$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
155 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pocatello
Jun 9, 2008

If you are there for a ...

If you are there for a graduation or a visit at Lackland Air Force base, this is the hotel to stay in. You can walk right on to the base very convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lackland Air Force Base

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 25, 2008

Poor property maintenance

We were lucky enough to get a room. The air conditioner in our room did not work. They promised to send someone to look at it only, that person never showed up. It was a long, uncomfortable night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

SeaWorld is a short drive from this location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
May 25, 2008

good place

It was little far from downtown and also from sea world but it was good place to stay. This place doesn't have good dinning options for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Apr 21, 2008

Very good location

very good location to the a f b. the room is comfortable. hotel staff are very friendly. restaurants very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

shortwalk to the dining shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 30, 2008

Nothing you'd expect

The room was very outdated and was not completely re-done. There was no mop boards in the bathroom or under the tub. The floor inside the closet was down to the subfloor. Our bathroom light would not come on all of the time. Every morning we had to take cold showers. We complained to the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do. It was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are alot of shopping places and restaurants within a short drive of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 25, 2008

Very close to Lackland

The Carefree Inn Lackland is very convienient to stay at if you're visiting Lackland AFB. My stay there was very comfortable and clean. I loved how I could just walk to base in two minutes. There are restaurants very close by which is also a plus. The room was very clean and housekeeping was excellent. The staff was awesome. I would definitely recommend the Carefree Inn Lackland to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 19, 2008

Very comforable, nice price

The only problem with the room was that two of the lamp outlets didn't seems to be working. Other than that, the staff was great, check-in/check-out was quick and easy, the room was large, comfortable and clean. I really liked the fact that they had free continental breakfast available at the front desk. We could jet downstairs for a quick bit, grab some coffee and we were off on our daytrip. I would deffinitely stay there again and I most enthusiastically recommend it for future guests. It's a great place to stay for a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

San Antonio is a synch to get around in. Lackland AF Base is next door (you can actually see the front gate from the motel) then you've got Sea World, Six Flags, The Alamo, Downtown (Riverwalk), Ripley's Believ it or Not, a slew of universities and loads of shopping and dining venues.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2008

Best Location

The Comfort Inn is located right outside the Lackland Air Force Base, since our trip was to the Air Force Base this Hotel was ideal. The room was a good size and comfortable enough. Not much for choice on TV stations, but I wasn't there to watch TV anyway. The Vanity area is separated from the bathroom and this allowed my wife and I to get ready at the same time and not wait on each other. I have yet to stay in a hotel where the beds are comfortable. This hotel wasn't any different. The hotel was clean and well kept. And overall I was happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The riverwalk in San Antonio is about 15 to 20 mins from this hotel. If you go anywhere near San Antonio the Riverwalk is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennie
Business
New York, NY
Feb 3, 2008

Great Value for family

This motel was a great comfort to me. I had the choice of sleeping on a king size bed or a queen size, all in one room. The motel staff were very friendly. Had a lot of information to give you about the Air Force Base. So I did enjoy my stay and I will recommend it to everyone I know that moght be going to San Antoino Lackland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are all near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jan 6, 2008

Staff friendly.

The Carefree Inn is next to Lackland AFB which was convenient. But, Our shower had no hot water & some of our family were staying in the next room which had no hot water either. We complained with no results. The rooms are okay but the shower/tub needs to be stripped of molded caulking, cleaned & recaulked and need hot water. We had family trying to call our rooms from out of town and the calls wouldn't go through, so they reached us on our cell phones. The continental breakfast is okay & the staff are very friendly. We were at the Air Force Base most of the time so we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The neighborhood isn't nice at all but we felt safe. Hopefully, they are working on improving the maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the Interstate & 50 yards from Lackland Air Force Base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top