$38 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldman1959
Business
san antonio, texas
Jul 6, 2009

what to expect for price

noisy, no cold water in shower pool very crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location for Lackland visitors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airforce Wife
Business
Marshfield, WI
Jul 20, 2010

Undecided...

I stayed here for my husband's graduation from basic at Lackland AFB. The Carefree was my only option since I am not old enough to rent a car and would have been uncomfortable driving in the area any way (crazy congested highways). I was hesitant due to the other reviews [...]...and for good reason. The hotel was reasonably clean, but could have been MUCH better. Sheets were never changed on the bed, there were hairs on the bathroom floor when I arrived and they were never cleaned up by the maid even after a 5 night stay, twice I came back to my room and there were ZERO towels, and I wouldn't walk around the room without socks or flip flops on (filthy!). However, the room didn't smell bad, the sheets on the bed were clean when I arrived (even if they weren't changed all week), and I found no bugs. I don't think I would stay here again if I were able to rent a car, but, you get what you pay for and for $50, you can't beat the location. On the bright side, the pool was decent (I went swimming twice and it was enjoyable), the staff was extremely friendly and quick to give me towels (since the maid didn't think I need to shower apparently), and the air conditioner worked well (important when it's over 100* out!). If you stay, I recommend the mexican restaurant right across the parking lot. BEST MEXICAN FOOD I HAVE EVER HAD!!! The place was kind of a dump, but it was awesome food and the wait staff was friendly. I highly suggest the guadalajara plate or chicken fajitas! Also, we had a very friendly taxi driver who actually lived at the Carefree. If you get an add in the door about Sir William Taxi, call him. He knew the area very well, was very quick, and even gave 20% off to Airforce people. :) FOR THOSE WITH MOLD ALLERGIES: do NOT stay here. The ceiling tiles in my bathroom were SO moldy they were FUZZY. Disgusting!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the mexican restaurant! Short walk onto base, although it is quite a ways to the reception center from there (15-20 minute walk). Sir William Taxi recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Fla
Mar 21, 2010

Not Bad

If you can get past the lime green walls, room was very clean, staff friendly and cooperative. The bathroom tub faucet leaked and one of the rooms had a problem with hot water(there wasn't any).Not the Ritz, but for the money perfect place to stay if you have a son/daughter graduating at Lackland AFB.They kept us so busy, we didnt spend much time at the hotel.Just a comfy place to sleep, but don't rely on them for a wake up call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices on restaurants within walking distance.Very friendly town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Af Wife.
Business
NC
Dec 3, 2009

Okay

My father in law and I stayed at this hotel for one night. And i have to say that i don't think i would have wanted to stay there more than one night. We went down to see my husband graduate from basic, and were staying at the hotel on base the rest of the nights. But this was a place that was close so that we didnt have to deal with alot of traffic in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richard McDonald H.
Business
Pasadena
Jan 6, 2015

You get what you pay for

Wasn't too bad. Cheap hotel didn't surpass any my expectations for what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
railroader4life
Business
kansas
Mar 15, 2014

nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there. No interruptions, nice and quiet..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Cheap and okay

The location was excellent if you are attending a Lackland Air Force Base graduation. Stayed 2 nights and had no problems. It was VERY convienient as you can see the barracks of Lackland from the parking lot. Everything was clean and in order in the room. If you don't plan on spending much time in the actual room, it would be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Aug 26, 2007

Location a huge plus

We were at Lackland AFB for BMT graduation and wanted a hotel close to the base. Carefree Inn was just yards from the base entrance so we never had to fight any morning traffic, it was very convenient. The hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. They had a continential breakfast every morning and the rooms were very adequate for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,calif
May 11, 2009

nice deal

I was very impressed. I went there for the graduation ceremony for my son in the airforce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad
Business
Port Angeles, Wa.
Nov 3, 2009

Access to Base

I cannot compliment the friendly staff enough especially [...]. They went out of their way to make my son's graduation comfortable for me. It is an old hotel, but for closeness to the BMT Reception Center it cannot be beat. This is not a place for the self important as I said it is old and reminds me of some of the road trips with my family in the 1960s. I had no problem with the cleanliness. You will save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need to rent a car if you stay here and are modestly fit. The base has bus service and for weekend pass there is bus service to the USO in the heart of San Antonio that come every 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top