$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
184 out of 184
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann B.
San Antonio, TX
Jan 3, 2013

Good location and easy to get to.

The motel was more than I really expected, since it was located in an area that was not exactly good, when I left the area 10 years ago. The area has cleaned up and is much better. The only problem was that the road was not very good, it is full of pot holes, but we got around them without any damage to our tires.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The motel is close to 2 freeways: 410 and 90, one which will take you around the whole city and the other a shorter way down town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad
Business
Port Angeles, Wa.
Nov 3, 2009

Access to Base

I cannot compliment the friendly staff enough especially [...]. They went out of their way to make my son's graduation comfortable for me. It is an old hotel, but for closeness to the BMT Reception Center it cannot be beat. This is not a place for the self important as I said it is old and reminds me of some of the road trips with my family in the 1960s. I had no problem with the cleanliness. You will save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need to rent a car if you stay here and are modestly fit. The base has bus service and for weekend pass there is bus service to the USO in the heart of San Antonio that come every 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Dad
Business
Port Angeles, Wa.
Nov 3, 2009

Access to Base

I cannot compliment the friendly staff enough especially [...]. They went out of their way to make my son's graduation comfortable for me. It is an old hotel, but for closeness to the BMT Reception Center it cannot be beat. This is not a place for the self important as I said it is old and reminds me of some of the road trips with my family in the 1960s. I had no problem with the cleanliness. You will save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need to rent a car if you stay here and are modestly fit. The base has bus service and for weekend pass there is bus service to the USO in the heart of San Antonio that come every 20 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Skeet shooter
Business
Colorado
Oct 12, 2009

Bad Experience......old and musty..

Old, nasty conditions. Would not return the prepayment. Stayed at another location but had to pay for this nasty room for 10 days. Don't not stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Skeet shooter
Business
Colorado
Oct 12, 2009

Bad Experience......old and musty..

Old, nasty conditions. Would not return the prepayment. Stayed at another location but had to pay for this nasty room for 10 days. Don't not stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestview, Florida
Sep 9, 2009

Surprised

Like others, I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews; however, I was pleasantly surprised. Our daughter was graduating basic training at Lackland AFB and we wanted something close. It's close alright. From the balcony you can see and hear trainees performing maneuvers. That just added to the excitement of the reason we were there. If you will be attending graduation events on base this is perfect! It's best to get in early (6:00AM), and because you are only feet from the gate, you have a very short wait. The room was clean and when we arrived, they had already prepared the room by turning on the AC. No complaints on the room what so ever. Even though the paint scheme (bright green) was far from my taste, it is definitely not a reason to by-pass this hotel. The hotel does have some age on it, so the wear and tear was expected. I can't comment on the breakfast, we never had the time to check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, IL
Aug 30, 2009

Interesting Lodging

We attended our son's graduation from the Air Force basic training on August 28, 2009. This lodging is literally outside of the gate. You can not miss it because it is bright yellow and blue. Has a small pool that was not crowded. Offered breakfast but we did not try it. Our room did not have baseboards and cracked tile. The room was clean and it was not noisy. It is basic accomadations but we were not there for the lodging. The gentleman at the front desk was ex-Airforce so he and my husband had a lot to talk about. The bed was comfortable and they cleaned the room everyday. There is a coffee maker, microwave, and small refrig in the room. Although it is outside the Lackland gate, you still need transportation because of the size of the base. I probably would not stay there again unless everything else was booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not enjoy the food at the resturant that is a short walking distance. It is Mexican food but not what we are used to in Chicago. It is popular because during the day there were always a lot of cars in the lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, IL
Aug 30, 2009

Interesting Lodging

We attended our son's graduation from the Air Force basic training on August 28, 2009. This lodging is literally outside of the gate. You can not miss it because it is bright yellow and blue. Has a small pool that was not crowded. Offered breakfast but we did not try it. Our room did not have baseboards and cracked tile. The room was clean and it was not noisy. It is basic accomadations but we were not there for the lodging. The gentleman at the front desk was ex-Airforce so he and my husband had a lot to talk about. The bed was comfortable and they cleaned the room everyday. There is a coffee maker, microwave, and small refrig in the room. Although it is outside the Lackland gate, you still need transportation because of the size of the base. I probably would not stay there again unless everything else was booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not enjoy the food at the resturant that is a short walking distance. It is Mexican food but not what we are used to in Chicago. It is popular because during the day there were always a lot of cars in the lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Braveheartpac
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Aug 17, 2009

Very nice stay at a low cost

I had attended my sons graduation from the Airforce. It was a nice stay at a very low cost. The continental breakfast was good. Family members stayed at another hotel for 3 times as much and it didn't even have a refrigerator. Only one complaint I had was the hotel did not replenish my coffee packs or soaps, which I thought was a little odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see would be the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Braveheartpac
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Aug 17, 2009

Very nice stay at a low cost

I had attended my sons graduation from the Airforce. It was a nice stay at a very low cost. The continental breakfast was good. Family members stayed at another hotel for 3 times as much and it didn't even have a refrigerator. Only one complaint I had was the hotel did not replenish my coffee packs or soaps, which I thought was a little odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see would be the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, Louisiana
Jul 28, 2009

Horrible!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!

Please what ever you do pass this hotel up. The picture on this site is not what the hotel actually looks like. The rooms are very old, smells bad, looks like rats have chewed on furniture. Smoke detector on the wall was disassembled therefore if there was a fire it would not alert us. There was a huge gap in the door! This hotel was not worth the $112.00 we paid for it. Just be careful when booking....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top