$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
148 reviews
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Sons airforce graduation

We came in late and was pleasantly greeted by the staff also was extremely accommodating we needed... See full review

  • AF WINGMOM
  • Aug 12, 2013
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
148 out of 148
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Reemus
NY
May 31, 2009

A Great Time at the Carefree

This was my second visit to San Antonio in two months. This time I went by myself to visit my husband for a long weekend (he received his wings from the Air Force). I picked this hotel especially for the location: it is literally right next to the Lackland AF Base entrance gates, and about a 10 minute drive to the Medina Annex ($7.00 +/- cab ride to the Annex). Now, I've read other reviews before I finally picked the Carefree Inn, and I must say they are deceiving. The neighborhood isn't bad or scary; there are a few of your typical fast-food joints, some native food joints, an AWESOME movie theather about 10 to 15 minutes (maybe a $10.00 cab ride) called the Alamo Drafthouse: they serve you food, drinks, and snacks!!! Back to the hotel and neighborhood: any "gun shots" of the sort you MAY hear are coming from the Base. The AF Base is spitting distance from your hotel-room door...you're going to hear those sorts of things. If you're not a fan of the military, maybe you shouldn't get a hotel so close to base, even though this place is IDEAL!!! It was a total fluke that I found this place, and I'm so glad that I booked the reservation. The only thing that I found odd and interesting at the same time is the choice in paint color for the rooms: lime green...yeah. Otherwise, beds are comfy, so are the pillows. The pool is refreshing. ENJOY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

As I mentioned in my review: check out the Alamo Drafthouse! Features most recent movies, there's a bar once you walk in, a comic book store connected inside, and they serve you food and drinks: appetizers, dinner, dessert, alcohol and carbonated beverages...practically the whole-9-yards! AMAZING!!!

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Aug 26, 2007

Location a huge plus

We were at Lackland AFB for BMT graduation and wanted a hotel close to the base. Carefree Inn was just yards from the base entrance so we never had to fight any morning traffic, it was very convenient. The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. They had a continential breakfast every morning and the rooms were very adequate for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Proud Dad
Port Angeles, Wa.
Nov 3, 2009

Access to Base

I cannot compliment the friendly staff enough especially [...]. They went out of their way to make my son's graduation comfortable for me. It is an old hotel, but for closeness to the BMT Reception Center it cannot be beat. This is not a place for the self important as I said it is old and reminds me of some of the road trips with my family in the 1960s. I had no problem with the cleanliness. You will save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need to rent a car if you stay here and are modestly fit. The base has bus service and for weekend pass there is bus service to the USO in the heart of San Antonio that come every 20 minutes.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Oct 5, 2008

Lackland AFB Friendly

This was exactly what we needed to be near Lackland AFB for my son's graduation. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
tn
Aug 2, 2011

great value

Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
Juncos, Puerto Rico
Jun 21, 2011

Excellent place for the price!

If your visit purpose is Graduation Events at Lackland AFB, this is the place to stay at!!! Is clean,good service,nice personel. The AFB Truemper Gate is just a few steps from the hotel, you can even get there walking! It was perfect for me and my family.The only thing that didn't work as we expected was the wi-fi connection, but this is not a relevant matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat good and cheap with an excellent attention and service, just walk a few steps and enjoy at Taquería El Charro de Jalisco. Really nice people working there.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Blue Earth
Oct 12, 2008

Right by the Lackland gate

The best thing about the hotel is it's proximity to Lackland AFB. Finding a place to stay any closer than this outside the base would be impossible. Since BMT graduation events are scheduled quite early in the day transit time was a snap. The hotel is older but was in the process of being updated with new carpet, paint and tiled sidewalks. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was basic but had what I needed for my stay. I encountered a few minor problems in the room at check in which the desk clerk cheerfully and promptly took care of. I liked that I could park the car right outside my door. Because the room rate was so reasonable I enjoyed doing more things in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants are not close by but there was a continental breakfast in the lobby and a refrigerator and microwave in the room. A grocery store is close.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Webster,MA
May 11, 2009

Good value

I have seen mixed reviews for this hotel, but I have to say it was very enjoyable. You couldnt be closer to your Air Force trainee, and there were tons of close-by conveniences. (grocery, fast food, etc). The beds were comfy and clean. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

EVERYTHING is close by if you are there for a graduation ceremony

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Epic Mom
Odessa,Texas
Jul 24, 2012

Our 2012 Family Vacation

This hotel was awesome!! No complaints at all. The pool is connected to a hot tub which was perfect because while my kids swam, mom was relaxing in the hot tub! 8-) The room was very clean smelled very nice, of course I checked for bed bugs and found 0. The walls are a bright green which was a first but made the room different in a good way. I would definatly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You could walk to get burritos or drive down to Dunkin Dounuts or a few fast food joints. There's a family dollar a block away its about 23 min drive to the riverwalk but you have to keep in mind its mostly highway drive combined with traffic so its reasonable.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
los angeles,calif
May 11, 2009

nice deal

I was very impressed. I went there for the graduation ceremony for my son in the airforce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top