$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
154 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
18 megapixels
Oregon
Sep 5, 2012

If you're coming to see your airman, at BMT...

This place is right at the entrance to the base. That's a plus and a minus. The plus is that you are right there, the minus is the early morning traffic can leave you locked in for a while. The hotel is just a place to sleep and park your bags, your paying for the location. At the end of a busy day though, you probably won't be going out much, so you do spend some time there. It's in serious need of remodeling and maintenance. We had to get them to unclog the sink on arrival, the batteries died on the key-card lock, and we routinely had to go ask for towels each night. I realize the Texas heat might make remodeling hard to schedule, but the obvious upkeep shouldn't be overlooked as standard operations. The day staff was friendly, the night staff had a bit of an attitude. All in all, it got the job done, but I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a HEB (groceries), McDonald's, Burger King, a few minutes away, not much else. The 410 ramp is right there, and a few miles either way has more options. Bring an up to date GPS and use it to mark key points on base - like the reception center, barracks drop off, exchange, movie theater, chapel and restaurants when you find them. But don't absolutely trust it to get you off base from these points, or even between these points. The map info on base won't be totally accurate and it may try to take you out a different gate (there is one set of gates, that takes you off base for a few hundred feet). Two of the four days, your airman is restricted to base and that could cause a problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for.

We were there for BMT Graduation. The proximity was great, only 50 yards from gate and dorms. We could hear them training, and they start early. Don't get your hopes up for this motel. Lime green walls, dirty showers, stained linen. There is a pool and jacuzzi but we wouldn't swim in it (couldn't see the bottom) you get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and friendly, a/c worked great, has a microwave and small refrigerator, they have wi-fi available and serve a continental breakfast (we never used so no rating). We just slept there no hanging out, our day was pretty planned due to airmans schedule. We didn't mind so it didn't matter. It was a one time thing anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 15, 2007

The night I check in the ...

The night I check in the sheet on both beds was dirty. Mascara was on one set of sheets sand was in the bed close to the bathroom. When getting the continental breakfast I felt I was making them go out of their way b/c they did not have breakfast setting out until I arrived. I did request to the front desk to have house keeping to please clean my room (I stayed 2 nights) I did get clean sheets but the unusual amout of hair I bought to her attention (in the bathroom between the toilet and the bathtub) was not cleaned up. The room had a safe with key, but when I tried to use the safe, key would not work. Pool looks green. Room was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

local Mexican food, churches, ATM is across the street, air force academy's fence line is on the property line of hote.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
M.Arie
Syracuse
Feb 11, 2013

ok

The staf was good. The room had a leak in the sink. The dead bolt would not lock. They did end up fixing the sink the day I checked out. The view from my room was a MASSIVE power plant. You could hear it humming all night. The best part was hearing the basic trainees in the morning doing excercises. (however if you want to sleep in you should request a room on the other side of the hotel. Over all for the price it was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raginrick
Sun Valley, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

good, and some bad

We went to see my youngest son graduate air force boot camp.we did have a problem with our shower ceiling we was sitting watching tv and one peice of the ceiling fell down into the bath tub so the rest of our stay we had hot water dripping on us as we took our shower.I had gotten out of th pool was walking back to my room and they had 2 ice buckets under an air conditioner was trying to keep the water from running all over the walk way I guess. there was water all over the walk way and i slipped and fell got a big lump on my knee. It has been a long time since me and my family had gone on a vaction. I did take 2 pictures of the bath room so if you would like to see them you could e-mail me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Air Base Parent
Santa Rosa, CA
Mar 28, 2010

Stay Here

The motel was OK. The location is great for people visiting basic graduation at Lackland AFB. Mexican restaurant next door that looks like a dive is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Joe Bob
Buffalo, NY
Jun 7, 2011

Questionable

I don't need anything special for a hotel room, so this worked alright with me. However, my in-laws decided to stay at the same hotel and they were not at all pleased. I killed a cockroach and they had one already dead in their room, along with a used Q-tip that remained there throughout their stay, despite the attempts at cleaning by the cleaners. Some lights didn't work and the bathroom was poorly put together. Also, every room is painted florescent green so be prepared for some weird dreams. If you're staying there for proximity to Lackland Base, you can't do any better! Overall it was a cheap hotel and it felt like one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Riverwalk in the downtown area of San Antonio is absolutely worth seeing. It is now one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelley, *
Sep 8, 2008

just below average

The Carefree Inn at Lackand was below average, if you are planning on spending time on base it's great, but if you want to see some of San Antonio stay somewhere else. I felt like I overpaid for this hotel, the rooms were not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lackland Base is right next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
airman wife
Allentown, PA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

no so bad

Was ok. If you like camping you can handle this hotel. Its good for airman graduation. Its literally next to the base. But if you re vacacioning and be a nice place this is not recommended. But if you plan just sleep may be is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bristol, VT
Jul 26, 2011

close to base. outside the gates

We went to Lackland AFB graduation. The hotel wasn't as clean as depicted on-line, but we were not there for the hotel. We were interested in being close to our airman. The pool was extremely small, rooms not so clean. But for the value, and closeness of base, so worth it to us. We would stay again to see our son graduate and be that close to us. Beats fighting traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hungry Farmer Restraunt was amazing. It was just off the highway. A small out of the way place. Thought it wasn't going to be good, but the steak was the most juiciest, tasty steak I have ever had. The atmosphere and waitress was amazing. Would highly recommend it to EVERYONE.... I hope we can go there again. Not crowded at all. Don't know if tourists even know about it. On a side street. Look it up and go, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search