$46 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy AF mom
Business
Tampa FL
Apr 30, 2013

Bug infested

The room was bug infested. I ended up stayng someplace else. Paid in full upfront and now refusing to refund my money when I cancelled my reservation shortly after checking in. It's been a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
out smokin
Business
Hamilton Ohio
Jul 26, 2013

my stay at the care free inn was bad

this place is run down in bad need of repair, I had problems with the clerk checking in and then I got my room key and when I open my door to the room beer bottle's and trash inside on the dresser and the room had a bad odor I went to the store and bought some air freshener. the first night I found bed bugs crawling over my sheets I told the office about that and they gave me some bug spray and was told to spray my room around the bed. they were people that walking around the parking lot that were not guess there had to worry about someone breaking into my car. two times I had to go get towels from the office the maid took my use towels and did not replace them with clean towels. I will never stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

if in San Antonio check out sea world and the riverwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JackAttak101
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 9, 2013

BMT Graduation

I am currently staying in this "hotel" motel and the first thing i would have to say is the moment i walked in the door i felt a little unsteady. There are random colored stains on the chairs and sheet (whites and browns, YUCK), the convenient lock box in my room is not so convenient considering the fact that when I put the key into the hole the entire metal piece came out?! ya not so happy about that. The door to the bathroom doesn't close securely and the light only turns on if you jiggle the switch a few times. The main door to the room has a gap at the bottom which is big enough to see the shadows of people walking outside, im not 100% sure the dead bolt works however there is a chain lock, and there is a dusty old smell in the room that is potent and has given me quite the headache. The fridge is a great size and there is a CLEAN working microwave, as well as a coffee maker and iron and blow dryer. The rooms are a little outdated and need a LOT of TLC and maid service. I can guarantee i'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Siyuan
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2007

Not a 3 star to my knowledge

I booked the hotel with the expectation of 3 star hotel in mind. I was disappointed by what I saw. This may be the worst equiped hotel I've ever stayed. The room is ok sized, but the bathroom is very small. One of our rooms was not even cleaned when we walked in, and it was already passed 10pm. One room has the shampoo etc, but the other room does not. The breakfast is very plain, and the area is tiny, only 2 tables. To me, this is a 1 star motel, and I would not come for a 2nd time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's next to the airbase, a couple of miles from the Sea World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake charles, la
Jun 30, 2011

No good

The hotel was gross. There bathroom reeked of pee, the shower curtain was full of mold, and I even had a baby roach join me for a shower. After house keeping came the room was still dirty. The sheets weren't changed from the night before and it was not vacuumed. It was not a pleasant stay to say the very least. I would not recommend this hotel at all no matter how cheap it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leilanyvien
Business
NYC
Mar 16, 2011

disaster, but good location

The only definite plus is the location, since - was on the business trip. However, the essentials needed FOR the BUSINESS were NOT functioning. The tv's cables were ripped out - unable to watch the news. The internet password was NOT working. The only reason I would ever stay there if I just needed to have a roof over my head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to lackland

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Hated it

The hotel was under construction and there was trash under the stairs, grocery bags floating in the jacuzzi. To use the light and refrigerator in the room you had to use an extension cord. A used napkin was on at the coffee machine. The fire alarm had the wrong size battery and beeped all night. After complaining to the desk I had to disarm the alarm myself. This is just a portion of my problems. I would NEVER go back or recommend this dump to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake charles, la
Jun 28, 2011

don't recommend!

we were in san antonio for a comic convention and decided to make it a little vacation and go to six flags and other attractions san antonio has to offer. The hotel was the only unpleasant part of the trip. The rooms were not clean! The bathroom reeked of pee. The shower curtain had mold on it. I even had a roach in the shower with me for a minute. Although housekeeping came and cleaned we noticed that there had not been any vacuming done and the same sheets were on the bed. No extra toliet paper was put into place. Spending more money for a more comfortable stay would have been in our best interest!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN.
Jul 6, 2011

The good, the bad, and the REALLY ugly

Our daughter was graduating from the AFB. The good = it was next to the base. The Bad = when we walked into the room, there was paper on the floor and the bathroom light flickered on for 2 min., everytime, before it stayed on. Toilet paper was in the toilet not flushed. The beds were hard as rock, it reminded me of camping on the ground. The write up on the pool was basicly, false advertising, pool was green & slippery. The ugly = There was mold in the bathroom because my daughter that came down to see her sister got a bad reaction from the mold. I was ready to call the TX health dept., but, I didn't. So, we were suppose to stay 5 nights & after the first night had to check out and get another hotel that was great, for close to the same price. I told the management on duty & they would not refund the other 4 nights, because I didn't book thru them directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top