$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Carefree Inn Lackland

3 stars
100 Valley Hi Drive,, San Antonio, TX 78227
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
157 reviews
enjoy stay

jest what we needed ,very good will go back agin and will let our frinds also. See full review

  • super flacito
  • Aug 26, 2014
over view

The hotel has colors in the rooms to lift your spirit and take you too a happy place. The staff are... See full review

  • biker boy
  • Jul 8, 2014
Bright rooms and outdoor pool at convenient hotel by Air Force Base
Family and friends of graduates and those living on Lackland Air Force Base will find the Carefree Inn Lackland's location very convenient. Also close are Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium. Downtown San Antonio is a short trip, as are the Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch and Natural Bridge Caverns. An outdoor pool and Jacuzzi are open seasonally. Pets are welcomed. High-speed wireless Internet access is free and a continental breakfast is served daily. Rooms are painted in vivid chartreuse.
Highlights
  • Close to Lackland Air Force Base, Wilford Hall Medical Center and Nelson Wolff Stadium
  • Short drive to downtown San Antonio
  • Outdoor pool and Jacuzzi
  • Continental breakfast served daily
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

A bright orange exterior and vivid chartreuse walls house the rooms at the Carefree Inn Lackland. Guests choose between one king and two queen beds. Regardless of the size of the bed, all guests enjoy free high-speed wireless Internet, complimentary local calls, and mini-kitchenettes with refrigerators, coffee makers and microwave ovens. Also included are a room safe, bathrooms equipped with hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Each room's 25-inch TV has a cable lineup including Showtime and ESPN.

Features

The Carefree Inn Lackland is pet friendly. An outdoor pool and adjacent Jacuzzi is open seasonally. A continental breakfast is served daily. Guest laundry service is available.

Transportation
  • San Antonio International Airport (14.4 mi./23.2 km)
Attractions
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Nelson Wolff Stadium (2.8 mi./4.5 km)
  • Downtown San Antonio (9 mi./14.4 km)
  • Toyota Manufacturing Plant (9.5 mi./15.3 km)
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas (15 mi./24.2 km)
  • Natural Bridge Caverns (27.7 mi./44.7 km)
  • Natural Bridge Wildlife Ranch (28.1 mi./45.2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet in rooms
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years old and show proof at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Carefree Inn Lackland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Carefree Inn Lackland Rooms

KING DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 1 King Size Bed, FREE High Speed Wireless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.
2 QUEENS DELUXE
Extra Large Room with 2 Queen Size Beds, FREE High Speed Wirless Internet, FREE Deluxe Continental Breakfast, FREE Local Calls, FREE Parking, 25 Inch Remote Controlled TV with Premium Cable, Showtime, ESPN and Spanish Channels, Microwave, Refrigerator, Blow Dryer, In Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Work Table and Chairs, Electronic Locks, Bathroom Amenities, Daily Maid Service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • Lackland Air Force Base: 1.1 mi
  • Sea World: 6.5 mi
  • El Mercado: 8.7 mi
  • Cathedral of San Fernando: 9 mi
  • San Antonio River Walk: 9.1 mi
  • Aztec Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • Buckhorn Saloon & Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Missions National Historical Park: 9.4 mi
  • Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center: 9.4 mi
  • Tower of the Americas: 9.5 mi
  • Rivercenter Mall: 9.5 mi
  • The Alamo: 9.5 mi
  • Alamodome: 9.7 mi
  • San Antonio Museum of Art: 10 mi
  • San Antonio Japanese Tea Garden: 11 mi
  • Brackenridge Park: 11 mi
  • Zoo and Aquarium: 11.4 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Fort Sam Houston: 12.1 mi
  • San Antonio Rodeo: 12.2 mi
  • Freeman Coliseum: 12.2 mi
  • ATT Center: 13 mi
  • Splashtown San Antonio: 13.4 mi
  • SBC Center: 14.4 mi
  • Six Flags Fiesta Texas: 16.5 mi
  • Eisenhower City Park: 16.9 mi
  • Morgan's Wonderland: 18.2 mi

