$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epic Mom
Odessa,Texas
Jul 24, 2012

Our 2012 Family Vacation

This hotel was awesome!! No complaints at all. The pool is connected to a hot tub which was perfect because while my kids swam, mom was relaxing in the hot tub! 8-) The room was very clean smelled very nice, of course I checked for bed bugs and found 0. The walls are a bright green which was a first but made the room different in a good way. I would definatly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You could walk to get burritos or drive down to Dunkin Dounuts or a few fast food joints. There's a family dollar a block away its about 23 min drive to the riverwalk but you have to keep in mind its mostly highway drive combined with traffic so its reasonable.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for.

We were there for BMT Graduation. The proximity was great, only 50 yards from gate and dorms. We could hear them training, and they start early. Don't get your hopes up for this motel. Lime green walls, dirty showers, stained linen. There is a pool and jacuzzi but we wouldn't swim in it (couldn't see the bottom) you get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and friendly, a/c worked great, has a microwave and small refrigerator, they have wi-fi available and serve a continental breakfast (we never used so no rating). We just slept there no hanging out, our day was pretty planned due to airmans schedule. We didn't mind so it didn't matter. It was a one time thing anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for.

We were there for BMT Graduation. The proximity was great, only 50 yards from gate and dorms. We could hear them training, and they start early. Don't get your hopes up for this motel. Lime green walls, dirty showers, stained linen. There is a pool and jacuzzi but we wouldn't swim in it (couldn't see the bottom) you get what you pay for. Staff was helpful and friendly, a/c worked great, has a microwave and small refrigerator, they have wi-fi available and serve a continental breakfast (we never used so no rating). We just slept there no hanging out, our day was pretty planned due to airmans schedule. We didn't mind so it didn't matter. It was a one time thing anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Air Force Family
Gurabo, Puerto Rico
Jun 22, 2011

Very homey and quiet

I went to visit someone at Lackland Air Force Base for their graduation and the hotel was located right next to the gate making it very easy for us to go in and out of the base as we pleased without having to deal with traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mexican restaurant in front of the hotel called El Charro de Jalisco that served great food at affordable prices. Hearty dishes and great service make it fun for the family.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Juncos, Puerto Rico
Jun 21, 2011

Excellent place for the price!

If your visit purpose is Graduation Events at Lackland AFB, this is the place to stay at!!! Is clean,good service,nice personel. The AFB Truemper Gate is just a few steps from the hotel, you can even get there walking! It was perfect for me and my family.The only thing that didn't work as we expected was the wi-fi connection, but this is not a relevant matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to eat good and cheap with an excellent attention and service, just walk a few steps and enjoy at Taquería El Charro de Jalisco. Really nice people working there.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisified traveler
Olivehurst, CA
Jun 13, 2011

DISQUSTING HOTEL!!!!!!

I have never stayed in a more disqusting hotel than this. The only reason I stayed after I checked in was because I prepaid [...] The desk clerk was also very friendly and polite...the only other reason I didn't run away screaming. I actually witnessed someone pouring bleach from a bottle, yes, like Clorox, into the pool. That is not proper pool maintenance. Needless to say, I didn't swim. I was also told that the owner uses Fabuloso to spray bugs. Fabuloso is a cleaner for goodness sake. As for the rooms being recently renovated, mine sure didn't look like it. It has old lime green paint and the whole ceiling was littered with nasty brown stains. The only thing that might be a plus to someone is that this hotel is located right outside the main gate at Lackland AFB. I still wouldn't recommend staying here, though. YUCK! I know I will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisified traveler
Olivehurst, CA
Jun 13, 2011

DISQUSTING HOTEL!!!!!!

I have never stayed in a more disqusting hotel than this. The only reason I stayed after I checked in was because I prepaid [...] The desk clerk was also very friendly and polite...the only other reason I didn't run away screaming. I actually witnessed someone pouring bleach from a bottle, yes, like Clorox, into the pool. That is not proper pool maintenance. Needless to say, I didn't swim. I was also told that the owner uses Fabuloso to spray bugs. Fabuloso is a cleaner for goodness sake. As for the rooms being recently renovated, mine sure didn't look like it. It has old lime green paint and the whole ceiling was littered with nasty brown stains. The only thing that might be a plus to someone is that this hotel is located right outside the main gate at Lackland AFB. I still wouldn't recommend staying here, though. YUCK! I know I will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Joe Bob
Buffalo, NY
Jun 7, 2011

Questionable

I don't need anything special for a hotel room, so this worked alright with me. However, my in-laws decided to stay at the same hotel and they were not at all pleased. I killed a cockroach and they had one already dead in their room, along with a used Q-tip that remained there throughout their stay, despite the attempts at cleaning by the cleaners. Some lights didn't work and the bathroom was poorly put together. Also, every room is painted florescent green so be prepared for some weird dreams. If you're staying there for proximity to Lackland Base, you can't do any better! Overall it was a cheap hotel and it felt like one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Riverwalk in the downtown area of San Antonio is absolutely worth seeing. It is now one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen!

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sally Joe Bob
Buffalo, NY
Jun 7, 2011

Questionable

I don't need anything special for a hotel room, so this worked alright with me. However, my in-laws decided to stay at the same hotel and they were not at all pleased. I killed a cockroach and they had one already dead in their room, along with a used Q-tip that remained there throughout their stay, despite the attempts at cleaning by the cleaners. Some lights didn't work and the bathroom was poorly put together. Also, every room is painted florescent green so be prepared for some weird dreams. If you're staying there for proximity to Lackland Base, you can't do any better! Overall it was a cheap hotel and it felt like one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Riverwalk in the downtown area of San Antonio is absolutely worth seeing. It is now one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen!

Back to menu Return to top