$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
50 Yards from LACKLAND AFB and newly renovated, this is the perfect spot for Family and Friends of Lackland Grads. 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MED CTR, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM, Relax in Our Large OUTDOOR POOL and HOT TUB. Clean, Safe, Friendly, Business and Leisure Class Accommodations. Extra Large Rooms, FREE Wireless High Speed Internet, FREE deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN, and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Pet Friendly, Self Service Guest Laundry, Handicapped Rooms Available, Daily Maid Service. Convenient Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Sea World, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio including, The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leilanyvien
Business
NYC
Mar 16, 2011

disaster, but good location

The only definite plus is the location, since - was on the business trip. However, the essentials needed FOR the BUSINESS were NOT functioning. The tv's cables were ripped out - unable to watch the news. The internet password was NOT working. The only reason I would ever stay there if I just needed to have a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lackland

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newport News, VA
Aug 12, 2007

Stay Away

The Carefree Inn stay was not comfortable, the room was not prepare for anyone to sleep in. There were mold on the ceiling and on the walls. The smell of mold filled the room. The microwave and the bathroom was dirty. There were ant's crawling on the floor in the bathroom and vanity area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN.
Jul 6, 2011

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

Our daughter was graduating from the AFB. The good = it was next to the base. The Bad = when we walked into the room, there was paper on the floor and the bathroom light flickered on for 2 min., everytime, before it stayed on. Toilet paper was in the toilet not flushed. The beds were hard as rock, it reminded me of camping on the ground. The write up on the pool was basicly, false advertising, pool was green & slippery. The ugly = There was mold in the bathroom because my daughter that came down to see her sister got a bad reaction from the mold. I was ready to call the TX health dept., but, I didn't. So, we were suppose to stay 5 nights & after the first night had to check out and get another hotel that was great, for close to the same price. I told the management on duty & they would not refund the other 4 nights, because I didn't book thru them directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leilanyvien
Business
NYC
Mar 16, 2011

disaster, but good location

The only definite plus is the location, since - was on the business trip. However, the essentials needed FOR the BUSINESS were NOT functioning. The tv's cables were ripped out - unable to watch the news. The internet password was NOT working. The only reason I would ever stay there if I just needed to have a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lackland

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clovis, NM
Sep 3, 2007

Don't stay here

The room was absolutely awful; mold waas growing on the ceilinga and walls, one of the two beds was broken, and the smell of smoke was very prevalent, the bedding didn't match, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lackland Mom
MemphisTN
Jul 3, 2009

Closest hotel to Lackland AFB

We were at this hotel for second Lackland grad for our family. Chose this hotel this time for base proximity.Stay at other hotel 4yrs ago required paid shuttle trans on/off base. Though we could walk onto base from Carefree, LONG walk is required once on base. The front desk staff was very welcoming but the property is not at all attractive & is in need of maintenance. We called desk to report that security door chains on both our rooms were broken.They sent someone to repair right away but we had to question why they were broken. They did appear to be trying to make improvements but workmen were caulking windows to our rooms at 10:30 at night! Pool was clean & nice but late at night would be filled with teen/20 somethings drinking & yelling til 1:30 am when we called front desk. They went out to break it up but why should we have to call when pool rules state that it closes at 11pm? Shower ran cold after 1 person use. Many fast food restaurants within walking distance. All in all we would only recommend this hotel if you are going to Lackland grad & are on a VERY, VERY tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 9, 2007

Not what I had expected.

We were very diapointed on the whole vacation plan concerning on the Hotel rooms and one person who was on duty one night. He was vere disrespectful to my children when I asked them to send clean towels to my room. I will not ever go back to them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Resturant next door has real Mexican Food. Also has pleasant people working there.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2007

Close to the AirForce Base

Everything in the room smelled of smoke. The tub had a crack and I could hear when the people in the next room went to the restroom. The guest over me were very noisy. I woke up on the first night from a door slamming and I taught someone was trying to break down my door. I was there for the Air Force graduation and the location was perfect. We walked to the supermarket and that saved us from the resturant food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, Louisiana
Jul 28, 2009

Horrible!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!

Please what ever you do pass this hotel up. The picture on this site is not what the hotel actually looks like. The rooms are very old, smells bad, looks like rats have chewed on furniture. Smoke detector on the wall was disassembled therefore if there was a fire it would not alert us. There was a huge gap in the door! This hotel was not worth the $112.00 we paid for it. Just be careful when booking....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top