Dining

EL CHARRO DE JALISCO
Located at the Front of Our Property, Serving Authentic Mexican Food, Fast, Inexpensive and Great Tasting. Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
PIZZA HUT
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving Pizza and other Italian Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner, Delivery to the Hotel
SONIC DRIVE IN
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving a variety of Fast Food Sandwiches, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
MAMA LEES
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Seving Home cooked Soul Food, from Meatloaf to Pork Chops, Great Food Great Price You will come back for more, Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner.
MEDINA COUNTY LINE CAFE
Located 2 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving the some of the Best Food in Town, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
MCDONALDS
Located 1 Block from the Hotel, Serving Fast Food, Open 24 Hours
JACK IN THE BOX
Located 3 Blocks from the Hotel, Serving fast Food, Open 24 Hours
HONEY BAKED HAM
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Great Ham Dishes, Open for Lunch and Dinner
BURGER KING
Located on Lackland AFB, Serving Fast Foood, Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner.
MING GARDEN CAGE
Located within 2 miles of the Hotel, Serving Chinese Food, Fast and Cheap, Open for Lunch and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Carefree Inn Lackland

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. D. J.
Business
Palmer, AK
Oct 26, 2011

Old but comfortable

I did not realize when I made my reservation online that this motel sits right outside the gate of Lackland AFB. It is a motel that has obviously been around for quite a while. It is painted in odd colors that make it seem even seedier. That said, the room was clean, the staff pleasant, the nights quiet, the pool and jacuzzi well maintained. I liked the fact that coffee maker, microwave and fridge were all provided. Wifi worked fairly well. It was a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelChick8
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 20, 2012

Great for Air Force Graduation

Recently stayed at the Care Free for an Air Force Graduation at Lackland. It's super close! The man at the front desk was very helpful, he shared places that we should go check out and things we should go see. breakfast wasn't anything special: cereal, bananas, oranges, donuts, muffins, eggo waffles, coffee and juice. It satisfied us. The room was painted a bright green, had a tv, fridge, microwave, safe, and desk. The shower had hot water and drained well. My dislikes about the room included old towels (scratchy and dirty), some hair/floor not cleaned well and the ceiling was peeling/stained. It served the purpose of being close to lackland AFB and we were really only in it when we slept. The price was the best around also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AFWifeTx
Business
Texas, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Air Force Graduation

Stayed here 5 nights.Nothing fancy.My room had LIME green walls. The maid brought clean towels and made the bed while we were out exploring San Antonio every morning. The best part of this place would be that it is right outside Lackland AFB. So if you want to be close to the gate this is the perfect place to stay! It is also close to several fast food restaurants in case you want to grab a quick bite to eat.The worse thing about this hotel was that some nights it was impossible to get the hot water to work so I could take a comfortable shower....maybe had something to do with the high volume of people taking showers at that time of night.Probably wouldn't stay here again unless I had another Air Force graduation to attend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fred Z
Business
Newburgh NY
Jul 31, 2012

Good family place

Not bad for the price. Excellent location. Right across the street from the Lackland AFB entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling music teacher
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 16, 2012

Can't get any closer to Lackland AFB main gate....

We chose Carefree Inn Lackland by checking the reviews of former customers. I think we all agree...the motel is not state of the art, but it is clean and the convenience of being so close to the Air Force base made it worth while. The staff was friendly and the cleaning personnel took care of our rooms each morning. The pool was great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a variety of small restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buddy19
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Feb 9, 2013

Air Force Graduation

Hotel was very centrally located for this type of event. Easy on, off 410 loop, stores, food, etc. Staff was very nice and so helpful. Priced well for what was needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

For Air Force graduation events.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mojo13jojo
Business
beaufort, sc
Nov 26, 2013

great location

It's an inexpensive hotel, the location is great for air force graduation. However, the hotel could use improvements. Mattresses are very firm, shower heads are kind of low if you're tall, our bathroom ceiling leaked and caved in our last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mexican restaurant at the front of the property is inexpensive and delicious. There is a cozy bar called tiffany's within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, Fla
Mar 21, 2010

Not Bad

If you can get past the lime green walls, room was very clean, staff friendly and cooperative. The bathroom tub faucet leaked and one of the rooms had a problem with hot water(there wasn't any).Not the Ritz, but for the money perfect place to stay if you have a son/daughter graduating at Lackland AFB.They kept us so busy, we didnt spend much time at the hotel.Just a comfy place to sleep, but don't rely on them for a wake up call!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choices on restaurants within walking distance.Very friendly town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Af Wife.
Business
NC
Dec 3, 2009

Okay

My father in law and I stayed at this hotel for one night. And i have to say that i don't think i would have wanted to stay there more than one night. We went down to see my husband graduate from basic, and were staying at the hotel on base the rest of the nights. But this was a place that was close so that we didnt have to deal with alot of traffic in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Carefree Inn Lackland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Motherof5
Business
Spring,Tx
Mar 17, 2011

Better than I expected

I got two rooms for less than $100 total. So I was worried what I might find when I arrived. The hotel is older and does show its age in places. But it was clean, the rooms were a nice size and the beds were comfortable. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top