$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
156 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alissa aaronson.
Business
johnstown, PA
Jul 15, 2010

nothing less than expected.

i stayed at the carefree inn in lackland solely because of the closeness to the lackland AFB. other families and i could literally walk across the yard to the valley hi gate, which also has a 24-hour visitors' center so you can sign in. i stayed for five days, and it was pretty much just a place to sleep, so i didn't expect much. the hotel smelled a little funny- mainly in the bathroom. the hotel staff was very friendly, however, they did not give me new towels like three days in a row. this was my first time ever travelling alone, and it actually was not as bad as i thought. i recommend this hotel for people going to the lackland afb graduation. there is a bus stop rather close to the hotel where you and your airman can walk if you didn't rent a car or drive (i didn't even have to rent a car because it was so close to the entrance of the base!) and you can take the bus downtown on town-pass days. it is also very close to a lot of restraunts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the lackland air force base is literally like 50 yards away from the hotel's entrance. it was VERY convienent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Iliana Mami
Business
Laredo, Texas
Feb 7, 2011

My opinion

We stay confortable and quiet, really not much bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DJaxon1
Business
Ctown, MD
Mar 7, 2011

poor housekeeping

House keeper didn't clean room. Soap left in shower from previous guest. Crumbs in bed. Pillow cases stained. WiFi works in some places in room(like bad cell phone service). Management was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only good point is closness to Lackland AFB. Motel right at entrance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beast of the East
Business
Dallas, Tejas
Jun 1, 2011

not as nice as advertised,

The location was not as close as advertise! No trees for shade pool was in the open sun! Rooms were clean but not as nice as the pictures in website! Continental breakfast was bleak to say the least! The price was cheap but can get a better deal somewhere nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leonitus31
Business
san antonio,tx
Oct 31, 2011

Get What U pay For

This hotel is good for only one thing. Cheapness. If you are just looking for a place to stay this is it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ARG JR
Business
PA
Mar 27, 2012

Staying in SanAntonio on the river walk

We did not stay in the Hotel. Once we arrived in San Antonio we decided to stay in town so we could walk to the Riverwalk and all the attractions there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Riverwalk is the place to stay,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
18 megapixels
Business
Oregon
Sep 5, 2012

If you're coming to see your airman, at BMT...

This place is right at the entrance to the base. That's a plus and a minus. The plus is that you are right there, the minus is the early morning traffic can leave you locked in for a while. The hotel is just a place to sleep and park your bags, your paying for the location. At the end of a busy day though, you probably won't be going out much, so you do spend some time there. It's in serious need of remodeling and maintenance. We had to get them to unclog the sink on arrival, the batteries died on the key-card lock, and we routinely had to go ask for towels each night. I realize the Texas heat might make remodeling hard to schedule, but the obvious upkeep shouldn't be overlooked as standard operations. The day staff was friendly, the night staff had a bit of an attitude. All in all, it got the job done, but I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a HEB (groceries), McDonald's, Burger King, a few minutes away, not much else. The 410 ramp is right there, and a few miles either way has more options. Bring an up to date GPS and use it to mark key points on base - like the reception center, barracks drop off, exchange, movie theater, chapel and restaurants when you find them. But don't absolutely trust it to get you off base from these points, or even between these points. The map info on base won't be totally accurate and it may try to take you out a different gate (there is one set of gates, that takes you off base for a few hundred feet). Two of the four days, your airman is restricted to base and that could cause a problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
again
Business
staten island, NY
Sep 11, 2012

air force graduation

The hotel was old and the rooms very dusty. This made my allergies act up every time I was in the room. Staff was nice, but twice our room was not cleaned. The only positive is that the hotel is right outside the base gate and it made it easy to get on base in the morning. I will never stay in this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lori Proud AF Mom
Business
San Antonio
Oct 29, 2012

Only a location

Location to the base is the only nice thing I can really say, other than the staff was also pleasant. The room, the amenities...need help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Lackland AFB

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Think Twice or more
Business
Bremerton, Washington
Feb 5, 2013

Location a plus

If you are looking for a place that is right outside Lackland Airforce Base (about 100 to 250 feet away) and you do not care what the motel/hotel offers in room/bathroom quality this is the place to stay. The motel rooms are LIME GREEN in color, the bathroom toilet rocked, ceiling light did not work it was burned out, toilet paper roll was out and ran out during our stay (was not replaced until asked for some). Residents could be heard through the paper thin walls and ceilings at 0130 a.m. in the morning. Not a place to leave your food in a refrigerator (think twice before doing so, they do not tell you): house-keeping unplugs the refrigerator the next day after you placed food in it to use to save money and find that the food has gone bad since it was unplugged. The evening staff responded to situations was prompt and courteous to us. The breakfast bar was reasonable and stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top