$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
148 reviews
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Sons airforce graduation

We came in late and was pleasantly greeted by the staff also was extremely accommodating we needed... See full review

  • AF WINGMOM
  • Aug 12, 2013
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
148 out of 148
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2008

Best Location

The Comfort Inn is located right outside the Lackland Air Force Base, since our trip was to the Air Force Base this Hotel was ideal. The room was a good size and comfortable enough. Not much for choice on TV stations, but I wasn't there to watch TV anyway. The Vanity area is separated from the bathroom and this allowed my wife and I to get ready at the same time and not wait on each other. I have yet to stay in a hotel where the beds are comfortable. This hotel wasn't any different. The hotel was clean and well kept. And overall I was happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The riverwalk in San Antonio is about 15 to 20 mins from this hotel. If you go anywhere near San Antonio the Riverwalk is a must see.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
Bennie
Business
New York, NY
Feb 3, 2008

Great Value for family

This motel was a great comfort to me. I had the choice of sleeping on a king size bed or a queen size, all in one room. The motel staff were very friendly. Had a lot of information to give you about the Air Force Base. So I did enjoy my stay and I will recommend it to everyone I know that moght be going to San Antoino Lackland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

The restaurants are all near by.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
Jan 6, 2008

Staff friendly.

The Carefree Inn is next to Lackland AFB which was convenient. But, Our shower had no hot water & some of our family were staying in the next room which had no hot water either. We complained with no results. The rooms are okay but the shower/tub needs to be stripped of molded caulking, cleaned & recaulked and need hot water. We had family trying to call our rooms from out of town and the calls wouldn't go through, so they reached us on our cell phones. The continental breakfast is okay & the staff are very friendly. We were at the Air Force Base most of the time so we didn't spend much time in the rooms. The neighborhood isn't nice at all but we felt safe. Hopefully, they are working on improving the maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the Interstate & 50 yards from Lackland Air Force Base.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Cheap and okay

The location was excellent if you are attending a Lackland Air Force Base graduation. Stayed 2 nights and had no problems. It was VERY convienient as you can see the barracks of Lackland from the parking lot. Everything was clean and in order in the room. If you don't plan on spending much time in the actual room, it would be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
Rahul
USA
Nov 25, 2007

Was a wrong pick

Cold room during winter, reported repeatedly about the heating problem, dirty blankets, dirty and nasty hallways and a lot more.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

About 7 miles to Seaworld and and good dining place is 5 miles from the hotel

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Oct 6, 2007

My review of Carefree Inn Lackland

room was comfortable. restaurants close by. I went to lackland for my sons graduation & the hotel was close by the base, within walking distance. Would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican restaurant close to hotel. good food at a good price.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Charleston, SC
Sep 10, 2007

Close to AFB

While I stayed at this hotel for its close proximity to the AFB I would probably not choose to do so again. The first thing we had to do was go and get the remote for the tv. The bathroom door would only open approx. 3 feet (I am being generous!) before hitting the commode. It was difficult to get in and out of the bathroom. The air conditioning was not the greatest. I liked the ironing board, mini fridge, and microwave;however, they are all in front of the vanity making it cramped and hard to use the sink!The hot tub is lukewarm at very most - definitely not hot!The pool is small. The breakfast was a few choices of stale cereal and pastries, coffee, and one day we had nectarines. The front desk person was nice. I think they could make some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For graduation the reception center is about a six block walk - which is not too bad.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Sep 9, 2007

very family friendly

carefree inn was very nice, larger room than i expected. very comfprtable. it was less than 50 yards from the west gate of lackland airforce base/ and within a short walkong distance of restaraunts and a dollar store. manager was very helpful and friendly. i would defintly stay there again. pool and hottub also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

church's chicken and a mexican restaraunt less than a block away. 5 miles from sea world. also a sonics within a block away.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Clovis, NM
Sep 3, 2007

Don't stay here

The room was absolutely awful; mold waas growing on the ceilinga and walls, one of the two beds was broken, and the smell of smoke was very prevalent, the bedding didn't match, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Aug 26, 2007

Location a huge plus

We were at Lackland AFB for BMT graduation and wanted a hotel close to the base. Carefree Inn was just yards from the base entrance so we never had to fight any morning traffic, it was very convenient. The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. They had a continential breakfast every morning and the rooms were very adequate for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top