$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
154 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Calibound
Cambridge md
Feb 3, 2014

Cockroache INFESTED

Seriously disgusting! Would never stay anywhere NEAR this place again! Was in town for Air Force graduation and couldn't even stay one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Father of AF Graduate
Outside West Gate Lackland AFB, TX
Apr 1, 2014

Eaten alive while I slept!!!

I expected a cheap room with minimal accommodations, which is exactly what I received. The building is dilapidated, housekeeping does minimal cleaning and the sheets and beds are stained. Ok so it’s a cheap hotel can’t expect perfection, however I did expect to sleep in peace and not be eaten alive. I was bitten over multiple times while I slept by what I believed were bed bugs or something worse! I complained to the hotel front desk but the person said it could not be bed bugs and I should not be getting bitten . I felt like he was accusing me of lying, although he could clearly see where I was bitten all over my arms, head, feet and legs. He offered to give me another room, which was the least he could do. I requested my money back and received the run around. My family stayed in an adjacent room but didn’t experience this issue of being bitten, however they did have ants. Also the foreign exchange students from the AF Base who stayed at this cheap location were very loud and disruptive. If cheap is what you want and being a human blood donator, the Care Free Inn is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon Angry birds
Corpus Christi
Apr 7, 2014

Do not stay here unless your broke

Dirty rooms. Old. Ugly. Baby roaches. Trash around the facility. Old furniture outside in the halls. Stay away. So gross. Nasty old place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy06
San Antonio
Apr 9, 2014

Not what you want

To be located right outside of the military installation the quality of this hotel was very poor. I was very disappointed that I searched for 3 Star hotels and it came up. This was a motel at best the walls were very thin. My son and I got no rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rahul
USA
Nov 25, 2007

Was a wrong pick

Cold room during winter, reported repeatedly about the heating problem, dirty blankets, dirty and nasty hallways and a lot more.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

About 7 miles to Seaworld and and good dining place is 5 miles from the hotel

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Normally not that picky
Dallas, TX
Mar 21, 2009

Wouldnt leave my dog there!

I would not let my dog stay here. We arrived and checked in but never stayed the night in the room. We arrived to a very unfriendly desk clerk. When we checked in the pass key did not work and the room smelled like cigars. The cleaning lady was watching our room as if she was ready for us to leave. She did not speak English... so we had to tell her "no clean room" repeatedly. At that point we did not realize the room was filthy and had ants crawling all over the room. We called the front desk who told us they were busy. A half hour later a guy showed up with insect industrial sprayer that looked to be very well used. He asked if we could leave the room for awhile. I advised we would be leaving for longer than awhile... We would not be staying in the room. They should be removed from the listings if you would like to remain reputable. They stated they would not give me a refund for the rooms but that I would have to contact you because they would notify orbitz. This was my first time booking anything online thru an agency... It is the last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lackland Mom
MemphisTN
Jul 3, 2009

Closest hotel to Lackland AFB

We were at this hotel for second Lackland grad for our family. Chose this hotel this time for base proximity.Stay at other hotel 4yrs ago required paid shuttle trans on/off base. Though we could walk onto base from Carefree, LONG walk is required once on base. The front desk staff was very welcoming but the property is not at all attractive & is in need of maintenance. We called desk to report that security door chains on both our rooms were broken.They sent someone to repair right away but we had to question why they were broken. They did appear to be trying to make improvements but workmen were caulking windows to our rooms at 10:30 at night! Pool was clean & nice but late at night would be filled with teen/20 somethings drinking & yelling til 1:30 am when we called front desk. They went out to break it up but why should we have to call when pool rules state that it closes at 11pm? Shower ran cold after 1 person use. Many fast food restaurants within walking distance. All in all we would only recommend this hotel if you are going to Lackland grad & are on a VERY, VERY tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Skeet shooter
Colorado
Oct 12, 2009

Bad Experience......old and musty..

Old, nasty conditions. Would not return the prepayment. Stayed at another location but had to pay for this nasty room for 10 days. Don't not stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria The Dissapointed Traveler
Tampa, Florida
Jan 25, 2011

Do Not Stay Here!

I came here for my daughters graduation from BMT and I thought that it would have been a great experience staying at Carefree, being that its a 3 star (NOT). The supposedly continental breakfast was only a pot of coffee, 3 canisters with sugared cereal and a couple of Eggo waffles. Thats what they call continental! And by the time we got there to get breakfast, there had nothing there (before 7:00 a.m) I know we were there for a Grad and we wouldn't have much time to be at the hotel, but come on! Old Furniture, broken down dressers, leaky faucets, the beds were old and lumpy and when you sat down it squeeked with a capital S! Not me again!!! And my cousin is traveling there in 2 months for her sons Grad and believe me I will make sure to tell her not to stay there! The Only good thing is that it's right outside of the Airforce. They need to demolish it and build a new one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
PETERSBURG, VA
May 11, 2011

carefree inn

The hotel was not what i expected. The bathroom was very dirty. The shower curtain was mildrew and the tub looked as if it had not been cleaned for days. I found a dirty rag on top of the shower curtain that had mildrewed as well. I pulle the curtain open so the housekeeper can change it when she did room services but she pushed it back. I reported it to the front desk. She changed the curtain but did not clean the tub. I will not be staying there EVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search