$37 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 18, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
View map of 100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ann B.
San Antonio, TX
Jan 3, 2013

Good location and easy to get to.

The motel was more than I really expected, since it was located in an area that was not exactly good, when I left the area 10 years ago. The area has cleaned up and is much better. The only problem was that the road was not very good, it is full of pot holes, but we got around them without any damage to our tires.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The motel is close to 2 freeways: 410 and 90, one which will take you around the whole city and the other a shorter way down town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestview, Florida
Sep 9, 2009

Surprised

Like others, I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews; however, I was pleasantly surprised. Our daughter was graduating basic training at Lackland AFB and we wanted something close. It's close alright. From the balcony you can see and hear trainees performing maneuvers. That just added to the excitement of the reason we were there. If you will be attending graduation events on base this is perfect! It's best to get in early (6:00AM), and because you are only feet from the gate, you have a very short wait. The room was clean and when we arrived, they had already prepared the room by turning on the AC. No complaints on the room what so ever. Even though the paint scheme (bright green) was far from my taste, it is definitely not a reason to by-pass this hotel. The hotel does have some age on it, so the wear and tear was expected. I can't comment on the breakfast, we never had the time to check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, IL
Aug 30, 2009

Interesting Lodging

We attended our son's graduation from the Air Force basic training on August 28, 2009. This lodging is literally outside of the gate. You can not miss it because it is bright yellow and blue. Has a small pool that was not crowded. Offered breakfast but we did not try it. Our room did not have baseboards and cracked tile. The room was clean and it was not noisy. It is basic accomadations but we were not there for the lodging. The gentleman at the front desk was ex-Airforce so he and my husband had a lot to talk about. The bed was comfortable and they cleaned the room everyday. There is a coffee maker, microwave, and small refrig in the room. Although it is outside the Lackland gate, you still need transportation because of the size of the base. I probably would not stay there again unless everything else was booked up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did not enjoy the food at the resturant that is a short walking distance. It is Mexican food but not what we are used to in Chicago. It is popular because during the day there were always a lot of cars in the lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Braveheartpac
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Aug 17, 2009

Very nice stay at a low cost

I had attended my sons graduation from the Airforce. It was a nice stay at a very low cost. The continental breakfast was good. Family members stayed at another hotel for 3 times as much and it didn't even have a refrigerator. Only one complaint I had was the hotel did not replenish my coffee packs or soaps, which I thought was a little odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A must see would be the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, Louisiana
Jul 28, 2009

Horrible!!!!! DO NOT STAY!!!!!!

Please what ever you do pass this hotel up. The picture on this site is not what the hotel actually looks like. The rooms are very old, smells bad, looks like rats have chewed on furniture. Smoke detector on the wall was disassembled therefore if there was a fire it would not alert us. There was a huge gap in the door! This hotel was not worth the $112.00 we paid for it. Just be careful when booking....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easty Texas
Jul 27, 2009

Caught on fire!

I was awaken at 12:30 p.m. by bangin on the door and screaming telling me to vacate my room because the hotel was on fire! An electrical fire in the building next to mine brought out 3 fire engines. We sat in the parking lot for 2 hours wondering if we were going to have to sleep in our car or were they going to give us a refund. Finally the fireman told us that our building was clear to go back into as long as we could stand the smoke smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, MI
Jul 19, 2009

No wi-fi and no help

THe hotel was ok. Bare items, nothing extra. Not the most helpful staff and horrible breakfast, BUT if all you are concerned about is being next to the Lackland Air Force Base, then this is your hotel, just make sure you pack EVERYTHING you could ever need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oldman1959
Business
san antonio, texas
Jul 6, 2009

what to expect for price

noisy, no cold water in shower pool very crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent location for Lackland visitors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lackland Mom
Business
MemphisTN
Jul 3, 2009

Closest hotel to Lackland AFB

We were at this hotel for second Lackland grad for our family. Chose this hotel this time for base proximity.Stay at other hotel 4yrs ago required paid shuttle trans on/off base. Though we could walk onto base from Carefree, LONG walk is required once on base. The front desk staff was very welcoming but the property is not at all attractive & is in need of maintenance. We called desk to report that security door chains on both our rooms were broken.They sent someone to repair right away but we had to question why they were broken. They did appear to be trying to make improvements but workmen were caulking windows to our rooms at 10:30 at night! Pool was clean & nice but late at night would be filled with teen/20 somethings drinking & yelling til 1:30 am when we called front desk. They went out to break it up but why should we have to call when pool rules state that it closes at 11pm? Shower ran cold after 1 person use. Many fast food restaurants within walking distance. All in all we would only recommend this hotel if you are going to Lackland grad & are on a VERY, VERY tight budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
texas
Jun 13, 2009

wasnt worth what orbitz charged us

ORBITZ CHARGED US TOO MUCH FOR THE ROOM!!!!!!! WE WERE CHRGED 90.00 FOR THE NIGHT. THE LADY BEFORE US, WITH NO RESERVATION PAID ONLY 50.00 FOR THE SAME ROOM WE HAD. THE ROOMS ARE WORTH 50.00 NOT 90.00 WE CANCELED OUR SECOND NITE STAY AND ORBITZ----U BETTER REFUND OUR 2NITE STAY LIKE YALL SAID YOU WOULD!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raginrick
Business
Sun Valley, Nevada
Jun 10, 2009

good, and some bad

We went to see my youngest son graduate air force boot camp.we did have a problem with our shower ceiling we was sitting watching tv and one peice of the ceiling fell down into the bath tub so the rest of our stay we had hot water dripping on us as we took our shower.I had gotten out of th pool was walking back to my room and they had 2 ice buckets under an air conditioner was trying to keep the water from running all over the walk way I guess. there was water all over the walk way and i slipped and fell got a big lump on my knee. It has been a long time since me and my family had gone on a vaction. I did take 2 pictures of the bath room so if you would like to see them you could e-mail me back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top