$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
154 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unsatisified traveler
Olivehurst, CA
Jun 13, 2011

DISQUSTING HOTEL!!!!!!

I have never stayed in a more disqusting hotel than this. The only reason I stayed after I checked in was because I prepaid [...] The desk clerk was also very friendly and polite...the only other reason I didn't run away screaming. I actually witnessed someone pouring bleach from a bottle, yes, like Clorox, into the pool. That is not proper pool maintenance. Needless to say, I didn't swim. I was also told that the owner uses Fabuloso to spray bugs. Fabuloso is a cleaner for goodness sake. As for the rooms being recently renovated, mine sure didn't look like it. It has old lime green paint and the whole ceiling was littered with nasty brown stains. The only thing that might be a plus to someone is that this hotel is located right outside the main gate at Lackland AFB. I still wouldn't recommend staying here, though. YUCK! I know I will never go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
near Baltimore, MD
Jun 23, 2010

Creepy critters

Visit son for Basic training graduation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Easty Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Caught on fire!

I was awaken at 12:30 p.m. by bangin on the door and screaming telling me to vacate my room because the hotel was on fire! An electrical fire in the building next to mine brought out 3 fire engines. We sat in the parking lot for 2 hours wondering if we were going to have to sleep in our car or were they going to give us a refund. Finally the fireman told us that our building was clear to go back into as long as we could stand the smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nonnee
Fresno Ca
Mar 11, 2013

I was not able to get the whole info in the space alotted

I connected the Motel the night before leaving I advised them I would be arriving late and ask if they would hold the room for me. They said yes and that was the last good experience I had with them I arrived around 12;30 a. m. On the 7TH and was assigned to room 115,I unpacked my suit case around 1;30 a.m. and went to sleep. AT around 2:30 A.M. a water supply hose broke to the toliet Please contact me for more details. The whole stay was a nightmare I should have not been charged for the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, Louisiana
Jul 28, 2009

Horrible!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!

Please what ever you do pass this hotel up. The picture on this site is not what the hotel actually looks like. The rooms are very old, smells bad, looks like rats have chewed on furniture. Smoke detector on the wall was disassembled therefore if there was a fire it would not alert us. There was a huge gap in the door! This hotel was not worth the $112.00 we paid for it. Just be careful when booking....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Calibound
Cambridge md
Feb 3, 2014

Cockroache INFESTED

Seriously disgusting! Would never stay anywhere NEAR this place again! Was in town for Air Force graduation and couldn't even stay one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 23, 2008

Hated it

The hotel was under construction and there was trash under the stairs, grocery bags floating in the jacuzzi. To use the light and refrigerator in the room you had to use an extension cord. A used napkin was on at the coffee machine. The fire alarm had the wrong size battery and beeped all night. After complaining to the desk I had to disarm the alarm myself. This is just a portion of my problems. I would NEVER go back or recommend this dump to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Pugh Bear
Hurricane, UT, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Convenient yet needing modernization

It was within 100 yards of the Lacklend Air Force base where we spent all of our time. The rooms need to be modernized and some attention given to replacing ceiling tiles. The cleaning staff were more interested in getting their job done rather than providing you with an enhanced experience. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work but the chain lock was fine. The paint and carpets need to be updated. The bed was very firm, TV was local cable, The walls are thin and you can tell what the next room is watching on TV. The bathroom door was showing a lot of wear and tear and needs to be replaced. The main door threshold needs to be replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World, is fifteen minutes away. The AT&T Center is fifteen minutes away you can see basketball and hockey when in season. The Alamo is twenty minutes away. Freeways are relatively easy to follow. Though it is helpful to have a GPS system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Normally not that picky
Dallas, TX
Mar 21, 2009

Wouldnt leave my dog there!

I would not let my dog stay here. We arrived and checked in but never stayed the night in the room. We arrived to a very unfriendly desk clerk. When we checked in the pass key did not work and the room smelled like cigars. The cleaning lady was watching our room as if she was ready for us to leave. She did not speak English... so we had to tell her "no clean room" repeatedly. At that point we did not realize the room was filthy and had ants crawling all over the room. We called the front desk who told us they were busy. A half hour later a guy showed up with insect industrial sprayer that looked to be very well used. He asked if we could leave the room for awhile. I advised we would be leaving for longer than awhile... We would not be staying in the room. They should be removed from the listings if you would like to remain reputable. They stated they would not give me a refund for the rooms but that I would have to contact you because they would notify orbitz. This was my first time booking anything online thru an agency... It is the last time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search