$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epic Mom
Odessa,Texas
Jul 24, 2012

Our 2012 Family Vacation

This hotel was awesome!! No complaints at all. The pool is connected to a hot tub which was perfect because while my kids swam, mom was relaxing in the hot tub! 8-) The room was very clean smelled very nice, of course I checked for bed bugs and found 0. The walls are a bright green which was a first but made the room different in a good way. I would definatly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You could walk to get burritos or drive down to Dunkin Dounuts or a few fast food joints. There's a family dollar a block away its about 23 min drive to the riverwalk but you have to keep in mind its mostly highway drive combined with traffic so its reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestview, Florida
Sep 9, 2009

Surprised

Like others, I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews; however, I was pleasantly surprised. Our daughter was graduating basic training at Lackland AFB and we wanted something close. It's close alright. From the balcony you can see and hear trainees performing maneuvers. That just added to the excitement of the reason we were there. If you will be attending graduation events on base this is perfect! It's best to get in early (6:00AM), and because you are only feet from the gate, you have a very short wait. The room was clean and when we arrived, they had already prepared the room by turning on the AC. No complaints on the room what so ever. Even though the paint scheme (bright green) was far from my taste, it is definitely not a reason to by-pass this hotel. The hotel does have some age on it, so the wear and tear was expected. I can't comment on the breakfast, we never had the time to check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Jul 15, 2011

A place to sleep

Needed an economical place to stay! This fit our needs. Spent majority of our time at Sea World and Six Flags so we used room to sleep and shower. If your not particular about decor or the outdated accommodations then this place will work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elmira, NY
Jan 18, 2011

Great location for USAF graduation

We stayed here for our son's graduation from the USAF. It was priced cheap, but you get what you pay for. Not the best room in the world, but worked for sleeping and that is what we needed. It is right next to three of the squadrons which is very nice as you can watch them stand at attention for hours LOL. Room was okay for this type of stay as we were not in the room alot. However, the walls are very thin and we had party goers right above us that came in very early hours of the morning and woke us up with their partying and loud singing and stomping on the floors. Rooms need to be a bit more sound proof!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a very short drive to all of the USAF base area activities!! Was nice being so close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location for BMT Graduation

My friend referred to it as the "no-star motel", but for attending the BMT Graduation events it couldn't have been better. The motel is basically clean and if you can get past the neon green walls and 70's furniture in the rooms, it's really not bad. My priority was ease of access to the base and it achieved that. Where it took some staying less than 10 miles away almost an hour to get to the Lackland Valley Hi gate, it took me 2 minutes. A big bonus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Again, as long as you go into it knowing it's just a room, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Sep 10, 2007

Close to AFB

While I stayed at this hotel for its close proximity to the AFB I would probably not choose to do so again. The first thing we had to do was go and get the remote for the tv. The bathroom door would only open approx. 3 feet (I am being generous!) before hitting the commode. It was difficult to get in and out of the bathroom. The air conditioning was not the greatest. I liked the ironing board, mini fridge, and microwave;however, they are all in front of the vanity making it cramped and hard to use the sink!The hot tub is lukewarm at very most - definitely not hot!The pool is small. The breakfast was a few choices of stale cereal and pastries, coffee, and one day we had nectarines. The front desk person was nice. I think they could make some improvements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

For graduation the reception center is about a six block walk - which is not too bad.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldman1959
Business
san antonio, texas
Jul 6, 2009

what to expect for price

noisy, no cold water in shower pool very crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location for Lackland visitors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airforce Wife
Business
Marshfield, WI
Jul 20, 2010

Undecided...

I stayed here for my husband's graduation from basic at Lackland AFB. The Carefree was my only option since I am not old enough to rent a car and would have been uncomfortable driving in the area any way (crazy congested highways). I was hesitant due to the other reviews [...]...and for good reason. The hotel was reasonably clean, but could have been MUCH better. Sheets were never changed on the bed, there were hairs on the bathroom floor when I arrived and they were never cleaned up by the maid even after a 5 night stay, twice I came back to my room and there were ZERO towels, and I wouldn't walk around the room without socks or flip flops on (filthy!). However, the room didn't smell bad, the sheets on the bed were clean when I arrived (even if they weren't changed all week), and I found no bugs. I don't think I would stay here again if I were able to rent a car, but, you get what you pay for and for $50, you can't beat the location. On the bright side, the pool was decent (I went swimming twice and it was enjoyable), the staff was extremely friendly and quick to give me towels (since the maid didn't think I need to shower apparently), and the air conditioner worked well (important when it's over 100* out!). If you stay, I recommend the mexican restaurant right across the parking lot. BEST MEXICAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!! The place was kind of a dump, but it was awesome food and the wait staff was friendly. I highly suggest the guadalajara plate or chicken fajitas! Also, we had a very friendly taxi driver who actually lived at the Carefree. If you get an add in the door about Sir William Taxi, call him. He knew the area very well, was very quick, and even gave 20% off to Airforce people. :) FOR THOSE WITH MOLD ALLERGIES: do NOT stay here. The ceiling tiles in my bathroom were SO moldy they were FUZZY. Disgusting!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the mexican restaurant! Short walk onto base, although it is quite a ways to the reception center from there (15-20 minute walk). Sir William Taxi recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Fla
Mar 21, 2010

Not Bad

If you can get past the lime green walls, room was very clean, staff friendly and cooperative. The bathroom tub faucet leaked and one of the rooms had a problem with hot water(there wasn't any).Not the Ritz, but for the money perfect place to stay if you have a son/daughter graduating at Lackland AFB.They kept us so busy, we didnt spend much time at the hotel.Just a comfy place to sleep, but don't rely on them for a wake up call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices on restaurants within walking distance.Very friendly town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Af Wife.
Business
NC
Dec 3, 2009

Okay

My father in law and I stayed at this hotel for one night. And i have to say that i don't think i would have wanted to stay there more than one night. We went down to see my husband graduate from basic, and were staying at the hotel on base the rest of the nights. But this was a place that was close so that we didnt have to deal with alot of traffic in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard McDonald H.
Business
Pasadena
Jan 6, 2015

You get what you pay for

Wasn't too bad. Cheap hotel didn't surpass any my expectations for what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top