$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bristol, VT
Jul 26, 2011

close to base. outside the gates

We went to Lackland AFB graduation. The hotel wasn't as clean as depicted on-line, but we were not there for the hotel. We were interested in being close to our airman. The pool was extremely small, rooms not so clean. But for the value, and closeness of base, so worth it to us. We would stay again to see our son graduate and be that close to us. Beats fighting traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hungry Farmer Restraunt was amazing. It was just off the highway. A small out of the way place. Thought it wasn't going to be good, but the steak was the most juiciest, tasty steak I have ever had. The atmosphere and waitress was amazing. Would highly recommend it to EVERYONE.... I hope we can go there again. Not crowded at all. Don't know if tourists even know about it. On a side street. Look it up and go, you won't regret it.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bristol, VT
Jul 26, 2011

close to base. outside the gates

We went to Lackland AFB graduation. The hotel wasn't as clean as depicted on-line, but we were not there for the hotel. We were interested in being close to our airman. The pool was extremely small, rooms not so clean. But for the value, and closeness of base, so worth it to us. We would stay again to see our son graduate and be that close to us. Beats fighting traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hungry Farmer Restraunt was amazing. It was just off the highway. A small out of the way place. Thought it wasn't going to be good, but the steak was the most juiciest, tasty steak I have ever had. The atmosphere and waitress was amazing. Would highly recommend it to EVERYONE.... I hope we can go there again. Not crowded at all. Don't know if tourists even know about it. On a side street. Look it up and go, you won't regret it.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Jul 15, 2011

A place to sleep

Needed an economical place to stay! This fit our needs. Spent majority of our time at Sea World and Six Flags so we used room to sleep and shower. If your not particular about decor or the outdated accommodations then this place will work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Paso, TX
Jul 15, 2011

A place to sleep

Needed an economical place to stay! This fit our needs. Spent majority of our time at Sea World and Six Flags so we used room to sleep and shower. If your not particular about decor or the outdated accommodations then this place will work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Interlachen fl
Jul 6, 2011

conviently close

i had to get my room moved for the internet to work but other than that it was nice quiet and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Interlachen fl
Jul 6, 2011

conviently close

i had to get my room moved for the internet to work but other than that it was nice quiet and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN.
Jul 6, 2011

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

Our daughter was graduating from the AFB. The good = it was next to the base. The Bad = when we walked into the room, there was paper on the floor and the bathroom light flickered on for 2 min., everytime, before it stayed on. Toilet paper was in the toilet not flushed. The beds were hard as rock, it reminded me of camping on the ground. The write up on the pool was basicly, false advertising, pool was green & slippery. The ugly = There was mold in the bathroom because my daughter that came down to see her sister got a bad reaction from the mold. I was ready to call the TX health dept., but, I didn't. So, we were suppose to stay 5 nights & after the first night had to check out and get another hotel that was great, for close to the same price. I told the management on duty & they would not refund the other 4 nights, because I didn't book thru them directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN.
Jul 6, 2011

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

Our daughter was graduating from the AFB. The good = it was next to the base. The Bad = when we walked into the room, there was paper on the floor and the bathroom light flickered on for 2 min., everytime, before it stayed on. Toilet paper was in the toilet not flushed. The beds were hard as rock, it reminded me of camping on the ground. The write up on the pool was basicly, false advertising, pool was green & slippery. The ugly = There was mold in the bathroom because my daughter that came down to see her sister got a bad reaction from the mold. I was ready to call the TX health dept., but, I didn't. So, we were suppose to stay 5 nights & after the first night had to check out and get another hotel that was great, for close to the same price. I told the management on duty & they would not refund the other 4 nights, because I didn't book thru them directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top