$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
50 Yards from LACKLAND AFB and newly renovated, this is the perfect spot for Family and Friends of Lackland Grads. 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MED CTR, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM, Relax in Our Large OUTDOOR POOL and HOT TUB. Clean, Safe, Friendly, Business and Leisure Class Accommodations. Extra Large Rooms, FREE Wireless High Speed Internet, FREE deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN, and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Pet Friendly, Self Service Guest Laundry, Handicapped Rooms Available, Daily Maid Service. Convenient Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Sea World, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio including, The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 27, 2011

The worst experience

My family and I took a trip to Sea World in San Antonio and booked our hotel reservations [...]. We checked into the Carefree Inn and checked right back out. The place was horrible. The room smelled so bad, lights didn't work and my husband almost fell through the chair. [...] This is now 4 days that the manager won't call us back. I am now looking for a Corporate phone number so I can try and get this straight. GREAT customer service!!! I can't believe I am having to spend my vacation chasing down $60 just because a hotel manager doesn't want to help me. I hope nobody uses this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria The Dissapointed Traveler
Tampa, Florida
Jan 25, 2011

Do Not Stay Here!

I came here for my daughters graduation from BMT and I thought that it would have been a great experience staying at Carefree, being that its a 3 star (NOT). The supposedly continental breakfast was only a pot of coffee, 3 canisters with sugared cereal and a couple of Eggo waffles. Thats what they call continental! And by the time we got there to get breakfast, there had nothing there (before 7:00 a.m) I know we were there for a Grad and we wouldn't have much time to be at the hotel, but come on! Old Furniture, broken down dressers, leaky faucets, the beds were old and lumpy and when you sat down it squeeked with a capital S! Not me again!!! And my cousin is traveling there in 2 months for her sons Grad and believe me I will make sure to tell her not to stay there! The Only good thing is that it's right outside of the Airforce. They need to demolish it and build a new one there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Parent of USAF Airman
Colorado
Apr 17, 2011

Do NOT stay in this hotel

I made a reservation after reading generally positive reviews. These reviews must be written by a friend of the owner. This place is falling apart and filthy. I left after a few minutes,[...]. It was worth it for the piece of mind. I drove around and found a Motel 6 for $40 per night. It was the Taj Mahal compared to the Comfort Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
florida wing mom
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Hotel Nightmare

The place was dirty. No clean towels when the room was so called cleaned. Left the dirty towels behind. Did not change the sheets. Carpet was disgusting. We had bugs and the tile floors were cracked everywhere. Wi-Fi is very spotty. It has to be rebutted often. Staff did not want to do it. Decor is very very bad. We were told the owner did not want to invest any money in it. They are making there money of the family of the airforce grads and not wanting to improve the looks or comfort. Only in it for the profit. If it was not for the location I would have left the minute I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to be close to the base but not on the base, this is it. Right outside the base gates. Saves time waiting in line for ceremonies

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Jul 5, 2010

a

The motel toilet, not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexismom
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!!!

Room was horrible. Listen to all the bad reviews you read about this place because they are all true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lexismom
Houston, TX
Jul 26, 2010

DO NOT USE THIS PLACE!!!!

Room was horrible. Listen to all the bad reviews you read about this place because they are all true!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

Poor property maintenance

We were lucky enough to get a room. The air conditioner in our room did not work. They promised to send someone to look at it only, that person never showed up. It was a long, uncomfortable night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SeaWorld is a short drive from this location

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 9, 2007

Old motel

The Carefree Inn was not carefree. There were bugs in the room and the air conditioner did mnot function properly, To many furniture items in the room gave it a crowded feeling. The bathroom door was so big that it hit the toilet when you opened the door. Musty smell to the room. A small refrigerator was placed on the floor with a microwave on top and this was put near the bathroom sink - gave a very crowded felling to the already small area. The mattreses were very unconfortable. I've seen a lot better continental breakfasts before ! I would not recomend this hotel to my friends. The location just ouside Lackland AFB was convienant and did save us travel time and gas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most restaurants were closed down or a short few miles away but nothing close.

Back to menu Return to top