$37 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
156 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father of AF Graduate
Business
Outside West Gate Lackland AFB, TX
Apr 1, 2014

Eaten alive while I slept!!!

I expected a cheap room with minimal accommodations, which is exactly what I received. The building is dilapidated, housekeeping does minimal cleaning and the sheets and beds are stained. Ok so it’s a cheap hotel can’t expect perfection, however I did expect to sleep in peace and not be eaten alive. I was bitten over multiple times while I slept by what I believed were bed bugs or something worse! I complained to the hotel front desk but the person said it could not be bed bugs and I should not be getting bitten . I felt like he was accusing me of lying, although he could clearly see where I was bitten all over my arms, head, feet and legs. He offered to give me another room, which was the least he could do. I requested my money back and received the run around. My family stayed in an adjacent room but didn’t experience this issue of being bitten, however they did have ants. Also the foreign exchange students from the AF Base who stayed at this cheap location were very loud and disruptive. If cheap is what you want and being a human blood donator, the Care Free Inn is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon Angry birds
Business
Corpus Christi
Apr 7, 2014

Do not stay here unless your broke

Dirty rooms. Old. Ugly. Baby roaches. Trash around the facility. Old furniture outside in the halls. Stay away. So gross. Nasty old place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy06
Business
San Antonio
Apr 9, 2014

Not what you want

To be located right outside of the military installation the quality of this hotel was very poor. I was very disappointed that I searched for 3 Star hotels and it came up. This was a motel at best the walls were very thin. My son and I got no rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2008

Nothing you'd expect

The room was very outdated and was not completely re-done. There was no mop boards in the bathroom or under the tub. The floor inside the closet was down to the subfloor. Our bathroom light would not come on all of the time. Every morning we had to take cold showers. We complained to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do. It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are alot of shopping places and restaurants within a short drive of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Siyuan
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2007

Not a 3 star to my knowledge

I booked the hotel with the expectation of 3 star hotel in mind. I was disappointed by what I saw. This may be the worst equiped hotel I've ever stayed. The room is ok sized, but the bathroom is very small. One of our rooms was not even cleaned when we walked in, and it was already passed 10pm. One room has the shampoo etc, but the other room does not. The breakfast is very plain, and the area is tiny, only 2 tables. To me, this is a 1 star motel, and I would not come for a 2nd time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's next to the airbase, a couple of miles from the Sea World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leilanyvien
Business
NYC
Mar 16, 2011

disaster, but good location

The only definite plus is the location, since - was on the business trip. However, the essentials needed FOR the BUSINESS were NOT functioning. The tv's cables were ripped out - unable to watch the news. The internet password was NOT working. The only reason I would ever stay there if I just needed to have a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lackland

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Hated it

The hotel was under construction and there was trash under the stairs, grocery bags floating in the jacuzzi. To use the light and refrigerator in the room you had to use an extension cord. A used napkin was on at the coffee machine. The fire alarm had the wrong size battery and beeped all night. After complaining to the desk I had to disarm the alarm myself. This is just a portion of my problems. I would NEVER go back or recommend this dump to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top