$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann B.
San Antonio, TX
Jan 3, 2013

Good location and easy to get to.

The motel was more than I really expected, since it was located in an area that was not exactly good, when I left the area 10 years ago. The area has cleaned up and is much better. The only problem was that the road was not very good, it is full of pot holes, but we got around them without any damage to our tires.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The motel is close to 2 freeways: 410 and 90, one which will take you around the whole city and the other a shorter way down town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2011

The worst experience

My family and I took a trip to Sea World in San Antonio and booked our hotel reservations [...]. We checked into the Carefree Inn and checked right back out. The place was horrible. The room smelled so bad, lights didn't work and my husband almost fell through the chair. [...] This is now 4 days that the manager won't call us back. I am now looking for a Corporate phone number so I can try and get this straight. GREAT customer service!!! I can't believe I am having to spend my vacation chasing down $60 just because a hotel manager doesn't want to help me. I hope nobody uses this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexismom
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!!!

Room was horrible. Listen to all the bad reviews you read about this place because they are all true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easty Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Caught on fire!

I was awaken at 12:30 p.m. by bangin on the door and screaming telling me to vacate my room because the hotel was on fire! An electrical fire in the building next to mine brought out 3 fire engines. We sat in the parking lot for 2 hours wondering if we were going to have to sleep in our car or were they going to give us a refund. Finally the fireman told us that our building was clear to go back into as long as we could stand the smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Business
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport News, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Stay Away

The Carefree Inn stay was not comfortable, the room was not prepare for anyone to sleep in. There were mold on the ceiling and on the walls. The smell of mold filled the room. The microwave and the bathroom was dirty. There were ant's crawling on the floor in the bathroom and vanity area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sennyv06
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 12, 2010

VERY BAD SERVICE N STAFF!

As we arrived, we were NOT Greeted my a person. I had to come to the desk and told the man that i was checking in. The old gentleman looked like some one just hired him from the streets. Longed hair, NOT Groomed with a dirty hat and NO TEETH! YUCK! so i checked in and he gave me an attitude...UGh! so i got my stuff and he gave me a Room. when we got to the room it looked old BAD SMELL! smelled like some one had smoked tabacco. It smelled BITTER! and it was HOT! So disgusting. I went back to the old gentleman and requested another room. This room was down stairs much cooler but had stained ceiling and the restroom, toilet didnt flush right! and when we wanted to enjoy the TV the Buttons of the TV to turn they were all pushed out. MY STAY SUCKED! I wished i knew a better to stay the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

H.E.B is just around the corner at the light!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2007

Close to the AirForce Base

Everything in the room smelled of smoke. The tub had a crack and I could hear when the people in the next room went to the restroom. The guest over me were very noisy. I woke up on the first night from a door slamming and I taught someone was trying to break down my door. I was there for the Air Force graduation and the location was perfect. We walked to the supermarket and that saved us from the resturant food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 9, 2007

Not what I had expected.

We were very diapointed on the whole vacation plan concerning on the Hotel rooms and one person who was on duty one night. He was vere disrespectful to my children when I asked them to send clean towels to my room. I will not ever go back to them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Resturant next door has real Mexican Food. Also has pleasant people working there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clovis, NM
Sep 3, 2007

Don't stay here

The room was absolutely awful; mold waas growing on the ceilinga and walls, one of the two beds was broken, and the smell of smoke was very prevalent, the bedding didn't match, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2008

Nothing you'd expect

The room was very outdated and was not completely re-done. There was no mop boards in the bathroom or under the tub. The floor inside the closet was down to the subfloor. Our bathroom light would not come on all of the time. Every morning we had to take cold showers. We complained to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do. It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are alot of shopping places and restaurants within a short drive of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top