$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
237 reviews
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
nice place

I worked nights and stayed there for 8 days. Never had a problem one sleeping during the day there.... See full review

  • railroader4life
  • Mar 15, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.3823 -98.635
Area served
LACKLAND AFB, WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, NELSON WOLF STADIUM, AIRFORCE VILLAGE I and II, WESTLAKES MALL, SOUTHWEST RESEARCH INSTITUTE, WATER WORLD, HILL COUNTRY GOLF CLUB, KELLYUSA, OUR LADY OF THE LAKE UNIVERSTIY, SEA WORLD
Nearby airports
San Antonio International Airport SAT 17 Miles, Stinson Airpot SSF 15 Miles, Austin Bergstrom Internatinal Airport AUS 94 Miles, Victoria Regional Airport VCT 133 Miles.
Area description
Located 50 yards from LACKLAND AFB, 2 Miles from WILFORD HALL MEDICAL CENTER, 4 Miles from NELSON WOLF STADIUM and Less than 10 Miles from SEA WORLD With Easy Access to Dinning, Shopping, Golfing, Toyota Manufacturing Plant, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Downtown San Antonio Including The Alamo, River Walk, Zoo, Botanical Gardens, The Alamo Dome, Mission Trails and More

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (237)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
237 out of 237
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

49% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location for BMT Graduation

My friend referred to it as the "no-star motel", but for attending the BMT Graduation events it couldn't have been better. The motel is basically clean and if you can get past the neon green walls and 70's furniture in the rooms, it's really not bad. My priority was ease of access to the base and it achieved that. Where it took some staying less than 10 miles away almost an hour to get to the Lackland Valley Hi gate, it took me 2 minutes. A big bonus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Again, as long as you go into it knowing it's just a room, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Super-Mama
Tuttle, OK
Jan 24, 2011

You get what you pay for!

This hotel is worth it ONLY if you don't want to get lost in San Antonio. You literally pull out of the parking lot and turn right, and you're 10ft from the gate. Other than that, NOT WORTH IT! When we got there, the mini-fridge was unplugged, and due to the warm moisture, it had mold in it. The next day i took a shower and there was no hair dryer. I had to go ask for these things at the front desk. They said they'd fix these things when housekeeping came. We left for an AF graduation thing, and then when we came back that evening the fridge was still warm and they said it was fine, just plug it in, and they didn't even wipe the mold off, so i did. And we booked for 3 nights and the 2nd day, we came back in the afternoon and they had disabled our keys. Luckily i had my confirmation from [...]that was for 3 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Jan 24, 2011

Great Location for BMT Graduation

My friend referred to it as the "no-star motel", but for attending the BMT Graduation events it couldn't have been better. The motel is basically clean and if you can get past the neon green walls and 70's furniture in the rooms, it's really not bad. My priority was ease of access to the base and it achieved that. Where it took some staying less than 10 miles away almost an hour to get to the Lackland Valley Hi gate, it took me 2 minutes. A big bonus was the refrigerator and microwave in the room. Again, as long as you go into it knowing it's just a room, you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elmira, NY
Jan 18, 2011

Great location for USAF graduation

We stayed here for our son's graduation from the USAF. It was priced cheap, but you get what you pay for. Not the best room in the world, but worked for sleeping and that is what we needed. It is right next to three of the squadrons which is very nice as you can watch them stand at attention for hours LOL. Room was okay for this type of stay as we were not in the room alot. However, the walls are very thin and we had party goers right above us that came in very early hours of the morning and woke us up with their partying and loud singing and stomping on the floors. Rooms need to be a bit more sound proof!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a very short drive to all of the USAF base area activities!! Was nice being so close.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elmira, NY
Jan 18, 2011

Great location for USAF graduation

We stayed here for our son's graduation from the USAF. It was priced cheap, but you get what you pay for. Not the best room in the world, but worked for sleeping and that is what we needed. It is right next to three of the squadrons which is very nice as you can watch them stand at attention for hours LOL. Room was okay for this type of stay as we were not in the room alot. However, the walls are very thin and we had party goers right above us that came in very early hours of the morning and woke us up with their partying and loud singing and stomping on the floors. Rooms need to be a bit more sound proof!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only a very short drive to all of the USAF base area activities!! Was nice being so close.

Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Jan 3, 2011

good value, great service

The motel is an older motel and not in the best shape. However, the rooms were clean and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help us. They were extremely friendly and took care of the few problems we had right away (such as the children in the room above us jumping and playing at midnight while we were trying to sleep). We were there to see our daughter graduate BMT and were on a limited budget, so we were worried about staying in such a cheap motel, but it by far surpassed my expectations and I would definately stay there again. Also, the location was great because we were right next to the gate and could walk to Lackland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Jan 3, 2011

good value, great service

The motel is an older motel and not in the best shape. However, the rooms were clean and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help us. They were extremely friendly and took care of the few problems we had right away (such as the children in the room above us jumping and playing at midnight while we were trying to sleep). We were there to see our daughter graduate BMT and were on a limited budget, so we were worried about staying in such a cheap motel, but it by far surpassed my expectations and I would definately stay there again. Also, the location was great because we were right next to the gate and could walk to Lackland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portage, Indiana
Dec 30, 2010

Carefree Inn doesn't give a care!

We wanted a hotel close to the Air Force base. This hotel was rated 3 stars and said newly renovated and clean! I would not give it any stars! Renovated must have meant a coat of paint on the outside, because the rooms haven't been touched in decades! The room was absolutely filthy with dust an inch thick on the pictures, cobwebs on the light fixtures, urine under the toilet seat and around, a bug in the bed, dust an inch thick on the air conditioning filter and the air smelled like urine blowing from it. After half an hour my nose started running and my chest hurt to breathe. We asked to be switched to another room that had been cleaned within the last YEAR and after going to 3 other rooms my husband settled on one. The desk employee sprayed Lysol in the air conditioning unit, but I still got sick. I have allergies to mold and dust. I wouldn't even step on the floor and there was a crumpled up used wash cloth in the folds of the shower and crud 2 inches thick on the top of the shower. We checked out at 7:15 am and couldn't even get a cup of coffee because the liquid creamer came out in a thick glump. I checked in healthy and left sick. I have since been diagnosed with sinusitis and bronchitis and my husband has seen the doctor, too. I have spent over $100.00 on medications and doctor bills. We should have switched hotels entirely, but I thought since we would only be there for 10 hours and it was late that we could tough it out. Boy! Was I wrong! This hotel is right outside the Air Force base, and they have no connection with it, but the hotel should be ashamed to even suggest to cater to the family and friends of the trainees. This place was a disgusting disgrace! I have been in contact with the Texas Board of Health, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top