$47 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easty Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Caught on fire!

I was awaken at 12:30 p.m. by bangin on the door and screaming telling me to vacate my room because the hotel was on fire! An electrical fire in the building next to mine brought out 3 fire engines. We sat in the parking lot for 2 hours wondering if we were going to have to sleep in our car or were they going to give us a refund. Finally the fireman told us that our building was clear to go back into as long as we could stand the smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, MI
Jul 19, 2009

No wi-fi and no help

THe hotel was ok. Bare items, nothing extra. Not the most helpful staff and horrible breakfast, BUT if all you are concerned about is being next to the Lackland Air Force Base, then this is your hotel, just make sure you pack EVERYTHING you could ever need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldman1959
Business
san antonio, texas
Jul 6, 2009

what to expect for price

noisy, no cold water in shower pool very crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location for Lackland visitors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lackland Mom
Business
MemphisTN
Jul 3, 2009

Closest hotel to Lackland AFB

We were at this hotel for second Lackland grad for our family. Chose this hotel this time for base proximity.Stay at other hotel 4yrs ago required paid shuttle trans on/off base. Though we could walk onto base from Carefree, LONG walk is required once on base. The front desk staff was very welcoming but the property is not at all attractive & is in need of maintenance. We called desk to report that security door chains on both our rooms were broken.They sent someone to repair right away but we had to question why they were broken. They did appear to be trying to make improvements but workmen were caulking windows to our rooms at 10:30 at night! Pool was clean & nice but late at night would be filled with teen/20 somethings drinking & yelling til 1:30 am when we called front desk. They went out to break it up but why should we have to call when pool rules state that it closes at 11pm? Shower ran cold after 1 person use. Many fast food restaurants within walking distance. All in all we would only recommend this hotel if you are going to Lackland grad & are on a VERY, VERY tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lackland Mom
Business
MemphisTN
Jul 3, 2009

Closest hotel to Lackland AFB

We were at this hotel for second Lackland grad for our family. Chose this hotel this time for base proximity.Stay at other hotel 4yrs ago required paid shuttle trans on/off base. Though we could walk onto base from Carefree, LONG walk is required once on base. The front desk staff was very welcoming but the property is not at all attractive & is in need of maintenance. We called desk to report that security door chains on both our rooms were broken.They sent someone to repair right away but we had to question why they were broken. They did appear to be trying to make improvements but workmen were caulking windows to our rooms at 10:30 at night! Pool was clean & nice but late at night would be filled with teen/20 somethings drinking & yelling til 1:30 am when we called front desk. They went out to break it up but why should we have to call when pool rules state that it closes at 11pm? Shower ran cold after 1 person use. Many fast food restaurants within walking distance. All in all we would only recommend this hotel if you are going to Lackland grad & are on a VERY, VERY tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 13, 2009

wasnt worth what orbitz charged us

ORBITZ CHARGED US TOO MUCH FOR THE ROOM!!!!!!! WE WERE CHRGED 90.00 FOR THE NIGHT. THE LADY BEFORE US, WITH NO RESERVATION PAID ONLY 50.00 FOR THE SAME ROOM WE HAD. THE ROOMS ARE WORTH 50.00 NOT 90.00 WE CANCELED OUR SECOND NITE STAY AND ORBITZ----U BETTER REFUND OUR 2NITE STAY LIKE YALL SAID YOU WOULD!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raginrick
Business
Sun Valley, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

good, and some bad

We went to see my youngest son graduate air force boot camp.we did have a problem with our shower ceiling we was sitting watching tv and one peice of the ceiling fell down into the bath tub so the rest of our stay we had hot water dripping on us as we took our shower.I had gotten out of th pool was walking back to my room and they had 2 ice buckets under an air conditioner was trying to keep the water from running all over the walk way I guess. there was water all over the walk way and i slipped and fell got a big lump on my knee. It has been a long time since me and my family had gone on a vaction. I did take 2 pictures of the bath room so if you would like to see them you could e-mail me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reemus
Business
NY
May 31, 2009

A Great Time at the Carefree

This was my second visit to San Antonio in two months. This time I went by myself to visit my husband for a long weekend (he received his wings from the Air Force). I picked this hotel especially for the location: it is literally right next to the Lackland AF Base entrance gates, and about a 10 minute drive to the Medina Annex ($7.00 +/- cab ride to the Annex). Now, I've read other reviews before I finally picked the Carefree Inn, and I must say they are deceiving. The neighborhood isn't bad or scary; there are a few of your typical fast-food joints, some native food joints, an AWESOME movie theather about 10 to 15 minutes (maybe a $10.00 cab ride) called the Alamo Drafthouse: they serve you food, drinks, and snacks!!! Back to the hotel and neighborhood: any "gun shots" of the sort you MAY hear are coming from the Base. The AF Base is spitting distance from your hotel-room door...you're going to hear those sorts of things. If you're not a fan of the military, maybe you shouldn't get a hotel so close to base, even though this place is IDEAL!!! It was a total fluke that I found this place, and I'm so glad that I booked the reservation. The only thing that I found odd and interesting at the same time is the choice in paint color for the rooms: lime green...yeah. Otherwise, beds are comfy, so are the pillows. The pool is refreshing. ENJOY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

As I mentioned in my review: check out the Alamo Drafthouse! Features most recent movies, there's a bar once you walk in, a comic book store connected inside, and they serve you food and drinks: appetizers, dinner, dessert, alcohol and carbonated beverages...practically the whole-9-yards! AMAZING!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends of Air Force Graduate
Business
Western Wisconsin
May 28, 2009

Lackland Visitors Only

The location of the hotel is ideal only if you plan to visit Lackland AFB. The pool was very clean, but there is nothing stopping non-guests from using it. There weren't enough towels to use for showering and swimming, and the towels that were there were either stained or ragged. We suggest bringing your own. The non-smoking rooms are the lower level rooms and can be VERY noisy if someone is staying above you. Our air-conditioner froze/iced up the first day, so we had to turn it off at night and when we left the room to prevent it from happening again. Our toilet chain broke several times while we stayed there. There was a microwave and a mini fridge in our room, but they were sharing a light-duty extension cord. If both were turned on at the same time, I have no doubt there would be an electric fire. The rooms are painted bright lime green, but that doesn't really affect your stay. It actually makes for a good story.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lackland AFB - No cab required. The gate is less than a block from the hotel and less than a block past that you can catch a base bus in the first dorm parking lot on the right. Busses are marked Clockwise and Counter-Clockwise. If you are there for a graduation, the Counter-Clockwise bus will take you to the reception center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UNHAPPY OFF ORBITZ CUSTOMER
Business
Abilene, TX
May 25, 2009

NEVER GOT TO STAY AT THAT HOTEL-READ ON

ORBITZ screwed me and took my reservation when the hotel told them that they were full. The carefree INN Staff were nice enough to set me up with another hotel. BE CAREFUL WHO YOU TRUST TO MAKE YOUR RESERVATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top