$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AF mom
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Pretty dirty overall

the only positive was that I was across the street from my sons AF squad and there was a great Mexican fast food out front. There were bugs in that bathroom and also used soap and stuff in the bathroom , toilet didn't flush and we used the plunger most every time ! But if you don't want to fight the lines and traffic it's worth it. Just pretty dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Papa Pugh Bear
Business
Hurricane, UT, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Convenient yet needing modernization

It was within 100 yards of the Lacklend Air Force base where we spent all of our time. The rooms need to be modernized and some attention given to replacing ceiling tiles. The cleaning staff were more interested in getting their job done rather than providing you with an enhanced experience. The dead bolt lock on the door did not work but the chain lock was fine. The paint and carpets need to be updated. The bed was very firm, TV was local cable, The walls are thin and you can tell what the next room is watching on TV. The bathroom door was showing a lot of wear and tear and needs to be replaced. The main door threshold needs to be replaced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World, is fifteen minutes away. The AT&T Center is fifteen minutes away you can see basketball and hockey when in season. The Alamo is twenty minutes away. Freeways are relatively easy to follow. Though it is helpful to have a GPS system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deez Nuts
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Awesome Place To Get BIt By Bed Bugs

The absolute worst place i could stay at. I could not believe that they did nt charge by the hour this place was so bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EMT mom
Business
Corpus Christi, Tx
Jul 19, 2012

u get what u pay for

Great location, rude staff, room is clean but needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
florida wing mom
Business
Florida
Aug 27, 2012

Hotel Nightmare

The place was dirty. No clean towels when the room was so called cleaned. Left the dirty towels behind. Did not change the sheets. Carpet was disgusting. We had bugs and the tile floors were cracked everywhere. Wi-Fi is very spotty. It has to be rebutted often. Staff did not want to do it. Decor is very very bad. We were told the owner did not want to invest any money in it. They are making there money of the family of the airforce grads and not wanting to improve the looks or comfort. Only in it for the profit. If it was not for the location I would have left the minute I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to be close to the base but not on the base, this is it. Right outside the base gates. Saves time waiting in line for ceremonies

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Peregr1
Business
Laredo, tx
Oct 12, 2012

Bad hotel

Room did not meet standards. Operator said it was a 3 star hotel and it was more like a 1 star. Chairs in rooms were broken and room was humid. Not recommending hotel even if its cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nonnee
Business
Fresno Ca
Mar 11, 2013

I was not able to get the whole info in the space alotted

I connected the Motel the night before leaving I advised them I would be arriving late and ask if they would hold the room for me. They said yes and that was the last good experience I had with them I arrived around 12;30 a. m. On the 7TH and was assigned to room 115,I unpacked my suit case around 1;30 a.m. and went to sleep. AT around 2:30 A.M. a water supply hose broke to the toliet Please contact me for more details. The whole stay was a nightmare I should have not been charged for the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
winniethepope
Business
Ringling, OK
Apr 8, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE!

The only thing this place has going for it is that it is close to the base. It is dirty, has cockroaches, stinks, the beds are uneven, hair on the floor in the bathroom, mold in the shower, stains on the sheets, gum on the pillows. Do not believe the reviews, this place was a nightmare. If you are going for the base stay some where else and drive, it is worth the time and the money, I promise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kimbo Slicer
Business
Woodstock,GA
Apr 8, 2013

Carefree Inn at Lackland

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless they're looking for just an overnight stay for one night. I felt very unsecure the entire time. I was very upset that our room was not clean when we were given our room key after checking in. The beds were stripped, there was trash filled to the tops of the trashcans and all over the place, dirty towels everywhere. Just a huge mess. So we waited an hour an a half till our rooms were cleaned and ready to be slept in. Everyone who stayed there was very disrespectful and noisy. The best part of the hotel was that it was right offbase from Lackland AFB to where we were going to be all weekend. So location was just right. Quality, however, not so much. The desk manager woke us up at 11 o'clock at night to have me call about my reservations after we have already been checked in half the day, very disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You have everything around you, food wise, to get to. And if you are coming to San Antonio to see Air Force graduation, it is the most conveniently located hotel to stay at for the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sister's keeper
Business
New york
Apr 22, 2013

Bates Motel

My sister stayed here and was horrified. She eventually checked out and checked into the hotel where I was staying (Best Western, Ingram Park). This hotel was dirty. The rooms are antique and dingy, down to the paint of the walls. The front desk never asked for a credit card or ID to check in. It's really sad because you literally can walk out of the hotel an onto the AFB. If the owners invested some money towards a good renovation they would make a killing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top