in line for ceremonies

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN.
Jul 6, 2011

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

Our daughter was graduating from the AFB. The good = it was next to the base. The Bad = when we walked into the room, there was paper on the floor and the bathroom light flickered on for 2 min., everytime, before it stayed on. Toilet paper was in the toilet not flushed. The beds were hard as rock, it reminded me of camping on the ground. The write up on the pool was basicly, false advertising, pool was green & slippery. The ugly = There was mold in the bathroom because my daughter that came down to see her sister got a bad reaction from the mold. I was ready to call the TX health dept., but, I didn't. So, we were suppose to stay 5 nights & after the first night had to check out and get another hotel that was great, for close to the same price. I told the management on duty & they would not refund the other 4 nights, because I didn't book thru them directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search