$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
156 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
again
Business
staten island, NY
Sep 11, 2012

air force graduation

The hotel was old and the rooms very dusty. This made my allergies act up every time I was in the room. Staff was nice, but twice our room was not cleaned. The only positive is that the hotel is right outside the base gate and it made it easy to get on base in the morning. I will never stay in this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
18 megapixels
Business
Oregon
Sep 5, 2012

If you're coming to see your airman, at BMT...

This place is right at the entrance to the base. That's a plus and a minus. The plus is that you are right there, the minus is the early morning traffic can leave you locked in for a while. The hotel is just a place to sleep and park your bags, your paying for the location. At the end of a busy day though, you probably won't be going out much, so you do spend some time there. It's in serious need of remodeling and maintenance. We had to get them to unclog the sink on arrival, the batteries died on the key-card lock, and we routinely had to go ask for towels each night. I realize the Texas heat might make remodeling hard to schedule, but the obvious upkeep shouldn't be overlooked as standard operations. The day staff was friendly, the night staff had a bit of an attitude. All in all, it got the job done, but I doubt I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a HEB (groceries), McDonald's, Burger King, a few minutes away, not much else. The 410 ramp is right there, and a few miles either way has more options. Bring an up to date GPS and use it to mark key points on base - like the reception center, barracks drop off, exchange, movie theater, chapel and restaurants when you find them. But don't absolutely trust it to get you off base from these points, or even between these points. The map info on base won't be totally accurate and it may try to take you out a different gate (there is one set of gates, that takes you off base for a few hundred feet). Two of the four days, your airman is restricted to base and that could cause a problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
florida wing mom
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Hotel Nightmare

The place was dirty. No clean towels when the room was so called cleaned. Left the dirty towels behind. Did not change the sheets. Carpet was disgusting. We had bugs and the tile floors were cracked everywhere. Wi-Fi is very spotty. It has to be rebutted often. Staff did not want to do it. Decor is very very bad. We were told the owner did not want to invest any money in it. They are making there money of the family of the airforce grads and not wanting to improve the looks or comfort. Only in it for the profit. If it was not for the location I would have left the minute I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to be close to the base but not on the base, this is it. Right outside the base gates. Saves time waiting in line for ceremonies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fred Z
Business
Newburgh NY
Jul 31, 2012

Good family place

Not bad for the price. Excellent location. Right across the street from the Lackland AFB entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epic Mom
Business
Odessa,Texas
Jul 24, 2012

Our 2012 Family Vacation

This hotel was awesome!! No complaints at all. The pool is connected to a hot tub which was perfect because while my kids swam, mom was relaxing in the hot tub! 8-) The room was very clean smelled very nice, of course I checked for bed bugs and found 0. The walls are a bright green which was a first but made the room different in a good way. I would definatly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You could walk to get burritos or drive down to Dunkin Dounuts or a few fast food joints. There's a family dollar a block away its about 23 min drive to the riverwalk but you have to keep in mind its mostly highway drive combined with traffic so its reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMT mom
Business
Corpus Christi, Tx
Jul 19, 2012

u get what u pay for

Great location, rude staff, room is clean but needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deez Nuts
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Awesome Place To Get BIt By Bed Bugs

The absolute worst place i could stay at. I could not believe that they did nt charge by the hour this place was so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFWifeTx
Business
Texas, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Air Force Graduation

Stayed here 5 nights.Nothing fancy.My room had LIME green walls. The maid brought clean towels and made the bed while we were out exploring San Antonio every morning. The best part of this place would be that it is right outside Lackland AFB. So if you want to be close to the gate this is the perfect place to stay! It is also close to several fast food restaurants in case you want to grab a quick bite to eat.The worse thing about this hotel was that some nights it was impossible to get the hot water to work so I could take a comfortable shower....maybe had something to do with the high volume of people taking showers at that time of night.Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had another Air Force graduation to attend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Pugh Bear
Business
Hurricane, UT, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Convenient yet needing modernization

It was within 100 yards of the Lacklend Air Force base where we spent all of our time. The rooms need to be modernized and some attention given to replacing ceiling tiles. The cleaning staff were more interested in getting their job done rather than providing you with an enhanced experience. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work but the chain lock was fine. The paint and carpets need to be updated. The bed was very firm, TV was local cable, The walls are thin and you can tell what the next room is watching on TV. The bathroom door was showing a lot of wear and tear and needs to be replaced. The main door threshold needs to be replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World, is fifteen minutes away. The AT&T Center is fifteen minutes away you can see basketball and hockey when in season. The Alamo is twenty minutes away. Freeways are relatively easy to follow. Though it is helpful to have a GPS system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ARG JR
Business
PA
Mar 27, 2012

Staying in SanAntonio on the river walk

We did not stay in the Hotel. Once we arrived in San Antonio we decided to stay in town so we could walk to the Riverwalk and all the attractions there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Riverwalk is the place to stay,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top