$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
155 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chippewa Falls, WI
Aug 3, 2011

nice trip

We stayed at carefree hotel cause it was close to lackland airforce base but didnt realize how close it was until we actually got there and the barracks were literally in our backyard. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting someone at lackland AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you eat at texas pride barbacue and chunky's burgers you wont regret it, it is a little bit of a drive but every bit worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chippewa Falls, WI
Aug 3, 2011

nice trip

We stayed at carefree hotel cause it was close to lackland airforce base but didnt realize how close it was until we actually got there and the barracks were literally in our backyard. Perfect place to stay if you are visiting someone at lackland AFB.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you eat at texas pride barbacue and chunky's burgers you wont regret it, it is a little bit of a drive but every bit worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Epic Mom
Business
Odessa,Texas
Jul 24, 2012

Our 2012 Family Vacation

This hotel was awesome!! No complaints at all. The pool is connected to a hot tub which was perfect because while my kids swam, mom was relaxing in the hot tub! 8-) The room was very clean smelled very nice, of course I checked for bed bugs and found 0. The walls are a bright green which was a first but made the room different in a good way. I would definatly stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

You could walk to get burritos or drive down to Dunkin Dounuts or a few fast food joints. There's a family dollar a block away its about 23 min drive to the riverwalk but you have to keep in mind its mostly highway drive combined with traffic so its reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann B.
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 3, 2013

Good location and easy to get to.

The motel was more than I really expected, since it was located in an area that was not exactly good, when I left the area 10 years ago. The area has cleaned up and is much better. The only problem was that the road was not very good, it is full of pot holes, but we got around them without any damage to our tires.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The motel is close to 2 freeways: 410 and 90, one which will take you around the whole city and the other a shorter way down town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AF WINGMOM
Business
Gainesville florida
Aug 12, 2013

Sons airforce graduation

We came in late and was pleasantly greeted by the staff also was extremely accommodating we needed pizza and they were so friendly also helped us get a birthday pizza for my granddaughter.we had a sick dog and the very very nice manager at he front desk not only assisted us with fresh linens also helped with our dog. I will stay again .thx for a great time and such nice service.KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK KUDOS !!!!!!!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tn
Aug 2, 2011

great value

Great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Webster,MA
May 11, 2009

Good value

I have seen mixed reviews for this hotel, but I have to say it was very enjoyable. You couldnt be closer to your Air Force trainee, and there were tons of close-by conveniences. (grocery, fast food, etc). The beds were comfy and clean. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

EVERYTHING is close by if you are there for a graduation ceremony

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reemus
Business
NY
May 31, 2009

A Great Time at the Carefree

This was my second visit to San Antonio in two months. This time I went by myself to visit my husband for a long weekend (he received his wings from the Air Force). I picked this hotel especially for the location: it is literally right next to the Lackland AF Base entrance gates, and about a 10 minute drive to the Medina Annex ($7.00 +/- cab ride to the Annex). Now, I've read other reviews before I finally picked the Carefree Inn, and I must say they are deceiving. The neighborhood isn't bad or scary; there are a few of your typical fast-food joints, some native food joints, an AWESOME movie theather about 10 to 15 minutes (maybe a $10.00 cab ride) called the Alamo Drafthouse: they serve you food, drinks, and snacks!!! Back to the hotel and neighborhood: any "gun shots" of the sort you MAY hear are coming from the Base. The AF Base is spitting distance from your hotel-room door...you're going to hear those sorts of things. If you're not a fan of the military, maybe you shouldn't get a hotel so close to base, even though this place is IDEAL!!! It was a total fluke that I found this place, and I'm so glad that I booked the reservation. The only thing that I found odd and interesting at the same time is the choice in paint color for the rooms: lime green...yeah. Otherwise, beds are comfy, so are the pillows. The pool is refreshing. ENJOY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

As I mentioned in my review: check out the Alamo Drafthouse! Features most recent movies, there's a bar once you walk in, a comic book store connected inside, and they serve you food and drinks: appetizers, dinner, dessert, alcohol and carbonated beverages...practically the whole-9-yards! AMAZING!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 5, 2008

Lackland AFB Friendly

This was exactly what we needed to be near Lackland AFB for my son's graduation. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2008

Best Location

The Comfort Inn is located right outside the Lackland Air Force Base, since our trip was to the Air Force Base this Hotel was ideal. The room was a good size and comfortable enough. Not much for choice on TV stations, but I wasn't there to watch TV anyway. The Vanity area is separated from the bathroom and this allowed my wife and I to get ready at the same time and not wait on each other. I have yet to stay in a hotel where the beds are comfortable. This hotel wasn't any different. The hotel was clean and well kept. And overall I was happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The riverwalk in San Antonio is about 15 to 20 mins from this hotel. If you go anywhere near San Antonio the Riverwalk is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Earth
Oct 12, 2008

Right by the Lackland gate

The best thing about the hotel is it's proximity to Lackland AFB. Finding a place to stay any closer than this outside the base would be impossible. Since BMT graduation events are scheduled quite early in the day transit time was a snap. The hotel is older but was in the process of being updated with new carpet, paint and tiled sidewalks. My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was basic but had what I needed for my stay. I encountered a few minor problems in the room at check in which the desk clerk cheerfully and promptly took care of. I liked that I could park the car right outside my door. Because the room rate was so reasonable I enjoyed doing more things in San Antonio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants are not close by but there was a continental breakfast in the lobby and a refrigerator and microwave in the room. A grocery store is close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top