$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
biker boy
Baltimore
Jul 8, 2014

over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are very helpful. The location is just a small walk from the base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The location of the hotel is nice drive to downtown and the airport and other parts on Texas.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Proud Step Mom
Boston
Jun 25, 2014

Not a Good Hotel

Don't stay there went for my Step Son Graduation @ the Base it was perfect location but the hotel was old and runned down our door was breaking everytime you open and closed the door and the TV was real old with the big back and the light fixtured no good find somewhere else to stay and pay a little extra

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy06
San Antonio
Apr 9, 2014

Not what you want

To be located right outside of the military installation the quality of this hotel was very poor. I was very disappointed that I searched for 3 Star hotels and it came up. This was a motel at best the walls were very thin. My son and I got no rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father of AF Graduate
Outside West Gate Lackland AFB, TX
Apr 1, 2014

Eaten alive while I slept!!!

I expected a cheap room with minimal accommodations, which is exactly what I received. The building is dilapidated, housekeeping does minimal cleaning and the sheets and beds are stained. Ok so it’s a cheap hotel can’t expect perfection, however I did expect to sleep in peace and not be eaten alive. I was bitten over multiple times while I slept by what I believed were bed bugs or something worse! I complained to the hotel front desk but the person said it could not be bed bugs and I should not be getting bitten . I felt like he was accusing me of lying, although he could clearly see where I was bitten all over my arms, head, feet and legs. He offered to give me another room, which was the least he could do. I requested my money back and received the run around. My family stayed in an adjacent room but didn’t experience this issue of being bitten, however they did have ants. Also the foreign exchange students from the AF Base who stayed at this cheap location were very loud and disruptive. If cheap is what you want and being a human blood donator, the Care Free Inn is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Calibound
Cambridge md
Feb 3, 2014

Cockroache INFESTED

Seriously disgusting! Would never stay anywhere NEAR this place again! Was in town for Air Force graduation and couldn't even stay one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mojo13jojo
beaufort, sc
Nov 26, 2013

great location

It's an inexpensive hotel, the location is great for air force graduation. However, the hotel could use improvements. Mattresses are very firm, shower heads are kind of low if you're tall, our bathroom ceiling leaked and caved in our last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican restaurant at the front of the property is inexpensive and delicious. There is a cozy bar called tiffany's within a short walk.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AF WINGMOM
Gainesville florida
Aug 12, 2013

Sons airforce graduation

We came in late and was pleasantly greeted by the staff also was extremely accommodating we needed pizza and they were so friendly also helped us get a birthday pizza for my granddaughter.we had a sick dog and the very very nice manager at he front desk not only assisted us with fresh linens also helped with our dog. I will stay again .thx for a great time and such nice service.KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK KUDOS !!!!!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister's keeper
New york
Apr 22, 2013

Bates Motel

My sister stayed here and was horrified. She eventually checked out and checked into the hotel where I was staying (Best Western, Ingram Park). This hotel was dirty. The rooms are antique and dingy, down to the paint of the walls. The front desk never asked for a credit card or ID to check in. It's really sad because you literally can walk out of the hotel an onto the AFB. If the owners invested some money towards a good renovation they would make a killing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
winniethepope
Ringling, OK
Apr 8, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!

The only thing this place has going for it is that it is close to the base. It is dirty, has cockroaches, stinks, the beds are uneven, hair on the floor in the bathroom, mold in the shower, stains on the sheets, gum on the pillows. Do not believe the reviews, this place was a nightmare. If you are going for the base stay some where else and drive, it is worth the time and the money, I promise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kimbo Slicer
Woodstock,GA
Apr 8, 2013

Carefree Inn at Lackland

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless they're looking for just an overnight stay for one night. I felt very unsecure the entire time. I was very upset that our room was not clean when we were given our room key after checking in. The beds were stripped, there was trash filled to the tops of the trashcans and all over the place, dirty towels everywhere. Just a huge mess. So we waited an hour an a half till our rooms were cleaned and ready to be slept in. Everyone who stayed there was very disrespectful and noisy. The best part of the hotel was that it was right offbase from Lackland AFB to where we were going to be all weekend. So location was just right. Quality, however, not so much. The desk manager woke us up at 11 o'clock at night to have me call about my reservations after we have already been checked in half the day, very disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You have everything around you, food wise, to get to. And if you are coming to San Antonio to see Air Force graduation, it is the most conveniently located hotel to stay at for the weekend.

Back to menu Return to top